We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not good for those with mobility problems”
Review of The Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Palace Hotel
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Buxton
Reviewed March 13, 2013

we 1st saw this Hotel a couple of years ago when it was in Barcelo chain and closed for complete refurbishment. Now it is in Puma chain and very popular with all age groups ( surprised no Disabled Access has been installed though!)Unintentionally we were staying over the Mothers Day weekend.lots of GrandParents and young New pram pushing Mums too- bearing in mind access problems like a small revolving door up 3 steps at the Front Door, we were lucky it is not an issue for us -YET! Friday night the small Bar was very busy with a shortage of seating for pre-Dinner drinks. however, we were soon shown to our Reserved table in the upper level of the large Dining Area. we enjoyed a 3 course meal (@£30pp) Portions sizes almost Nouvelle cuisine which these days is classed as Fine Dining. Our spacious room was on the 3rd floor.Quiet too just as requested. Unfortunately we got to use the only lift on one occasion ALL weekend. maybe it was a cunning plan to get us walking up 100 steps on the impressive Palatial stair case after dessert or the fabulous hot/cold Buffet breakfasts each morning. Our en-suite Double room was along a sweeping wide corridor with wide door ways into the room and bathroom. suitable for wheelchairs except the Fire door nearest the lift is very narrow ? The room was comfortably warm with a large radiator we could adjust to suit and a heated towel rail in the bathroom with its over bath shower. No magnifying mirror though in this Puma Hotel-some do have them.We had such a good sleep we checked the label on the mattress and are considering Hypnos for our new bed at home.We used the indoor heated pool (warm ) Steam Room and Sauna- both efficient and very warm BUT up another flight of steps from poolside. Ladies Changing Room and Spa treatment Rooms are up ANOTHER flight of steep narrow stairs a long way from the Leisure facility reception desk. Access to the Pool is by ANOTHER steep staircase. Mums with babes in arms and young children or senior ladies struggled to negotiate their way (Mums Day Spa treats could easily have been difficult to get to).All in all a lovely break and hopefully we will take advantage of another deal at the end of Summer if we get one! ps maybe it followed a complaint (as per neil r) but ALL rubber mats and tiled floors in the changing rooms, pool and sauna/steam room areas where being thoroughly cleaned on Saturday and Sunday mornings by a team of cleaners

Room Tip: top floor turn right top of the stairs.300 plus some have storage rooms for neighbours and no air c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deb k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,008)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,591 - 2,597 of 3,008 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2013

you will NOT be happy if you stay here its that bad that in the morning when we to the spa we put our swim suits on and entered this dirty discusting place we walked around the pool and walked straight back out i evan had to wash my feet on the way out it was that bad if you want a nice spa go to the dome over the road its lovely.I CAN NOT MAKE THIS ANY MORE CLEAR DO NOT GO TO THIS HOTEL

Room Tip: A good tip is book somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank neil r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGraham77, Front Office Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

I apologise if you did not find the spa to your satisfaction on the day you visited it, we do endeavour to keep all areas well prepared for our guests. A large number of people thouroughly enjoy there time at our hotel and also comment on the cleanliness.

Kind Regards
Management Team
The Palace Hotel, Puma Hotels' Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Four ladies spent Sat night at the hotel. Welcome and speedy booking in service
The hotel is tired and shabby in places but clean and big and airey
The pool is small and the whole area needs a modern up lift!
We only ate breakfast and it was okay
There was a problem when the hotel forget to release the pre payment they had taken on my card, but after a phone call this was resolved

Room Tip: Room 502 bad view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tinkle16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGraham77, Front Office Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

I am please we solved the pre payment issue for you, I apologise for this issue. I appreciate your feedback and will pass your comments on.

Kind Regards
Management Team
The Palace Hotel, Puma Hotels' Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Stayed here for one night as a Mother's day treat from my children. I've visited a few of the Puma groups hotels and found The Palace to be an enjoyable experience at a well established hotel. Room was a good size, very comfortable bed and furniture. Standard of cleanliness was excellent. Restaurant very ameanable, good selection of cuisine and spot on service. Found all staff to be extremely helpful, pleasant and efficient. We will certainly be visiting again!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jose B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGraham77, Front Office Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your Mothers Day treat. It pleases me that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed all aspects of the hotel. Thank you for the comments regarding the service and the staff, I hope we see you again soon.

Kind Regards
The Management Team
The Palace Hotel, Puma Hotels' Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are a lovely size however the furniture is shabby and the beds we had were very uncomfortable, old mattress which dips alot in the middle, backache!
The evening menu is minimal and both of our dishes Luke warm, vegetables overcooked, alot, I had fish which was very oily my partner had pork belly, again, greasy and not warm, the meal took a la carte to a new level (portion wise and quality)
Cooked breakfast buffet is disgusting, poor quality foodstuffs and very oily tasting, cooking oil is all you can taste on every food item!! Awful, truly awful cooked food, eat out

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachelosc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGraham77, Front Office Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Please accept my apologies regarding the issues you had with the food during your stay. We have a new head chef joining us soon, I hope you will return and give our new kitchen team a chance to alter your view.

Kind Regards
Management Team
The Palace Hotel,Puma Hotels' Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Stayed here at Xmas and was disappointed by the state of repair in the less public areas.
This time we had a great stay. Initial room allocated was tiny and dark. Upgraded to a much bigger room for £20, massive bed, huge bathroom, and had clearly been maintained recently (slight paint smell).
Staff were all very friendly and the big Derbyshire breakfast was ace!
The only issue I had was the nearby clock which rang out the hour all night, not the hotels fault but annoying.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front - great views over town Room 220 is worth the upgrade fee - huge with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julianantony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGraham77, Front Office Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Many thanks for your review. I am pleased you chose to stay with us again and found our staff friendly, I hope you return again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Management Team
The Palace Hotel,Puma Hotels' Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Having read the reviews my wife and i weren't expecting much. all the B and B's we tried were either booked up or refurbishing. So for £55 per night we thought we would give it a go. great looking hotel from the outside is spoilt by a Blackpool style neon light on the top. As mentioned in other reviews the hotel inside looks very dated and in desperate need of money spending on it. The bedroom was quite comfortable but the bathroom was awful. I had to run around under the slow shower in order to get wet. The staff although pleasant enough could have been a bit more talkative. A "good morning" from the cleaning staff would have been nice but not a word unfortunately. We did not try the bar as we had been warned about the high prices. Charging for the car park is ridiculous. The receptionist excused this by saying other hotels charge for parking the car. They may do but in the centre of large cities and where there is not much space.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HiggyLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGraham77, Front Office Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

I apologise that all areas of your stay were not satisfactory, but am pleased you found the room comfortable. We charge for parking at the hotel as parking is at a premium throught Buxton and the charge at the hotel is very reasonable compared with that, we also operate a very secure car park which is acredited locally.

Kind Regards
Management Team
The Palace Hotel,Puma Hotels' Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
0.2 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,281 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Buxton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
15.2 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
17.8 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace Hotel

Address: Palace Road, Buxton SK17 6AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Buxton
Price Range: $56 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victorian Palace Hotel sits in 5 acres of landscaped gardens in the spa town of Buxton. Ideally located for visiting Buxton Opera House and exploring the Peak District National Park, Britain's first National Park and one of the country's most popular walking destinations, this hotel has an imposing facade and opulent interior to provide an unforgettable backdrop for any occasion. With 122 bedrooms, including 12 premium rooms, a Health & Leisure club with swimming pool, gym and beauty rooms, and a restaurant using local ingredients to prepare British and Continental cuisine, it's the perfect spot for a country town retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel Buxton
Palace Buxton
Buxton Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace Buxton
Barcelo Buxton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing