We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great get away”
Review of The Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Palace Hotel
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Buxton
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great get away”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

i stayd hear for my boyfriends birthday as we were planning on going to alton towers. we got a deal on groupon whicb gave us meal on first night and breakfast both mornings. we were meant to get afternoon tea and scones however this never happened which we paid extra for.
we used the hotel pool while we were there. the pool is quite small and can get busy until about 20:00. the pool staff were very helpfull. the hotel is nice, clean and staff are polite.
the lift was very small and very slow. there were times when lift would go past the floor you needed.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank deborahd1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_ThePalaceHotel, Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for taking a moment to post your comments, overall an enjoyable stay at The Palace, a lovely hotel in a great location, please contact myself prior to your next visit.

Many thanks
Rob Quinton
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    466
    793
    616
    408
    280
See reviews for
363
1,281
55
171
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (673)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We went to this Hotel expecting a welcoming and inviting Leisure experience. The pool side facilities are poor with no room to relax by the pool. Only 2 loungers with no cushions. No space to arrange them unless you place them end to end. Dark and dismal so reading difficult. Not a place to relax.
Hotel bathroom antiquated and again uninviting. Shower in bath. shower curtain fastens itself to you while showering..Roof leaks and dripis onto our landing (3rd floor). ^ buckets used to catch the rain. General condition of Hotel requires maintenance.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Roger701 R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_ThePalaceHotel, Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for your review, please contact myself at your earliest convenience to discuss your comments further.

Regards
Rob Quinton
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Buxton hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Buxton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We had no complaints about The Palace Hotel. The room was comfortable and quiet, at the rear so no view but no traffic noise either. The buffet breakfast is amazing, the leisure club is open long hours and though the pool is small it's plenty large enough to swim in.

Dinner by candlelight was especially lovely. The menu was good though portion sizes a little on the small side if you have a northern appetite!

Very friendly and helpful staff.

Only downside, paying extra for parking. It somehow felt a bit below the 3* standard of everything else. Surely this could be rolled into the price instead of having to pay at the end of our stay. Also we were charged for every night we were there for parking though on two occasions the car park was full so we parked on the street. We didn't want to make a scene as we were leaving so we just paid. That is the only complaint.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Lee E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_ThePalaceHotel, Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Great comments towards the The Palace Hotel, its facilities and members of the team. Small issues can be fixed instantly, I hope upon your return we can gain that loss back.

Best Wishes
Rob Quinton
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

The hotel was a typical old fashioned hotel which was reasonably comfortable. Our room was large and quiet.

Unfortunately the praise stops there. The food was awful. The starters and puddings were perfectly alright, but the main course was very disappointing. Seemingly frozen carrots and peas, huge solid chicken breast, sliced pork in gravy redolent of school dinners.

In the morning, not one member of staff said good morning although passing close by.

Having been given mint tea (delicous) two nights running with no charge, I was suddenly and unexpectedly asked for the room number to put it on the bill the third night. I protested and said everyone else in our party had had free mint tea but I found the restaurant man (not sure who) getting argumentive and all pretence of the customer being right flying out of the window. I did not order it.

There was noone to take cases up or down stairs and the small lift sometimes took 15 minutes to arrive.

This was not a 4 star hotel

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hermione W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_ThePalaceHotel, Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Thank you for your comments, if you wish to discuss or clarify any matters please contact me at your earliest convenience.

Regards
Rob Quinton
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakley
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

My wife and I spent the last week-end with a number of friends and have to say that overall we were very disappointed.
The rooms are small ,outdated and in need of modernisation. They were however clean.

Bathrooms -Pathetic shower , and generally old and tired.aging bath
Hallways ,stairs etc. In need of redecoration and repair, some of the carpets are thread bare.
Restaurant- Very very average.

OVERALL NOT 4 * AT BEST A MIDDLE 3*
We will not be going back

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scazyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_ThePalaceHotel, Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for your comments, please feel free to call me for any further discussions.

Regards
Rob Quinton
Operatioins Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilminster, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 1, 2013

This "grande dame" of a hotel is regal and a delight to stay in with warm and friendly staff. We have had an 8 day conference here 3 years in a row and are very pleased with our choice. Puma Hotels are proceeding with improvements apace and the grand ol lady is looking better each year. Strongly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_ThePalaceHotel, Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Fantastic, the team were delighted to have you back. Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at The Palace. We will keep up the standards and improvements year on year.

Best Wishes
Rob Quinton
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

The hotel is beautiful but some of the rooms need updating a bit. The first room we had was very hot and the window wouldn't stay open and there were hardly any hangers in the wardrobe. Hangers aren't a big deal but we'd been staying in a lovely B & B and we'd been spoilt for hangers! The staff were excellent - Jessica on reception moved us to a better room, Tanya the waitress was very helpful, Shaun the bar man was very friendly. It's a great place to stay for seeing Buxton and the Peak District. The food was excellent, with lots of choice in the evening and at breakfast. We also used the pool and steam room and these facilities were very clean.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_ThePalaceHotel, Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Marvellous that your minor issues were solved, great review on all the team members that made you stay welcome at The Palace here in Buxton. I will pass on your thanks and kind comments, we welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Rob Quinton
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
0.2 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
0.2 mi away
Old Hall
Old Hall
#3 of 9 in Buxton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,025 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Buxton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
17.8 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Westminster Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace Hotel

Property: The Palace Hotel
Address: Palace Road, Buxton SK17 6AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Buxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victorian Palace Hotel sits in 5 acres of landscaped gardens in the spa town of Buxton. Ideally located for visiting Buxton Opera House and exploring the Peak District National Park, Britain's first National Park and one of the country's most popular walking destinations, this hotel has an imposing facade and opulent interior to provide an unforgettable backdrop for any occasion. With 122 bedrooms, including 12 premium rooms, a Health & Leisure club with swimming pool, gym and beauty rooms, and a restaurant using local ingredients to prepare British and Continental cuisine, it's the perfect spot for a country town retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel Buxton
Palace Buxton
Buxton Hotel Palace
Barcelo Buxton
Hotel Palace Buxton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing