We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Buxton
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed for one night to break a long journey and found Lee Court fulfilled all our needs. Staff efficient and welcoming, room comfortable and location combining parkland and short walk to town just about perfect. I admit I am not in the habit of crawling around to find the grubby spots, but everything seemed in good order to me. Breakfast was fine and afterwards the reception staff were happy to help sort out our computer problems, offering coffee in the lounge while we sorted ourselves out! I would definitely stay here next time we make the journey northwards.

Room Tip: I suppose a room with a view would be nice. Ours had a view of the fire excape, but then I don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angetate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, Owner at Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank You for taking the time to leave your comments on Trip Advisor. We are really pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and I will make sure your comments are passed across to the whole team.

We hope to welcome you back again very soon.

Yours Sincerely

John Millican
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,082 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    592
    359
    97
    29
    5
See reviews for
135
605
17
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
barnet
2 reviews
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Our group of 40, mainly seniors, plus our coach driver stayed for 4 nights. The staff could not have been more helpful. Food was excellent, including sandwiches for our packed lunches. All the rooms were comfortable. Our thanks to all involved.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, Owner at Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank You for taking the time to leave your comments on Trip Advisor. We are really pleased to see that you and your group enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you decide to bring the group back to the hotel next time you are in the area and look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Yours Sincerely

John Millican
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

After staying here last weekend my thoughts on this hotel are mixed. On the plus side location is great and the staff are really friendly and helpful, the owner should be proud of them. On the other hand we checked into our room and I notised the valance on the bed was a bit grubby. On closer inspection I lifted it only to discover under Neath was a mass of black/brown stains all over the base of the bed. It was really unpleasant. I went downstairs and showed the stains to the receptionist who looked quite embaressed and in their defence they did move us straight away to a better room. I can't help thinking that this bed really shouldn't have been there in the first place and had the 38 rooms all been fully booked ( which they apparently are ) I would have been stuck with this option. I have been told that there are new beds on order which is reassuring . I also thought tht the main staircase could have been vacuumed more often. Would we stay again? Maybe if these issues are dealt with asap.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emm3636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, Owner at Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank You for leaving your comments on Trip Advisor. We are sorry that on this occasion you were disappointed with your bedroom. On further inspection it appears the base of the bed, which is covered by a valance, has some water marks on which must have been due to a guest spilling a drink etc. We have new beds currently on order and due to be delivered very soon and in the meantime the base has been cleaned as has the valance. I believe the duty manager on at the time upgraded you from a standard room to a Suite as an apology and we hope that you enjoyed the rest of your stay with us.

Yours Sincerely

John Millican
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

From the pleasant welcoming smile from Eleanor on the front desk to the excellent breakfast, I could not find fault, an excellent experience. I had a free upgrade to a room on the first floor that was a a separate bedroom and living room. Forget The Palace where I have previously stayed, the Lee Wood is in a class above. This is how a hotel should be, excellent service with a genuine welcoming smile.

Room Tip: Any first floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Addicks10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, Owner at Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank You for taking the time to leave your comments on Trip Advisor. We are very pleased to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us and I will pass your comments across to Eleanor and the whole team. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again very soon.

Yours Sincerely

John Millican
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

A group of approx 20 couples stayed Friday 6 Sept - Monday 9 Sept 2013.
Excellent service, good rooms, friendly staff and a fabulous dinner menu choice for our group.
Breakfast was also good with an excellent choice available.

Room Tip: I only saw our room, but I understand all rooms are of similar quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JWatson45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, Owner at Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank You for taking the time to leave your comments on Trip Advisor. We are very glad to see that you and your group enjoyed your stay and we hope that you decide to stay with us again when you are next in the area.

Yours Sincerely

John Millican
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Every staff member I came in contact with was warm and hospitable. This was partly their own niceness but a lot of credit must go to whomever trains these delightful people. They knew what they were doing, minor exceptions to the rules were met with a smile and "not a problem". The hotel itself is well located and attractive. The room I had was clean and well appointed. Breakfast was well presented and delicious. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, Owner at Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank You for taking the time to leave your comments on Trip Advisor. We are very glad to see that you enjoyed your stay and I will pass your lovely comments across to the rest of the team, of whom we are extremely proud of! We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Yours Sincerely

John Millican
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tring
Level Contributor
350 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Good room with quiet location. 5 minutes walk from the town centre (but up a fairly steep hill). Very friendly and helpful staff. Good spacious public rooms. Parking. Breakfasy=t was of high quality with friendly service.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aberdeenjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, Owner at Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank You for taking the time to leave your review on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you choose to return very soon.

Yours Sincerely

John Millican
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
0.2 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,563 reviews
0.3 mi away
Old Hall
Old Hall
#3 of 9 in Buxton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,025 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Buxton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
15.4 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
9.8 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel

Property: Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
Address: The Park, Buxton SK17 6TQ, England (Formerly Best Western Lee Wood Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Buxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lee Wood Hotel is set in its own grounds with mature gardens and is just 200metres from the Buxton Opera House. All 38 rooms are individually furnished and offer all the amenities that you would expect. There is complimentary internet access in all bedrooms and public areas and there is no charge for car parking within the hotel grounds and its vicinity. The hotel offers extensive conference and meeting facilities and is Buxton's leading venue for weddings and other celebrations being able to host from 5 to 225 guests. The Lee Wood is also well known for the quality of its Elements Restaurant which is situated in the conservatory and where an extensive choice of dishes are on offer. We look forward to welcoming you to our country house style hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Buxton
Buxton Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing