We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything I expected and a little more” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Buckingham Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Buckingham Hotel
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Buxton
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Everything I expected and a little more”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

Easy to find with car parking at the front. Warm welcome from the owner and I was accommodated for an evening meal even though I was a late arrival - exceptional meal ... I recommend the Thai Chicken Curry. Simply a refreshing change from the many other hotel meals experienced over the last few months. Great choie of beers for those who like something a little different. They were playing 80's Bon Jovi and ZZ Top videos in the bar area which brought back some memories from my teenager years.

Room (30) was spacious with a double and a single bed as well as having a modern good sized bathroom. WiFi was excellent so I was able to connect easily in the bedroom rather than chasing around to find the elusive hot spot - refreshing!

Lift upto the 3rd floor was made more enjoyable by the wall to wall coverage of show posters on the walls - unique and certainly gave the place character with the theme carried through to the bedroom/hotel with photos of actresses, actors, etc.

Ok there is need for updating in the hotel with decor however this was minor compared to the many pluses.

Breakfast matched the evening meal and was certainly generous with great service.

I look forward to my return trip!

Room Tip: If you are light sleeper (like me) you might want to ask for a room towards the back of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ripleytrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    166
    122
    68
    85
See reviews for
88
289
20
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ciudad Quesada, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Buckingham Hotel, Buxton is a very welcoming hotel with lots of interesting & quirky decor - especially in the lift - a thespian heaven is one way of putting it. You are surrounded on every wall with flyers & theatre tickets. Our room on the 2nd floor, room 18, otherwise know I suppose as the Al Pacino room as it had several framed photographs of the man himself. My wife being a fan, loved it. Our full English breakfast was certainly that. An abundant array of cereals, fruit juices, fresh fruit and jams & marmalades. All the side dishes to the "best" English breakfast we have had anywhere on our extensive travels. The room itself was big & spacious and gave a feeling of home as opposed the the sanitised feel of the usual "chains". The staff in both the restaurant and the bar were most accommodating and "Mr Whippy" is a lovely dog!
All in all a welcome stay at Christmas time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarryandSonja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed here as a break between Christmas and New Year. It was in ideal location for the town centre and Opera House. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We stayed in room 3, the four poster room which was lovely but some of the decor and furnishings throughout the building could do with being improved.
On the whole a lovely hotel for a short break.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedfordshire,uk
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

just returned from a two night stay at the buckingham and had room 23 the suite. the hotel is a lovely characterful building but the lounge and some other public areas are in need of a refurbish, the lounge needs new carpet, new settees, it is not somewhere i would want to sit and relax. the suite is very nice but a few extra touches are needed like a small mini fridge, bottled water, the bathroom is beautiful and huge with a roll top bath and his and hers sinks but at times could smell "drains" smell. also the breakfast chef needs to change the way they cook the mushrooms and food in the bar was average, also booked from boxing day and was not told no bar or restaurant would be open only breakfast the following morning. it is situated in a lovely location and with a few tweaks could be fab. reception staff very friendly. the room (23) was very clean just let down with some public areas. dog friendly apart from restaurant. had a great stay in buxton and a good base to visit some beautiful peak villages

Room Tip: we were shown by mistake into room 22 which was awful, 19 (a relation stayed in this room) was avera...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jacquie_mccoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwich
Level Contributor
72 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel several times, the rooms are all themed with each one having loads of pictures of a famous star of the stage or screen. Every member of staff is extremely helpful and friendly and the breakfast is fantastic with the largest choice I have ever experienced. Don't expect 4 star furnishings but rooms are warm and clean and you have the advantage of a real ale bar! Close to all amenities you will love it for being different, we will certainly visit again.

Room Tip: Ask for the film star of your choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank david t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

Stopped here on a trip to Buxton opera house, and the location is ideal as it is a short walk to the opera house and gardens from the hotel. The hotel is old a quirky and has bill boards of shows all over the hotel keeping a theme close to the opera house I assume, which adds to its character. The breakfast was very good, an amazing array of cereals and marmalades. The bedroom was ok, but the bed was a little hard which made for a bad nights sleep, and I like firm mattresses. The one thing that lets this hotel down is the bar area, a nice bar with a good selection of real ales and lagers but the price is a little steep at £4.70 a pint, and then there are the metal patio chairs and tables to sit at, not comfortable, I like a hotel with a bar so I can have a end of night drink in comfortable surroundings, unfortunatelt this is not possible here, a shame as it is the only thing that lets it down.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelledGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

I stayed 2 nights in the hotel with my young son for a short break. The location was perfect, easy access to everything we wanted to see including the Opera house where we saw Joseph (just brilliant). We booked the suite which was spacious, clean and comfortable and the bathroom was beautiful. The hotel is definitely quirky and not what I expected but it was charming and the staff were very helpful. The food was excellent and reasonable. Not your run of the mill place but worth a visit.

Room Tip: Although the suite is at the front of the hotel we weren't disturbed and it was worth the money...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buxton hotels
0.4 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,429 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Buxton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Old Hall
Old Hall
#3 of 9 in Buxton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Westminster Hotel
0.3 mi away
Alison Park Hotel
Alison Park Hotel
#4 of 9 in Buxton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buckingham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buckingham Hotel

Property: Buckingham Hotel
Address: 1 Burlington Road, Buxton SK17 9AS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Buxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Buckingham Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buxton’s BEST VALUE Hotel! Central Location, Free Parking, Comfortable Rooms, Amazing Breakfast Experience, Free Wi-Fi, 80 current magazines4loan.Ramsay’s Restaurant & Real Ale Bar is CAMRA RECOMMENDED (and the highest rated bar in town on beerintheevening) and features an awesome Daily Happy Hour. Foodwise, Project:EAT provides a sublime dining experience to suit all pockets (mains £5-18). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Buckingham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buckingham Buxton Hotel
Buckingham Hotel Buxton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing