We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing, mediocre. Not what you expect from a 4* hotel.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Palace Hotel
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Buxton
halfwayhouse, shrewsbury
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing, mediocre. Not what you expect from a 4* hotel.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

We recently booked into the 4* Palace Hotel in Buxton, for a family party. The hotel is in a great location, very handy for other parts of the town and has great views. The entrance and the ground floor of the hotel are stunning, beautifully lit and decorated and the staff are polite, very friendly and extremely helpful. However, the bedrooms and bathrooms are certainly not 4*. Our rooms were 'tired' and uninspiring, the bathrooms antiquated and very unwelcoming with exposed pipework, old over bath showers, and a toilet that didn't flush properly first time. The beds were the kind that fix together to make 2 single beds into a large double so that there is a ridge in the middle (our daughter's room had the same arrangement and one side of that bed was 2" higher than the other). There was a strange smell in the corridors, a lot of "taped" repairs to the landing carpets and areas of dirty paintwork. Not what you expect in a 4* establishment.
There was also a stag party on the same night and despite our room being on the 3rd floor the noise late at night from the carpark outside our room was appalling. Not wanting to be a killjoy I waited until almost midnight to protest and to the credit of the hotel they did ask them to smoke elsewhere. I hope they didn't just move them to another area to annoy other guests.
The family had prebooked 8 double & family rooms, a function room, resident dj and a buffet for 50+ people. Despite the prebooking there was no draught beer available only cheap lager.
As it isn't an everyday occurrence, I like to be spoiled a little when I go away for the night but sadly, breakfast was self service, including coffee from a machine and while there was plenty of choice and it was well cooked, the food was lukewarm.
On checkout each room was charged £4.50 for using the hotel's own car park! That is until one guest refused to pay. Everyone else was then reimbursed. Our bill asks for feedback on the Puma Hotels website but I couldn't connect to the link given!
I

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank musiclovers49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGraham77, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for your detailed comments, all the Management team will review this so changes can be made as needed. I am sorry for the problems you experienced and that you are unable to contact to the Puma website, please do send your feedback direct to the General Manager via email palace.gm@pumahotels.co.uk

Kind Regards
Management Team
The Palace Hotel, Puma Hotels’ Collections
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    448
    748
    577
    382
    260
See reviews for
344
1,196
52
162
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (634)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
york
Level Contributor
74 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

Good location but very average. Expected faded grandeur not faded and scruffy. Reception staff efficient and friendly. We tried 3 times to find out the restaurant menu but staff were never around. The spa was scruffy. The steam room was out of order and the pool shower not working. Breakfast average for a 3 star. Cannot understand the star rating at all. Would not stay here again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank lovetravellingYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGraham77, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. I wish to apologise for the problems you experienced. The steam room and swimming pool are both repaired and we have a rolling redecoration program in place. We take all feedback very seriously as this enables us to improve for the future.

We are very lucky with our location and I hope we can welcome you back to another Puma Hotel soon.

Kind Regards
Management Team
The Palace Hotel, Puma Hotels’ Collections
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

Hotel feels tired and the staff overing 75% the service you expect. Our deal fortunately included dinner so they had the opportunity to make up for it during the dinner.

The bread tastes like it was reheated twice since breakfast, 1 starters ok, 1 not very nice, main I would rate as 6.5. Dessert best described as uni canteen slap on Apple crumble.. We are now back in the room and are wondering if they will deliver the crumble part of the dessert as room service. On a positive note, it would have been right up your street if you like Custard and Apple..

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark-wimbledom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGraham77, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for all your comments. We would like to speak to you in more detail about your comments. If you would be happy too please do contact the General Manager direct on 01298 22001.

Kind Regards
Management Team
The Palace Hotel, Puma Hotels’ Collections
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Buxton hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Inverkeithing
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here with vouchers given by lovely friends. This is an impressive building with a gorgeous staircase. It needs a little care and attention but we loved the character of the place. The room was a lovely front facing double with great views over Buxton. We ate out so can't comment on the restaurant and the bar was not as we'll attended as we'd have liked. The barman clearly had a lot of other duties but was friendly and polite. The hotel is in a very central location and make sure you visit the Upper town. A very nice stay and we definitely want to come back

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colinanne1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGraham77, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay overall.

Kind Regards
Management Team
The Palace Hotel, Puma Hotels’ Collections
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

beautiful hotel, when you enter your greeted by a grand staircase, polite friendly staff who meet your every needs, our room was looking out onto the front of the hotel and the view was amazing, very clean, and the bed was sheer luxury!

Room Tip: rooms at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stuyandsuebartle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGraham77, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
We are very lucky to have such a grand hotel and the team are delighted they were able to enhance your stay.

Kind Regards
Management Team
The Palace Hotel, Puma Hotels’ Collections
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Just returned from a very enjoyable stay at The Palace hotel . It has a very grand entrance and a beautiful staircase . The dining room is lovely and the breakfast excellent , self service so you dont feel greedy having a bit of everything . The evening meal was also of a good standard and great service if not a little rushed . All the staff were friendly and helpful and the situation of the hotel is perfect , only a few minutes walk to all the shops & attractions . I was not particularly impressed with the room though , the bed was quite small and the toilet was separate from the bathroom but in an embarrassing place . It was also a bit shabby but we got what we paid for I suppose . We would definitely stay here again but I would pay more for a better room with a nice view .

Room Tip: Book over the telephone not on-line and you may get a better room if you request exactly what you wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGraham77, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for all your comments; we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We have a range of bedroom types for our guest’s to choose from including 2 bedroom Suites and Premium bedrooms over looking Buxton town centre and the hills beyond.

Kind Regards
Management Team
The Palace Hotel, Puma Hotels’ Collections
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Palace is a splendid Hotel, full of charm and character befitting its' age. The staff are friendly and helpful and the service is excellent. Comfortable clean spacious room, great breakfast. Good value for money. A lovely warm welcome on a chilly weekend.

Room Tip: An upgrade is probably worth the little extra, our room was a standard one and very good, but I susp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGraham77, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
The team are delighted to hear you had an excellent stay. We all look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Management Team
The Palace Hotel, Puma Hotels’ Collections
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
0.2 mi away
Old Hall
Old Hall
#3 of 9 in Buxton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Buxton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
9.6 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
The Westminster Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace Hotel

Property: The Palace Hotel
Address: Palace Road, Buxton SK17 6AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Buxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victorian Palace Hotel sits in 5 acres of landscaped gardens in the spa town of Buxton. Ideally located for visiting Buxton Opera House and exploring the Peak District National Park, Britain's first National Park and one of the country's most popular walking destinations, this hotel has an imposing facade and opulent interior to provide an unforgettable backdrop for any occasion. With 122 bedrooms, including 12 premium rooms, a Health & Leisure club with swimming pool, gym and beauty rooms, and a restaurant using local ingredients to prepare British and Continental cuisine, it's the perfect spot for a country town retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel Buxton
Palace Buxton
Buxton Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace Buxton
Barcelo Buxton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing