We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly staff made the stay for us”
Review of The Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Palace Hotel
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Buxton
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Friendly staff made the stay for us”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

My partner and I booked in overnight as we were attending an event at the Opera House and wanted to visit the Pavilion Gardens - the hotel is exceedingly well positioned for both. As a couple, we were given a very spacious family room that was well-equipped overall (although personally I found the mattress hard and missed having a bedside table on my side of the double bed). The views from the window were fabulous however and what really made the stay was the unfailingly helpful and friendly attitude of every staff member we encountered. We weren't in the hotel for long, but were made to feel very welcome and greeted with eye contact and a smile by every employee. To finish it off, there was a varied and plentiful breakfast in the conservatory. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James L, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Mary D

Thank you for your recent review of The Palace Hotel, Buxton on Tripadvisor.com

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, please be assured that I will pass your kind comments onto the team, I know that they will all be delighted to read your feedback.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Palace in the future.

Yours Sincerely

James Lake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    466
    793
    616
    408
    280
See reviews for
363
1,281
55
171
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (673)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, UK
Level Contributor
163 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Stayed for one night. The room was very tired with cracks in the bathroom tiles, stains on the chairs, an uncomfortable bed and very dated furnishings - it was generally clean though. We had a room at the back of the hotel with a view of scaffolding and an unattractive flat roof! The breakfast was disappointing - tasteless, very thinly cut, bread; the hot food wasn't very hot and not of very high quality either. I was also surprised to be charged for car parking on leaving as I think this should be included and not an extra. The hotel rooms really need some money spending on them to bring them up to modern day standards. On the plus side the staff were very friendly but we would probably not stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James L, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Richard K

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post your feedback on Tripadvisor.com following your stay at The Palace Hotel, Buxton.

I was delighted to read your kind comments about the team and your stay overall, please be assured that I will pass your comments onto them. I do understand your concerns about the hotel appearing tired and we are working our way through a bedroom redecoration programme to improve this. Perhaps when you are next staying with us you could contact me directly and I will ensure that you receive one of these rooms and I’m sure that you will be impressed with the work that we have done.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Yours sincerely

James Lake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rawtenstall, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Faded glory , this hotel could be wonderful they just need to spend a bit of money smartening it up, great location , be careful if you want to dine in the restaurant the menu is pure 1980's IE disappointing . also the bed was uncomfortable and took us ages to get to sleep . but staff are friendly enough just not very well trained or attentive , not really sure how this hotel is classed as a 4 star though . one last thing don't forget the car parking charge a bit cheeky I thought !!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank postmanaidy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James L, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear postmanaidy

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post your feedback on Tripadvisor.com following your stay at The Palace Hotel, Buxton.

I was pleased to read that you found the hotel to be suitable for you, but disappointed that on this occasion we did not exceed your expectations. I have noted your constructive criticism as your feedback is very important to us as we continue in our search for excellence.

I do hope that you will return to The Palace Hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely

James Lake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed May 23, 2014

£200 for two nights B/B, dinner on 1st. night. Dreadful room out at the back, Unbearably hot ( couldn't turn radiators off ) Dinner average but breakfast fine. Complained to no avail and finally landed with £9 fee for the privilege of using the hotel car park.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank georgina925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James L, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear georgina925

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post your feedback on Tripadvisor.com following your stay at The Palace Hotel, Buxton.

Please accept my sincere apologies that we did not exceed your expectations. I have noted your constructive criticism as your feedback is very important to us as we continue in our search for excellence and should you wish to discuss this in person with me I’d be delighted to take your call.

I do hope that you will consider returning to The Palace in the near future thus allowing us the opportunity to restore your confidence in us.

Yours sincerely
James Lake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Buxton hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Honestly have no idea how anyone can say they were disappointed with this hotel!

Everything was great, the only real thing I was a little wavered by was the fact I had paid for champagne and chocolates to be delivered to the room on arrival as it was a special occasion and when me and my partner entered the room, it was no where to be seen but I advised reception and they brought it to the room for after dinner, (they did proceed to forget the chocolates but we were too stuffed anyway)

Another niggle, not to do with the hotel this time though, was the bells chiming every hour of the night but never the less the rooms were exquisite, we stayed in the premium double room and it was fab!

Food was lovely, both evening meal and breakfast. Can't fault the staff, they catered to our every need even with 2 bus trips in!

Will definitely be going again :)

Room Tip: upgrade to the premium rooms, they're lush... Oh and bring ear plugs for the bells!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GetawayGal2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James L, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear GetawayGal2014

Thank you for your recent review of The Palace Hotel, Buxton on Tripadvisor.com

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, please be assured that I will pass your kind comments onto the team, I know that they will all be delighted to read your feedback.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Palace in the future.

Yours Sincerely

James Lake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014

The rooms located to the west side of the hotel suffer severely from the Devonshire Dome bells which sound extremely loud on the hour throughout the night very disturbing.
Breakfast poor, food quality average, greasy and when juice available it was watered down too much. Queues for the food and drinks machine felt like a school cafeteria.
Rooms are very dated, showers poor a generally hotel needs a good clean, redecoration and some TLC

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Kevan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James L, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Kevan T

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post your feedback on Tripadvisor.com following your stay at The Palace Hotel, Buxton.

I was pleased to read that you found the hotel to be suitable for you, but disappointed that on this occasion we did not exceed your expectations. I have noted your constructive criticism as your feedback is very important to us as we continue in our search for excellence.

In terms of the bells sounding from the Devonshire Dome, I do understand you concerns and I will make enquiries with the University to see if they can stop it sounding after some point in the evening however the bell tower is obviously a historic part of Buxton and there may be some sort of order preventing this change.

I do hope that you will return to The Palace Hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely

James Lake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Absolutely lovely hotel, fantastic staff. The building takes your breath away and none of the lovely old features have been spoilt. The staircase is sweeping, the ceilings are high and it feels grand in every respect. I travelled here for my hen party, we booked through Spabreaks. The spa treatments were very good, the rooms were spacious.They were clean and furnished in keeping with the historical flavour of the hotel with beautiful views across Buxton on one side! ( I was one of the lucky ones, it was breathtaking!)
The food was all very,very good especially breakfast! and we all had a ball, thanks to great wine and accommodating, pleasant staff.
We are already talking about coming back with our individual partners and friends and we feel like we have found an absolute gem of a short break destination!

Room Tip: Request rooms at the front of the hotel for stunning views across Buxton, but all the rooms had thei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James L, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Anna G

Thank you for your recent review of The Palace Hotel, Buxton on Tripadvisor.com

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, please be assured that I will pass your kind comments onto the team, I know that they will all be delighted to read your feedback.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Palace in the future.

Yours Sincerely

James Lake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
0.2 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
0.2 mi away
Old Hall
Old Hall
#3 of 9 in Buxton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,025 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Buxton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
17.8 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Westminster Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace Hotel

Property: The Palace Hotel
Address: Palace Road, Buxton SK17 6AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Buxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victorian Palace Hotel sits in 5 acres of landscaped gardens in the spa town of Buxton. Ideally located for visiting Buxton Opera House and exploring the Peak District National Park, Britain's first National Park and one of the country's most popular walking destinations, this hotel has an imposing facade and opulent interior to provide an unforgettable backdrop for any occasion. With 122 bedrooms, including 12 premium rooms, a Health & Leisure club with swimming pool, gym and beauty rooms, and a restaurant using local ingredients to prepare British and Continental cuisine, it's the perfect spot for a country town retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel Buxton
Palace Buxton
Buxton Hotel Palace
Barcelo Buxton
Hotel Palace Buxton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing