We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good port in a storm (or at least a very wet night)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Buxton
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A good port in a storm (or at least a very wet night)”
Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

We arrived after a very wet journey to a warm welcome from reception. Our junior suite was very clean and nicely furnished with a spotless bathroom. The bed was extremely comfortable

Breakfast was very good with hot food freshly prepared to order and when we asked for an item not on the menu, it was no problem.

Check out was equally professional. This is an excellent hotel .

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WH56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, Owner at Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Thank You for taking the time to leave your feedback on Trip Advisor. We are very pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back again very soon.

Yours Sincerely

John Millican
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,093 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    598
    362
    99
    29
    5
See reviews for
136
615
17
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

Just come home and had such a lovely stay! Staff amazibg and junior suite upgrade was awesome...def recommend! Breakfast was also amazing amd so close to the opera house. The bed was so amazing and had the best nights sleep I've had in ages Xx

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Caroline E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, Owner at Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to leave your comments on Trip Advisor. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and in particular that you slept well! We hope you choose to stay with us again very soon.

Yours Sincerely

John Millican
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton-upon-Trent, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We had a lovely night at the lee Wood.Staff were exceptional,especially Antonio :-) but food was a huge let down,it was tasteless so we just left,Antonio called our room personally to see if we were ok with the food,i was completely honest with him and they completely redeemed themselves with a lovely desert and wine on the house.The room was lovely and staff couldn't be more friendly or helpful.Only criticism was the food,if they were to improve that,we would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Book a table early,get everything you need from the town before you have a drink and cant drive,its...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashleigh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, Owner at Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to leave your comments on Trip Advisor. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you felt that your issues with dinner were dealt with efficiently and quickly by Antonio our Duty Manager. We do hope you decide to stay with us again and look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours Sincerely

John Millican
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambs
Level Contributor
117 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Booked for a 2 night stay on B&B basis. Arrived on a wet and windy day. Reception staff courteous and welcoming. Were given room 17 which was large and clean with a large bathroom. However, it was on the 2nd floor, with a very tired and dated decor and heavily marked furniture. This did not unduly bother us because it was so clean but, when the occupants of room 16 arrived, we could hear everything they were saying and doing even though they wasn't being 'noisy' - the walls were paper thin and we could hear them walking from one place to another. I phoned reception to request a different room. We were given room 3 which was a lot smaller, but the decor was not quite as tired as room 17 and the furniture was much better as was the (smaller) but much newer bathroom. This room, however was not without its problems.
1) The room was at the back of the hotel facing a main road which was quite noisy from around 7 am.
2) The paintwork on the windows was mouldy because they were not double glazed (or secondary glazed) and there were pools of water on the window sills in the bedroom and bathroom because of the condensation
3) The bathroom was situated next to the bathroom of room no. 4 - although the fan in room 4 may as well have been in the bedroom of room 3. Every time the occupant of room 4 went to the bathroom in the night (a lot!) the fan would wake us up because it was so loud and it didn't help that they left it on for most of the night!
However, we had dinner in the hotel on our first night, and apart from the really slow service which appeared to be because they were completely understaffed for the amount of diners in, the food was excellent and reasonably priced - I was so full I couldn't manage dessert. Couldn't fault it. Likewise the maitre'd and the waitress - very pleasant and accomodating. The breakfast was also excellent - continental choice superb and the cooked again, very good. One of the best hotel breakfasts I have had. To summarise, the hotel is in a very good location and could be really good if they sort out the issues with the rooms i have mentioned. I didn't get to see any of the other rooms so cannot comment on them. The facilities in the rooms and public areas are very good. All the staff were very pleasant and efficient. The food is superb. I wouldn't stay here again though as I didn't sleep well at all due to the issues with noise which is a shame because this hotel could be very good.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 3, 4, 16 and 17 if you want a good nights sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsHolidayJunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, Owner at Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Thank You for taking the time to leave your comments on Trip Advisor. We are sorry that you were disappointed with certain aspects of your stay. Due to the nature and style of the hotel building, all the bedrooms are different in size and layout, this is something we love as we believe it adds to the personality and character of the property. I believe during your stay the staff offered you a choice of bedrooms, due to your dissatisfaction of noise from other residents in house and that you were, at the time, satisfied with your ultimate choice. In terms of the traffic and other guests using the bathroom we are sorry that this disturbed you, again as the property is an old building we are limited to what we can do in terms of plastic windows etc. We are glad you enjoyed your food during your stay with us and should you wish to stay again please contact Rebecca on Rebecca@leewoodhotel.co.uk who will deal with your booking.

Yours Sincerely

John Millican
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton
1 review
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Pleasant and helpful on arrival.Unfortunately the toilet did not flush in the room allocated and the window opened on to the fire escape.Certainly felt safer, to open the window,in the next room which was much more comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, Owner at Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank You for taking the time to leave your comments on Trip Advisor. We are sorry that your bedroom encountered a problem with the toilet, unfortunately there are times when items break and we cannot predict this. I believe that on the evening you were immediately offered an alternative room as the issue could not be fixed that evening.

We hope you choose to stay with us again and look forward to welcoming you back again.

Yours Sincerely

John Millican
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pomeroy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

I had booked a table for 5 guests for around 8.30 to celebrate my partners birthday. The restaurant was clean and warm and the tables well dressed. We had placed our orders for 4 gentlemen and one lady. I would have expected on such a quite night that the head waiter would have checked who was having what and ensured that the ladies plate was the first to arrive.

The food itself was "ok" although the accompanying sauces where bland, I myself had the chicken which was dry, the accompanying paprika dauphinoise was interesting not so much for its flavor but for the parchment paper attached to the base. I didn't make a fuss and left it on the side of my plate requesting that the waitress make sure the Maitre d be made aware of it. We finished our meal with deserts and a selection of cheese and biscuits which where nice. As we where the last dinners in the restaurant the staff where busying themselves resetting all of the tables for breakfast and I had to go in search of the matre d in order to settle my bill. I asked if he had been made aware of the issue with my main course which he had not.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, Owner at Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank You for taking the time to leave your comments on Trip Advisor. I am sorry that on this occasion you were disappointed with your food in the restaurant. I have spoken to both the waiting staff and manager on duty for that evening and have taken action to ensure this does not happen again. We do hope you choose to dine with us again and should you wish to book in please contact Rebecca Rose on sales@leewoodhotel.co.uk who will personally deal with your booking.

Yours Sincerely

John Millican
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 23, 2013

A group of specialist hobbyists stayed Friday to Sunday.Greeted with a genuine smile which is always a good start.We didn't come to see the attractions of Buxton but to meet friends from around the world.We were treated like Royalty,nothing was too much trouble.The rooms were clean,warm and modern.A good lift to upstairs rooms or a very attractive staircase lined with antiques for the younger ones.Lounges were comfortable and warm some with bar facilities close by.The conservatory dining room was well appointed ,light and airy with plenty of space and warm.The varied menus catered for all tastes,food was of very high quality and hot .The staff were well trained and always attentive.
I have no reservations in recommending this hotel to anyone.Some of us re-booked for next year before we left.Now that's what I call a good weekend.
Peter ,Jack and Charlie

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, Owner at Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank You for taking the time to leave your comments on Trip Advisor. We really enjoyed hosting the Killifish Annual Convention and we are looking forward already to welcoming you all back again next year!

Yours Sincerely

John Millican
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
0.2 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,604 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,040 reviews
10.6 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
18.0 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
241 reviews
10.7 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel

Property: Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
Address: The Park, Buxton SK17 6TQ, England (Formerly Best Western Lee Wood Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Buxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lee Wood Hotel is set in its own grounds with mature gardens and is just 200metres from the Buxton Opera House. All 38 rooms are individually furnished and offer all the amenities that you would expect. There is complimentary internet access in all bedrooms and public areas and there is no charge for car parking within the hotel grounds and its vicinity. The hotel offers extensive conference and meeting facilities and is Buxton's leading venue for weddings and other celebrations being able to host from 5 to 225 guests. The Lee Wood is also well known for the quality of its Elements Restaurant which is situated in the conservatory and where an extensive choice of dishes are on offer. We look forward to welcoming you to our country house style hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Buxton
Buxton Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing