We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel but one member of staff lets it down” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Buckingham Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Buckingham Hotel
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Buxton
wolverhampton
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but one member of staff lets it down”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed at the Buckingham hotel this weekend for our 28th wedding anniversary. The hotel is 5 mins away from the town centre and a lovely traditonal old hotel. My first thoughts were it is a little out dated and in need of a bit of a cosmetic uplift, but it was very warm and cozy and a great bar 'Ramsey's bar' that sells real cask ale. I can't however connect with the montage of celebrity photo's on the wall as you walk in the door. Unless they are a tribute to them for actually staying there. We had a downstairs bedroom which again on first thought needed a fresh lick of paint and fresh wall paper but it was spacious and warm. However there was two large panels of frosted glass between the bedroom and bathroom which flooded in light into the bedroom if you happened to go to the bathroom in the middle of the night.
The staff are mainly young and very pleasant and helpful however our visit was marred by the rude and sour faced woman in charge of the restaurant. Breakfast was served between 7.30am and 9.30am on the Saturday, We came down dead on 9.30am to be confronted by this little woman ranting at us that we were 'too late', 'too late' whilst repeatedly looking at her watch. Initially I was bemused by her as the room was still clearly in full swing and the chefs were still busily cooking in the kitchen as we could see from where we were. I'm pretty sure if it hadn't of been for one of the young waitresses who spotted us as soon as we came in and went to sort us a table she would have turned us away.

On the evening her mood and sourness hadn't improved. We had booked at table online for dinner at 8.30pm through bookatable. We arrived again dead on 8.30pm. There was no table reserved although that wasn't a problem as the restaurant wasn't full. When the young waitress went to speak to her she announced quite loudly. 'Just show them to a table although they will have to wait as we are quite busy'.

I have never experienced someone like this in a long time that is in a customer facing job and not a very good advocate of the hotel. I'd like to point out that the meal when it did come was absolutely delicious, well cooked and succulent. However I will think twice before I stay there again purely because of our experience with this woman. Hence the reason why I scored 'service' so low.

Room Tip: Not sure as we stayed in a downstairs room, which apart from the frosted panel between the bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank crisrob123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    166
    122
    68
    84
See reviews for
87
289
20
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

This is our second stay at The Buckingham Hotel, for me, my husband Tony & our little cocker spaniel Jana P!!! Yes it's a real dog friendly hotel , that is old & some would say outdated , but the friendliness of the staff & brilliant chefs are second to none !!! It's a great place to stay , but, don't take our word for it, go & see for yourself , you won't be disappointed !!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melliethepilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

just returned from 1 night stay.first impression was unusual but fun and the receptionist was friendly. we asked to change rooms it was nicely decorated but the bed was next to the wall and a bit hemmed in was given another room no problem, what a great suprise we had a four poster bed.large walk in shower and lovely thick white towels. we had an evening meal which was very good and a couple of drinks in the pleasent bar area. Breakfast was excellent what a choice. i enjoyed all the different fruits and juices. lovely cooked full english toast and drinks staff friendly. Id deffinately return and recommend to all. Handy for theatre and park area and 10 min walk to shops.go with an open mind and enjoy looking round at photos and posters was good value.

Room Tip: enjoyed four poster bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jepLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincs
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

So refreshing to enter a hotel with a sense of humour.
All I can say to the bad reviewers is "didn't you look on the website?"!!!
Plenty of free car parking spaces.
We were laughing at Basil Fawlty on the door before we even stepped inside!
Reception greeting friendly and simple. Great to see the muppets behind the desk (actual muppets not an insult to the receptionist)
Had room one on the first floor, the Sharon Stone room. Plenty big enough and simply furnished with a double bed and a single. Old fashioned but very clean.
Plenty of tea and coffee.
Big bathroom, very basic shower and bath. Toiletries and shower caps provided.
You must take a wander round to look at all the funny door signs and moviestar pictures. We also loved the nostalgic toy cabinet!
The bar is really friendly and heated seating outside for smokers. We sampled the Thatchers cider at at £2.50 a pint, happy hour prices! The locals were really friendly and we had a great time in there.
My evening meal choice had sold out so I went for my second choice and can't say I was impressed with the cajun chicken, ( not very "cajun" just herby and wasn't keen on the too green ceasar salad)its probably just my taste though as my partner enjoyed his curry! The waiter was a bit slow and we found it quicker and easier to pop into the bar to get our own drinks. To be fair to them there appeared to be only 2 young men waiting tables.
Slept well, no traffic noise at all and very comfortable.
Breakfast was nice and light with plenty of choice for all.
The restaurant has movie posters up, really refreshing.
Great location, just across the road from the pavillion gardens and opera house. Nice short stroll into town through the gardens.
Background music playing most of the time in the hall/reception areas, I really liked this as it gave it a nice private feel.
I would definately go back here, mainly for the laid back, non stuck up air and the fabulous quirkiness missing from most hotels, please don't visit and leave them a poor review if you prefer 5* nose in the air pretentiousness.
Almost forgot the menu, even that was funny, check it out!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank piratepower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

After making a booking online and securing a room i then made arrangements for my parents to fly from there home in Spain to meet us at Buxton' all done and very simple' all happy and excited! Two days later we got a call from the hotel telling us that our agreed £380 room cost had jumped up to £500 with no explanation at all...
Now my parents are traveling to the hotel and we are not going to be there! This whole experience has been a terrible nightmare and i certainly wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone..

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Buxton hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

Terrific position in town and with free parking. Pleasant staff throughout. Clean spacious room and everything worked in the bathroom, which had good towels and nice products. Breakfast good. Interesting decor throughout. Hope to stay there again and for longer.

Room Tip: Suspect that the top floor might be a bit hot and stuffy in summer, but we did not have any problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gwra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

I have never been in the hotel before but it turned out to be a very memorable stay, great location, very good restaurant and the service second to none, thank you. The bar and restaurant have been particularly well refurbished, marrying old and new - it just simply "works".
Would recommend .

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank like1travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buxton hotels
0.4 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,415 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
0.2 mi away
Old Hall
Old Hall
#3 of 9 in Buxton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Buxton Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Westminster Hotel
0.3 mi away
Alison Park Hotel
Alison Park Hotel
#4 of 9 in Buxton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buckingham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buckingham Hotel

Property: Buckingham Hotel
Address: 1 Burlington Road, Buxton SK17 9AS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Buxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Buckingham Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buxton’s BEST VALUE Hotel! Central Location, Free Parking, Comfortable Rooms, Amazing Breakfast Experience, Free Wi-Fi, 80 current magazines4loan.Ramsay’s Restaurant & Real Ale Bar is CAMRA RECOMMENDED (and the highest rated bar in town on beerintheevening) and features an awesome Daily Happy Hour. Foodwise, Project:EAT provides a sublime dining experience to suit all pockets (mains £5-18). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Buckingham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buckingham Buxton Hotel
Buckingham Hotel Buxton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing