We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“if you go you will be very unhappy”
Review of The Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Palace Hotel
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Buxton
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“if you go you will be very unhappy”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

you will NOT be happy if you stay here its that bad that in the morning when we to the spa we put our swim suits on and entered this dirty discusting place we walked around the pool and walked straight back out i evan had to wash my feet on the way out it was that bad if you want a nice spa go to the dome over the road its lovely.I CAN NOT MAKE THIS ANY MORE CLEAR DO NOT GO TO THIS HOTEL

Room Tip: A good tip is book somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank neil r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGraham77, Front Office Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
I apologise if you did not find the spa to your satisfaction on the day you visited it, we do endeavour to keep all areas well prepared for our guests. A large number of people thouroughly enjoy there time at our hotel and also comment on the cleanliness.

Kind Regards
Management Team
The Palace Hotel, Puma Hotels' Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,606 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    468
    800
    630
    418
    290
See reviews for
366
1,306
59
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (685)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
42 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Four ladies spent Sat night at the hotel. Welcome and speedy booking in service
The hotel is tired and shabby in places but clean and big and airey
The pool is small and the whole area needs a modern up lift!
We only ate breakfast and it was okay
There was a problem when the hotel forget to release the pre payment they had taken on my card, but after a phone call this was resolved

Room Tip: Room 502 bad view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinkle16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGraham77, Front Office Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
I am please we solved the pre payment issue for you, I apologise for this issue. I appreciate your feedback and will pass your comments on.

Kind Regards
Management Team
The Palace Hotel, Puma Hotels' Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Stayed here for one night as a Mother's day treat from my children. I've visited a few of the Puma groups hotels and found The Palace to be an enjoyable experience at a well established hotel. Room was a good size, very comfortable bed and furniture. Standard of cleanliness was excellent. Restaurant very ameanable, good selection of cuisine and spot on service. Found all staff to be extremely helpful, pleasant and efficient. We will certainly be visiting again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jose B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGraham77, Front Office Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your Mothers Day treat. It pleases me that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed all aspects of the hotel. Thank you for the comments regarding the service and the staff, I hope we see you again soon.

Kind Regards
The Management Team
The Palace Hotel, Puma Hotels' Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester
1 review
Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are a lovely size however the furniture is shabby and the beds we had were very uncomfortable, old mattress which dips alot in the middle, backache!
The evening menu is minimal and both of our dishes Luke warm, vegetables overcooked, alot, I had fish which was very oily my partner had pork belly, again, greasy and not warm, the meal took a la carte to a new level (portion wise and quality)
Cooked breakfast buffet is disgusting, poor quality foodstuffs and very oily tasting, cooking oil is all you can taste on every food item!! Awful, truly awful cooked food, eat out

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachelosc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGraham77, Front Office Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Please accept my apologies regarding the issues you had with the food during your stay. We have a new head chef joining us soon, I hope you will return and give our new kitchen team a chance to alter your view.

Kind Regards
Management Team
The Palace Hotel,Puma Hotels' Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Stayed here at Xmas and was disappointed by the state of repair in the less public areas.
This time we had a great stay. Initial room allocated was tiny and dark. Upgraded to a much bigger room for £20, massive bed, huge bathroom, and had clearly been maintained recently (slight paint smell).
Staff were all very friendly and the big Derbyshire breakfast was ace!
The only issue I had was the nearby clock which rang out the hour all night, not the hotels fault but annoying.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front - great views over town Room 220 is worth the upgrade fee - huge with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julianantony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGraham77, Front Office Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Many thanks for your review. I am pleased you chose to stay with us again and found our staff friendly, I hope you return again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Management Team
The Palace Hotel,Puma Hotels' Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Having read the reviews my wife and i weren't expecting much. all the B and B's we tried were either booked up or refurbishing. So for £55 per night we thought we would give it a go. great looking hotel from the outside is spoilt by a Blackpool style neon light on the top. As mentioned in other reviews the hotel inside looks very dated and in desperate need of money spending on it. The bedroom was quite comfortable but the bathroom was awful. I had to run around under the slow shower in order to get wet. The staff although pleasant enough could have been a bit more talkative. A "good morning" from the cleaning staff would have been nice but not a word unfortunately. We did not try the bar as we had been warned about the high prices. Charging for the car park is ridiculous. The receptionist excused this by saying other hotels charge for parking the car. They may do but in the centre of large cities and where there is not much space.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HiggyLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGraham77, Front Office Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
I apologise that all areas of your stay were not satisfactory, but am pleased you found the room comfortable. We charge for parking at the hotel as parking is at a premium throught Buxton and the charge at the hotel is very reasonable compared with that, we also operate a very secure car park which is acredited locally.

Kind Regards
Management Team
The Palace Hotel,Puma Hotels' Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Buxton hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Corby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

On our approach to this lovely old building we were excited and had high hopes, but unfortunately as our stay progressed our illusion faded bit by bit. We were upgraded to a suite (Devonshire Suite) which was huge and even had a spare bedroom! The bedroom was lovely, a good size and had great views but the whole place was jaded and in need of decoration - tatty wallpaper, stained carpets, although the public areas were better maintained. All four pillows were rock hard, but the bed was comfortable. I should think it had been a magnificent place to stay in its hayday. It was good to have so much space though and loved having a separate bathroom and loo. Breakfast on the Sunday morning was fair - help yourself buffet with quite a good choice, both hot and cold, although the cooked items were lukewarm, and the toaster is a tad temperamental - first barely colouring the bread then on next attempt burning it to a cinder although I hadn't changed the setting between the 2 attempts. Weekday breakfasts were ordered from a menu with table service which we thought would be better but unfortunately this turned out to be not the case. On the Monday the bacon was so dried up I couldn't even cut it and it resembled a frisbee, as was the black pudding, and my poached eggs were rock hard. My partner's bacon and black pudding were the same although his sausages were cooked fine and he said were tasty. When the waitress collected our plates we showed her the uneaten overcooked items (probably had been kept warm on a hot plate for quite some time), she removed the plates, another 2 waitresses had a look at them but no offer to replace them. I cooked some toast for myself and my partner had some cereal instead. We weren't looking forward to breakfast the following day, but to be fair, it was much better although still not great. We didn't actually get the items we ordered but didn't feel it was worth making a fuss over so tucked in anyway. We go away most months for a couple of days and of all the places we have stayed in this has to be the worst food we have experienced. The hotel is in a great location though, plenty of parking, central to Buxton and very handy for eating out in the evenings as everything is within walking distance. Conclusion - It is a hotel we wouldn't return to or recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGraham77, Front Office Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
I apologise that your stay was not satisfactory in all areas and that we were unaware of your issues during your stay, we do have a duty manager available 24 hours a day to all guests who may have been able to help. We do however appreciate all feedback and will look into your comments for the future.

Kind Regards
Management Team
The Palace Hotel,Puma Hotels' Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
0.2 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,040 reviews
17.8 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
378 reviews
15.2 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
8.0 mi away
Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace Hotel

Property: The Palace Hotel
Address: Palace Road, Buxton SK17 6AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Buxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victorian Palace Hotel sits in 5 acres of landscaped gardens in the spa town of Buxton. Ideally located for visiting Buxton Opera House and exploring the Peak District National Park, Britain's first National Park and one of the country's most popular walking destinations, this hotel has an imposing facade and opulent interior to provide an unforgettable backdrop for any occasion. With 122 bedrooms, including 12 premium rooms, a Health & Leisure club with swimming pool, gym and beauty rooms, and a restaurant using local ingredients to prepare British and Continental cuisine, it's the perfect spot for a country town retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel Buxton
Palace Buxton
Buxton Hotel Palace
Barcelo Buxton
Hotel Palace Buxton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing