We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great little bolt hole.”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Old Stables

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
bedroom bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
24 reviews
bedroom
bedroom
bedroom
bedroom
kitchen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Buxton, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Robert G
1 review
“Great little bolt hole.”
Reviewed October 31, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Just returned from The Old Stables in Buxton. It is well placed near the town center and there is lots to do for children 4 to 13 and a dog. There is a great park with an indoor swimming pool, kids play areas adult outdoor gym just down the road, plenty of shops and restaurants within walking distance and a Morrisons, Lidle, Tesco, supermarkets 5 minute drive away. The place was very warm and cozy when we arrived. The back street we had to drive down was very tight and meant reversing down to the house as there was nowhere to turn, but that was not a problem if you know how to reverse and use your mirrors.
Lots of attraction within a 30 minute drive. We would go again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The homely atmoshpere.
Liked least: The dining layout. Could have been better arranged without one of the horse stalls making a 10 place setting rather than a 4 in one stall and 6 in the other.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathieu D
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great value for large groups and a fantastic location.”
Reviewed October 15, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Well positioned the Old Stables has everything you need for a weekend away for a large group. Facilities were good and the place was well equipped. Some of the rooms could have been cleaned better.

Rooms Location
Cleanliness
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam C
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay”
Reviewed September 30, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

My husband was quite poorly before we took this trip. The accommodation and location were just perfect. Close to village centre and the surrounding towns and villages were easily accessed. The countryside was just breath-taking. There was 7 of us in our party. There was plenty cooking and eating dishes. The bedrooms were warm and comfortable. There was a wet room downstairs and one of the bedrooms had an en-suite as well as a family shower room. A log burning fire on the chilly nights was an added and welcome bonus.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CME8000
1 review
“Perfect location and a quirky cottage.”
Reviewed August 24, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

The location couldn't have been better, just two minutes from the town centre and the Pavilion Gardens. The cottage was much more spacious than we expected and the kitchen was pretty well equipped. The only slight downside was the lack of Wi-Fi and poor mobile phone reception but overall I would definitely recommend this cottage for a stay.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meredith0...
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“A great place to stay and use as a base”
Reviewed August 3, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Excellant accomadation that is well situated. We used the place as a base to visit many of the attractions in the area and after a full day we found the local ammenities more than adequate

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna H
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A fantastic venue for a wonderful weekend break!”
Reviewed May 5, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Our weekend stay was started with opening the door to the wonderful accommodation. There is a "horsey" theme throughout the house, and the rooms are a lot more spacious than we thought from the details. The situation of the property means that the high street is only a short hop away and there is plenty of awe inspiring scenery waiting to be discovered within a very small walk! A wonderful weekend in a wonderful property!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca C
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Easter with family in fun setting”
Reviewed April 21, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

I booked The Old Stables to accommodate eight of us (family get together) for the Easter weekend. We found the house to be very well suited to our family with comfortable bedrooms, clean and well fitted bathrooms, equipped kitchen and comfortable living space (two lounges - although neither would seat us all without extra chairs). The house was perfectly positioned in Buxton with plenty of pubs, shops and supermarkets nearby. We really enjoyed our stay and would definitely go back again. Thank you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was quirky
Liked least: Lack of WiFi
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing