We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In Need of Refurbishment”
Review of The Portland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Portland Hotel
Ranked #34 of 39 Buxton B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 22, 2013

we stayed here for 1 night at a cost of £99, we were very disappointed, the room was very tiered and average, TV wires dangerously hanging down, Laminated floor which they've obviously also done in other rooms so you can hear every footstep which kept us awake until after 3am. The bathroom needs to be completely ripped out and renewed, the shelf over the basin had a big corner broken off which was sharp, the shower was the most pitiful I have ever been in and the toilet valve made a very very loud noise every time in was flushed,the dust on the radiator valve was very thick and obviously not cleaned in months. The windows were dirty, one of the curtains were hanging off and I didn't have the guts to look at the mattress.
on a good point, the dining room and bar were nice, the food was very enjoyable and the staff were pleasant and very helpful.

Room Tip: make sure you get a rear room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (215)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 215 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2013

stayed here for one night, reception bar and dining area OK ! stairs halls and rooms very tatty
old bathroom ,curtains hanging off the runners laminate flooring no carpets ,the windows were so dirty we couldn't see out
On the plus side the bed was comfy the staff were very helpful and the breakfast was tasty
also very good location

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathysophia50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Excellent location, friendly and helpful staff. Some on-site parking and plenty of nearby free on-street parking. Room clean but the lighting was poor. The bathroom was tiny and the shower had little power. Breakfast was okay.

Room Tip: I would avoid the front because the road is quite busy so you might have problems with traffic noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teithwyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

A four night stay here while attending the Buxton Opera festival was a very pleasant and relaxing experience. Our two rooms were both a very good size, spotlessly clean and with big comfortable beds. Breakfast was excellent, with a good range of cooked options, served quickly and with a smile by unfailingly polite and friendly staff. The owner (or manager could not have been more helpful, carrying our luggage to and from the car, and solving what might have been a parking problem. Don't expect the slick, efficient but impersonal character of the big hotel chains, but if you want a smaller hotel with a character of its own, do try the Portland, particularly if you are going to the Opera House which is only 5 minutes walk away through the gardens opposite the hotel,

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aleff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I booked this hotel for a treat for my daughter's birthday and the pictures looked lovely. For £93 I was expecting somewhere nice. On arrival the hotel looked scruffy and on entering it smelled awful. The room was shabby and our twin room had an old double bed which was falling apart and a single divan shoved in which didn't even have a valance. The beds weren't properly made and looked tatty. The windows were filthy outside which added to the overall worn out effect. After leaving the hotel without staying the night, we were told that it had been let out to college students for the academic year and had only just re-opened as a hotel. This hotel should not be priced as it is and the photographs are very misleading. I hope these comments save somebody else being as upset an disappointed as we were. Accommodation is hard to find on a Saturday night in Buxton and we ended up having to pay an extra £60 to stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: Don't bother.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Reading some of the comments on here I wonder if people stayed in the same hotel as us! On arrival we had a warm greeting. Shown to our room, other than the tv remote didn't work there were no problems...and we hadn't come to watch the tv all day. We asked if it were possible to have some extra tea coffee and milk in the room, and on our return from a walk, within an hour more than ample stocks had been left. Comfy bed, nice large room . Breakfast the following morning was lovely, hot and efficient service. Will definitely book again and recommend to friends. This will become one of our favourite haunts. Great value, polite and friendly staff .

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traceyj16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

great location ,friendly attentive staff ,terrific breakfast, reasonable bar prices would certainly visit again .And would reccomend to friends .one small niggle the free wifi was so fiddly to access we gave up. But both being in our 60s we were probably to blame.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chris n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buxton hotels
0.0 mi away
Buckingham Hotel
Buckingham Hotel
#7 of 9 in Buxton
577 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Westminster Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,155 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Queen's Head Hotel
The Queen's Head Hotel
#8 of 39 in Buxton
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Portland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Portland Hotel

Address: 32 St. Johns Road, Buxton SK17 6XQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Buxton
Price Range: $79 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Portland Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your The Portland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portland Hotel Buxton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing