We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay if you are looking for something different!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Buckingham Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Buckingham Hotel
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Buxton
Abergele, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place to stay if you are looking for something different!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed here with a friend for four nights in mid-September while on a long walking weekend in the Peak District. Enjoyed the quirky decoration.and spent some time going up and down in the lift looking at all the 'culture' posters and photos of artists festooning the sides. The bedroom was comfortable and the bathroom small but good. The staff was friendly and helpful, and though the breakfast seemed to be advertised as continental - it definitely wasn't - 30 different cereals, fruit galore, jams and marmalade of every type in proper jars (not those stupid little plastic things) even kippers on the menu! The only down-side was the bar - could do with a better selection of good beers and lagers! However if the opportunity arises, we will definitely stay at the Buckingham again, but would like another bedroom just to see who it was dedicated to - our's this time had numerous photos of Brad Pitt decorating the walls!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank notsellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    166
    122
    68
    84
See reviews for
87
289
20
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

One can't say the owners are not art buffs, our room was the Gary Oldman bedroom with many pics of him with notably the unmissable Dracula and nasty cop in Leon, loved it! Awoken by a false fire alarm on Sunday 8am, but it could have been the bell ringing on set when starting to shoot... Breakfast is also a nice surprise and the lift is certainly worth the trip. Will come back to try the Bruce Willis room.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aZav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed here for three nights in September and very much enjoyed our stay. The hotel is full of quirky and imaginative decor, we particularly liked all of the old film posters and pictures dotted around as well as the collection of old collectable toys that they had. The hotel reception had an abundance of books and material on the local area which is helpful, however do not expect great service from the reception staff, the ones we dealt with were not particularly friendly or helpful.

The bar at the hotel is nice, with friendlier staff. It's a good place for a cheaper drink during happy hour, however if you are looking for somewhere to get comfy I would recommend going to a bar in the town as the seats here are more like garden furniture and not very comfortable!

What made this hotel excellent for us was our wonderful room. It was huge and was exactly what we were looking for. Comfy big bed, a huge bathroom with two sinks and a large freestanding bathtub, a sofa area with TV and ample clothes storage space with a large wardrobe and good size chest of drawers. The room was clean and tidy and we very much enjoyed our stay in it.

Based on the value for money, the wonderful room and the quirkiness of this place, I would highly recommend The Buckingham Hotel.

Room Tip: Upgrade for the larger room, it doesn't cost much more and was well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clairemc03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
186 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

This is NOT a corporate hotel. There is a certain whimsy to the decoration (our room seemed to be dedicated to Liz Hurley and that is not a criticism). However the over all impression of the decoration is that it needs to be updated. This is a sizeable old building with a large number of rooms and while not dirty needs to be updated. The breakfasts are plentiful but avoid the American pancakes and the cappuccino seems to taste as though it was packet made. The mattress was very firm, fine if that's what you like but I would have preferred more give.
On the more positive side, the staff were friendly, the position is excellent and it was very quiet at night. For the price it offers excellent value for money. Would I go again? I wouldn't rule it out but may try elsewhere first.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StefanMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Great location so close to town and theatre. Decor based on theatre - loads of old posters etc but it was very clean and comfortable and we would go again. Don't be put off by first impression - a bit drab. Breakfast was a bit of a scramble because the place was quite full and the tables small and very close but the staff were doing there very best and the food was fine. Didn't use the dining room in the evening because it lacked a bit of atmosphere and there were not many customers but the menu looked ok. Pub grub in Buxton it very cheap so they have a lot of competion within 400 yards. Value for money - really good

Room Tip: 21, 22 ans 23 are on second floor and furthest away from the main road and traffic lights
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jobs3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Was attracted by the humorous website and mostly positive reviews.We were not disappointed.Excellent location-right next to the Pavilion Gardens-ideal if you want to stay over for a gig at the Opera House.Room was clean with a firm matress.An added bonus was Sky Sports !
Another bonus was the pleasantly furnished , well stocked , friendly bar with generous "Happy Hour" prices on what are usually premium priced beers like draught Budvar.
Breakfast sevice was excellent ,as was the quality of the food -with an excellent choice of coffees.We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KEVIN C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree
Level Contributor
131 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

On arriving this hotel appears normal, bit drab, bit tired but OK. On entering our room however we were surprised. It was just superb, huge room, two large windows, sofa and armchairs, fireplace, desk, massive wardrobe. Bathroom larger than most hotel rooms, two sinks, large roll top bath another fireplace. A wonderful room. Very nice people.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WilcoBraintree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buxton hotels
0.4 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,414 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
0.2 mi away
Old Hall
Old Hall
#3 of 9 in Buxton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Buxton Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Westminster Hotel
0.3 mi away
Alison Park Hotel
Alison Park Hotel
#4 of 9 in Buxton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buckingham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buckingham Hotel

Property: Buckingham Hotel
Address: 1 Burlington Road, Buxton SK17 9AS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Buxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Buckingham Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buxton’s BEST VALUE Hotel! Central Location, Free Parking, Comfortable Rooms, Amazing Breakfast Experience, Free Wi-Fi, 80 current magazines4loan.Ramsay’s Restaurant & Real Ale Bar is CAMRA RECOMMENDED (and the highest rated bar in town on beerintheevening) and features an awesome Daily Happy Hour. Foodwise, Project:EAT provides a sublime dining experience to suit all pockets (mains £5-18). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Buckingham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buckingham Buxton Hotel
Buckingham Hotel Buxton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing