We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed, booked 2 nights, stayed 1”
Review of The Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Palace Hotel
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Buxton
Cheshire
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very disappointed, booked 2 nights, stayed 1”
Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

After reading the previous reviews, must agree. Rooms very very tired. Dire in fact. We overlooked shabby roofs, very dark, hot room. Double bed very small. En-suite, no bath! So small couldn't fit both of us in at the same time. Decor in en-suite yuk!!! Furniture shabby, scratched, lamp shade had stains all over it, wallpaper hanging off. Door to room very thin, so could hear everything even though at the bottom of the corridor. Ceiling creaked as the people above walked around. The corridors, lift no better, wiring falling out of trunking, skirting all marked, carpet looked shabby, dirty and very old. It was awful, we couldn't wait to leave, after looking forward to our weekend away without the children for so long. Cost us £187.00 for one night :-(.... Breakfast very ordinary and Luke warm. We had booked to have dinner on our second night, we are at home now... The leisure facilities were disgusting, so walked out.
On a more positive note - staff wonderful, courteous, friendly and very professional, such a shame the hotel decor lets them down...

The hotel is in a lovely position in Buxton and yes it is old so we expected some tired features. But the hotel, need to close down and have a good refurb. People expect more from a four * hotel.
We have used Barcelo/Puma hotels for years, but we will not be using The Palace again sadly.

I have photographs of our room if anyone would like to see them, to back up comments.

Oh yes..... Guests have to pay £4.50 per night for parking. Leisure members, do not pay... Seems unfair, when you have paid for your stay, most guests will arrive by car. Joe public cannot get in as barrier system, so why charge.....?

Really disappointed, we should be having a nice meal, drinks and evening away tonight, but we are at home.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CheshireCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGraham77, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for leaving your review on your recent stay with us at The Palace Hotel. I am disappointed that you didn’t completely enjoy the time you spent with us and would like to assure you that the comments you have been made are being addressed as a matter of urgency.

Thank you for your lovely comments about our team, I will be sure to pass these on.

Management Team
The Palace Hotel, Puma Hotels’ Collections
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    474
    813
    641
    430
    303
See reviews for
374
1,337
62
178
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (703)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wiltshire
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

stayed here whilst on a course at HSL nearby. Ok, room a bit shabby but suites look lush so have they started a refurb at the top and are working their way down?? Public rooms showing some sings of wear and tear but were empty - will probabaly look fine if in use. Pool and steam room grubby. Only had a bar meal - it was midweek and the restaurant was empty.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bartyWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGraham77, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your comments on your recent review at The Palace Hotel. I would like to assure you that all our bedrooms are being refurbished in an ongoing programme and we will also put our attention to the leisure club as you mention.

I hope you will return to see the progress we are dedicated to making.

Management Team
The Palace Hotel, Puma Hotels’ Collections
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Fantastic building in great location but rooms were faded along with the corridors.
Toilet separated from the bathroom with no washbasin. The washbasin in the bathroom was old-fashioned with two taps (not what you expect from a 4-star rated hotel), and the bathtub was old and worn out. No hand shower available.
Breakfast was good with plenty of everything and the 3 course dinner included in the half-board deal was priceworthy with around five different dishes for each course to choose from.
The staff was, with a few exceptions, extremely helpful and friendly.
All in all it was an ok experience but not up to 4-star standard.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rutig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGraham77, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for your review on your recent stay at The Palace Hotel. I would like to assure you that, as part of our ongoing refurbishment programme, we are updating our bedroom and bathroom décor. I am so please that our team were helpful throughout your stay and that our meals managed to meet your expectations.

Management Team
The Palace Hotel, Puma Hotels’ Collections
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Checking in was slow because there was only one receptionist on duty. There was no one to help with bags, and lots of rooms that were not served by the one lift.

Rooms clean, however ours was out the back overlooking flat roofs, but we did pay for a standard room.

Food was good, especially as they did special veggie meals for me. There was a wedding on one evening and we heard nothing as the wedding party had their own bar and the function room was situated away from where we were.

The spa was a fair distance and you have to walk through reception to get to it, so take gym clothes to avoid embarressment. Pool was the warmest I have ever swam in. Ladies be warned you have to climb up one set of stairs to the changing room and then climb down another to get to the pool.


One request that really puzzled me was that there were 30 vintage and modern bentleys and the hotel management asked us to move them from the parking areas outside of the main door.? I thought 'what an advert for a hotel to have them out front instead of round the side of the building.

The Staff were cheerful, smiley and helpful. Especially Patricia (Trica) who looked after my veggie needs.

Room Tip: The ones on the front are much larger and have wonderful views, but then they are more money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morsequay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGraham77, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
I thank you for leaving us your feedback on your recent stay. I apologise that the initial welcome wasn’t up to our usual standard and hope you can have confidence that this has been addressed with our Front of House Manager. I am, however, delighted that you enjoyed the meals you had with us and that Patricia made a positive impact on your stay and helped cater for your dietary needs.

Hopefully I will be welcoming you and the rest of the Bentley Driver’s Club back again soon.

Management Team
The Palace Hotel, Puma Hotels’ Collections
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Really fantastic looking building, in a great location, unfortunately it is rather tired looking, particularly the rooms. Most of the public areas are pretty good, with a few exceptions.
We had a room at the front of the building with the most fantastic view across the town. Alas, we had to ask to be moved due to an electrical fault and some unpleasant smells from the bath.
Our second room was better, although we didn't have the view. In both rooms the shower was fitted quite low, I'm short but had to stoop to get my hair wet. The pressure was also poor.
The restaurant was OK, the menu for dinner was pretty dull although the food was fine. Breakfast is the 'normal' buffet, plenty of everything but all lukewarm, even bacon that had just been brought out was barely warm. However the main gripe with breakfast was the 'tea/coffee service', coffee was do it yourself from a machine (I won't even use them at work) tea was collect a teabag from a jar, put it in a mug and fill with hot (not hot enough) water from the coffee machine. The milk was presented in a jug on your table, but where are you supposed to dispose of the teabag??? This is a real cheap practice, its not that there were not enough staff to serve drinks, there were plenty of them.
The bar was fine, some real ale would have been nice though. The bar staff were particularly good, friendly, helpful.
Water in the room was highland spring, at breakfast it was Harrogate, why no Buxton water???
So overall, the staff were good the hotel tired, not up to the standard of other Puma hotels

Room Tip: Ask for a room on 3rd floor at the front, at least you get a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cascboss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGraham77, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
I am pleased you found the time to leave us a review on your recent stay with us at The Palace Hotel. I am disappointed that we failed to exceed your expectations on this occasion but would like to assure you that we take guest feedback seriously and use it to help us make improvements for the future. I will be discussing your comments with our Restaurant Manager to we can address as appropriate and hopefully on a return stay, you will see the progression we are making.

Management Team
The Palace Hotel, Puma Hotels’ Collections
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

First sight of the Palace Hotel Buxton was what a splendid old building, the entrance is very grand and very spacious. The bedroom we had was very dated and needed to be upgraded sooner rather than later. all the furniture was old and well past its sell by date, but all was nice and clean. For what we payed we could not complain travel zoo deal dinner bed and breakfast. The food at dinner was very good. Breakfast was even better so all in all we did enjoy our stay, all the staff were very good and friendly.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have great view of town and countryside
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 618janet29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGraham77, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for your review, I’m pleased you managed to take advantage of one of our special offers and enjoyed the time you spent with us. I have passed your kind comments about the team onto them.

Hopefully we’ll be seeing you again in the not too distant future.

Management Team
The Palace Hotel, Puma Hotels’ Collections
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

From the minute we arrived at the Palace Hotel in Buxton, we had a warm welcome, The Hotel is fabulous, the staff were great, nothing was too much trouble for any of them. They were all very friendly all of the time. Food was great to, we didn't have to wait any great time between courses. We had a lovely time all round and would revisit.

Room Tip: Didn't rate children activities or spa, because we didn't use either. Rooms on the front of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGraham77, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for your kind words about our team at The Palace Hotel. We pride ourselves on ensuring each of our guests have a memorable and personal experience when staying with us and we are pleased we delivered on this occasion.

We hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.

Management Team
The Palace Hotel, Puma Hotels’ Collections
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
0.2 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,054 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Buxton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
383 reviews
17.8 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
263 reviews
0.3 mi away
Buckingham Hotel
Buckingham Hotel
#7 of 9 in Buxton
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace Hotel

Property: The Palace Hotel
Address: Palace Road, Buxton SK17 6AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Buxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victorian Palace Hotel sits in 5 acres of landscaped gardens in the spa town of Buxton. Ideally located for visiting Buxton Opera House and exploring the Peak District National Park, Britain's first National Park and one of the country's most popular walking destinations, this hotel has an imposing facade and opulent interior to provide an unforgettable backdrop for any occasion. With 122 bedrooms, including 12 premium rooms, a Health & Leisure club with swimming pool, gym and beauty rooms, and a restaurant using local ingredients to prepare British and Continental cuisine, it's the perfect spot for a country town retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel Buxton
Palace Buxton
Buxton Hotel Palace
Barcelo Buxton
Hotel Palace Buxton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing