We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Navigation Inn(Buxworth)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hollin Hall Hotel(Macclesfield)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (3,156)
Filter reviews
3,156 results
Traveler rating
539
915
749
536
417
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
539
915
749
536
417
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgrand old hotelgrand staircasesweeping staircasecourse mealbuffet stylebit datedshort breakopera houselovely viewfull englishchandelierscharacterderbyshire
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,736 - 2,741 of 3,156 reviews
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We have previously stayed at this hotel but this was the first time since Puma took over. The decor remains unchanged and some refurbishmnt and then more is required. Room size varies considerably. Ours was large but very draughty and even with the radiator turned on full was cold during the recent cold spell. There were no extra blankets in the room.
The tea tray was at a low level which made it awkward to use and was inadequately supplied, only 1 teabag on the 4th day and not enough milk.
The bathroom was large but warm enough.
We ordered room service for breakfast and the order was completed correctly with very generous portions but unfortunately neither the food nor the tea were hot, scarcely lukewarm. We had chosen this option having discovered that there was no longer waiter service at table. The tea and coffee machines provide very inferior quality and there is a lot of getting up and down to serve yourself with things spread all over the room. The hot buffet at breakfast was generally lukewarm and as far as we are aware there was no option for boiled eggs or kippers. Unbelievably there was no marmalade available on our last day. There appeared to be a lot of staff standing around talking with just one member of staff flying around. Other reviews have mentioned the toasters and we witnessed the same problems. I even managed to get a piece of burnt toast with my room service!
Previous reviews have commented on the quality and quantity of evening meals and I would agree but perhaps as they are to appoint a new Head Chef this will change. We felt the food was better in previous years with the menu providing more variety. There is not enough flexibility for theatregoers as in some other lical hotels.
Finally the lift remains temperamental with doors frequently opening and closing up to 4 times.
In conclusion, on our next visit to Buxton, we may return to a previously higher rated hotel or try a new one. The location of the Palace is its major plus point.

Room Tip: Pay for an upgrade.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dettorifan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGraham77, Front Office Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, I apologise that your stay was not fully enjoyed. I will pass the comments you have made on to the revelant department heads, so that we can work on resolving the issues you encountered.

Kind Reagrds
Management Team
The Palace Hotel, Puma Hotels' Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Have just returned from a nights stay at The Palace Hotel. The room was large, clean and airey and the bed very comfortable. Breakfast was excellent and very well organised. The building is very impressive. I can only assume from other comments that not all rooms are of the same standard or is it that some people just like to complain. We will definitely stay there again on our next visit to Buxton.
The only negative comment would be having to pay £4.50 for parking in the hotel car park. I think this is unjustified.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGraham77, Front Office Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us, it is very nice to recieve comments such as the ones you made and we will look forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regards
Management Team
The Palace Hotel, Puma Hotels' Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

we 1st saw this Hotel a couple of years ago when it was in Barcelo chain and closed for complete refurbishment. Now it is in Puma chain and very popular with all age groups ( surprised no Disabled Access has been installed though!)Unintentionally we were staying over the Mothers Day weekend.lots of GrandParents and young New pram pushing Mums too- bearing in mind access problems like a small revolving door up 3 steps at the Front Door, we were lucky it is not an issue for us -YET! Friday night the small Bar was very busy with a shortage of seating for pre-Dinner drinks. however, we were soon shown to our Reserved table in the upper level of the large Dining Area. we enjoyed a 3 course meal (@£30pp) Portions sizes almost Nouvelle cuisine which these days is classed as Fine Dining. Our spacious room was on the 3rd floor.Quiet too just as requested. Unfortunately we got to use the only lift on one occasion ALL weekend. maybe it was a cunning plan to get us walking up 100 steps on the impressive Palatial stair case after dessert or the fabulous hot/cold Buffet breakfasts each morning. Our en-suite Double room was along a sweeping wide corridor with wide door ways into the room and bathroom. suitable for wheelchairs except the Fire door nearest the lift is very narrow ? The room was comfortably warm with a large radiator we could adjust to suit and a heated towel rail in the bathroom with its over bath shower. No magnifying mirror though in this Puma Hotel-some do have them.We had such a good sleep we checked the label on the mattress and are considering Hypnos for our new bed at home.We used the indoor heated pool (warm ) Steam Room and Sauna- both efficient and very warm BUT up another flight of steps from poolside. Ladies Changing Room and Spa treatment Rooms are up ANOTHER flight of steep narrow stairs a long way from the Leisure facility reception desk. Access to the Pool is by ANOTHER steep staircase. Mums with babes in arms and young children or senior ladies struggled to negotiate their way (Mums Day Spa treats could easily have been difficult to get to).All in all a lovely break and hopefully we will take advantage of another deal at the end of Summer if we get one! ps maybe it followed a complaint (as per neil r) but ALL rubber mats and tiled floors in the changing rooms, pool and sauna/steam room areas where being thoroughly cleaned on Saturday and Sunday mornings by a team of cleaners

Room Tip: top floor turn right top of the stairs.300 plus some have storage rooms for neighbours and no air con units on this roof. Hotel sits on a hill surrounded by its car park and Buxton has little traffic at night and no obvious night clubs or noisy bars nearby
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deb k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

you will NOT be happy if you stay here its that bad that in the morning when we to the spa we put our swim suits on and entered this dirty discusting place we walked around the pool and walked straight back out i evan had to wash my feet on the way out it was that bad if you want a nice spa go to the dome over the road its lovely.I CAN NOT MAKE THIS ANY MORE CLEAR DO NOT GO TO THIS HOTEL

Room Tip: A good tip is book somewhere else
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank neil r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGraham77, Front Office Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

I apologise if you did not find the spa to your satisfaction on the day you visited it, we do endeavour to keep all areas well prepared for our guests. A large number of people thouroughly enjoy there time at our hotel and also comment on the cleanliness.

Kind Regards
Management Team
The Palace Hotel, Puma Hotels' Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Four ladies spent Sat night at the hotel. Welcome and speedy booking in service
The hotel is tired and shabby in places but clean and big and airey
The pool is small and the whole area needs a modern up lift!
We only ate breakfast and it was okay
There was a problem when the hotel forget to release the pre payment they had taken on my card, but after a phone call this was resolved

Room Tip: Room 502 bad view
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tinkle16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGraham77, Front Office Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

I am please we solved the pre payment issue for you, I apologise for this issue. I appreciate your feedback and will pass your comments on.

Kind Regards
Management Team
The Palace Hotel, Puma Hotels' Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews