We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”
Review of The Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Palace Hotel
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Buxton
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We stayed here for two nights on the 15th and 16th November.
The reception are was nice and the staff were polite. Our room was a fair size with a large television, a king size double bed and a couple of arm chairs. The bathroom was disappointing though - it was about 1 metre by 2, and the shower curtain was filthy, the shower head was old and dirty and the grout was brown in places! Although, I did put this down to it being a bit tired. The room was a bit dusty in places but overall it was ok. The breakfast was lovely - plenty of choice the only thing was that the scrambled eggs were hard but sitting in like a creamy water? Bit strange.

Overall an ok hotel but I just expected more for £100 a night!!! And I also know others who paid a lot more than that!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ejc23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_ThePalaceHotel, Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Many thanks for your review, I will pass on your compliments to the helpful team we have here at The Palace. Your comments have been noted for future guests and do hope we get the final details corrected prior to your next visit.

Sincerely
Rob Quinton
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,057)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,342 - 2,348 of 3,057 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2013

We had people staying with us for a few days and for one of our trips out travelled around the peak . On the way home called for a cup of tea and scones, the service was very slow ,only one waiter ,a party actually got up and walked out ,because of the long wait. The tea is loose leaf which I have to say was the only good thing about our visit ,the scones ,well, cheap is the only way I would describe them ,the decoration is very poor with peeling paint work on the ceilings,which I have to say is a great shame for this " once" very elegant building

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sdmmmtc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_ThePalaceHotel, Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your visit, I do hope next time you stop by we can accommodate a more welcoming feel and more rewarding experience.

Kind Regards
Rob Quinton
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

From the outside this is a very grand hotel as it the reception area. Unfortunately this all ends as soon as you arrive your room!

We visited The Palace hotel for our 10 year anniversary. My partner had booked the dine and sparkle package which as you can guess should have included a bottle of sparkling wine in our room. On arrival we checked in, the reception was very busy as there was a wedding going on, this wasn't a problem but I would suggest the foyer isn't the most ideal place to hold a drinks reception for anyone!

Our room was up 4 flights of stairs so we decided to take the lift, this was slow, unreliable and was covered floor to ceiling in badly glued carpet tiles. That was the last time we took the lift and we noticed even the room service staff carrying trays of food took the stairs! When we got in the room it was nice and spacious with good views down into the town, the bed was also large an comfortable. Unfortunately this was let down by tired décor, poor cleaning (mouldy butter on one of the pictures?), paper thin walls and windows and what looked like a really dirty bath but infact all the enamel had come away leaving dark brown patches all around the plug hole. The shower also took 5-10 minutes of running before it actually got hot water.

As we had booked the dine and sparkle package we expected the bottle to be in our room on arrival but it wasn't. We rang reception who confirmed it should have been in our room but we decided to have it with our dinner instead.

We decided to take a walk into Buxton before our dinner, the location of this hotel is the only thing that saved it from getting 1* as it is very convenient and in a great elevated position but in the centre of Buxton.

We went down for dinner at 8pm. We were shown to our table and given the set menu which was part of the dine package we had paid for. The menu was fine but not particularly inspiring. The food was ok, it tasted fine but you could tell only the starters were freshly prepared, the main and desserts were either cooked from frozen or microwaved. The service, despite being friendly, was pretty poor. Our wine was put on the table once we asked for it which was fine but there were little things like not receiving bread on our table until our mains arrived yet it should have arrived before the starter, receiving multiple drinks from different staff when we had only ordered 1 , asking the people next to us what they would like for dessert when they hadn't even had their main meals, all just very unorganised.

It was a very cold, wet and windy night in Buxton and this sounded very loud in the bedroom but I actually quite liked it. The problem was the noise of the wedding guests in reception, this went on for hours but we did fall asleep quite easily. I then got woken up around 2am by someone shouting from our floor down to reception asking everyone to shut up (we were 4 floors up so that's how loud the noise from reception was). Luckily the bed was very comfy so I went straight back to sleep.

The next morning breakfast was pleasant and checkout was smooth apart from being charged £5 for parking which was fine but we weren't aware that we were being charged.

Overall this hotel has a cheek to call its self 4*. It is in a great location but I saw other smaller hotels in the town with equally as good location so I would advise you look into those instead of The Palace. This hotel is poorly run and in need of a massive renovation. AVOID!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_ThePalaceHotel, Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2013

Thank you for taking a moment to review the hotel, if you feel you would like to allow me to clarify any points made or discuss any matters further, please call me at your earliest convenience.

Regards
Rob Quinton
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

A very good weekend break, with great staff great food in a lovely area. The hotel is a little tired looking in some of its decor. The only problem we had was the swimming pool was very cold. Shame as it spoilet a very nice weekend.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_ThePalaceHotel, Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Many thanks for your review, please let me know when you plan your next visit. I will pass on your comments to the team, location you cannot beat.

Best Wishes
Rob Quinton
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Bathroom shoddy, with black mildew.
Not the hotel it probably used to be. Web site a bit vague re added cost of breakfast and car parking.
Ourselves and friends with us are regular travellers and did not rate this hotel as 4 star.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_ThePalaceHotel, Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to comment, if you wish to discuss or clarify any matters further please do not hesitate to contact myself.

Kind Regards
Rob Quinton
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

It's my second visit to the palace hotel. It has such character both inside and out. Had a wonderful leisure break weekend. Food was good, service was excellent and the hotel is perfectly located for the delights of Buxton. Room was clean and perfectly adequate. Yes the decor needs a bit of tlc but if it's a modern hotel you want then book a modern hotel!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank hootonkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_ThePalaceHotel, Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Fantastic comments. Location, friendly and many more returns we hope. Thank you for your compliments that will be shared amongst the team.

Best Wishes
Rob Quinton
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Spent a good break here for one night as part of a offer.
Staff were very welcoming and helpful from start to finish. Dinner bed and breakfast with free bottle of wine so couldn't complaint at £99
Hotel is in need of some refurbishment but a great location and look very imposing.
It was very clean and it’s condition although not 4 star didn't spoil the weekend.

One criticism was that the dinning room is freezing and it looks like this is always the case so why they can't get some heaters in is a mystery Take a coat if you go.

Great cocktails at the Monks Bar

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Holidayboy45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_ThePalaceHotel, Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Palace, your comments have been noted along with the compliments for the staff members for contributing towards your visit, Monks definately has a few cocktails or two. Look forward to any future return visits.

Sincerely
Rob Quinton
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
0.2 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,311 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Buxton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
The Westminster Hotel
17.8 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 2 in Matlock Bath
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace Hotel

Address: Palace Road, Buxton SK17 6AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Buxton
Price Range: $60 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victorian Palace Hotel sits in 5 acres of landscaped gardens in the spa town of Buxton. Ideally located for visiting Buxton Opera House and exploring the Peak District National Park, Britain's first National Park and one of the country's most popular walking destinations, this hotel has an imposing facade and opulent interior to provide an unforgettable backdrop for any occasion. With 122 bedrooms, including 12 premium rooms, a Health & Leisure club with swimming pool, gym and beauty rooms, and a restaurant using local ingredients to prepare British and Continental cuisine, it's the perfect spot for a country town retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel Buxton
Palace Buxton
Buxton Hotel Palace
Barcelo Buxton
Hotel Palace Buxton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing