We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ideal for weekend break to buxton”
Review of The Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Palace Hotel
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Buxton
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“ideal for weekend break to buxton”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife and i were visiting family in buxton but wanted a nice hotel close to centre of buxton with a not to high price tag. this hotel was perfect with gym and swimming pool.Yes it needs some work but then you would not get the same deal as we did. the staff are all great and we could even take our dog for £15.00 a lot cheaper then the kennels.The breakfast was great just help yourself do i need to say more. Will go again and take my swimming trunks.

Room Tip: upgrade for £12.00
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank graham24343732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    469
    801
    632
    418
    293
See reviews for
369
1,309
59
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (687)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Upon arriving at the Palace hotel my friend and I were taken aback at the entrance lobby, beautiful period ceilings and loads of leather sofas to relax in. Reception desk was manned by a very helpful young lady who told us all about dining arrangements and the hotel layout. We then went into our executive twin room to find it was anything but. Some of the fittings looked downright dangerous and the clashing furnishings required sunglasses, however, the view over the town was wonderful. We decided to pop down to reception and see if we ould change rooms for a supplement. We were offered one of the suites which was out of this world!!! Absolutely beautiful, yes it could do with a lick of paint here and there but it was huge, comfy and warm, we didnt want to go out again in the evening. We then went for a swim but unfortunately the boiler was broken and the water was freezing so we did a few very quick lengths and headed for the bar!! We would love to come to the Palace again but would book direct to ensure we got one of the better rooms. The staff were very helpful from begining to end and £4.50 for car parking is very reasonable.

Room Tip: Book direct and ask them if the room has been renovated, all rooms that we saw were spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holmefieldguesthouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Check in was depressing and dreadfully forced (as if reading from a script). The room was clean and the decor bright and cheerful, but the bathroom was almost bigger than the room itself. The tiny wardrobe was occupied by an ironing board. The lift occasionally worked and was great for mystery tours.

Don't get to breakfast towards the end of the advertised service time. Everything will have been eaten and the replenishment policy is to avoid replenishment.

Late evening bar service, though was very good, but prices are outrageous for this grade of hotel.

My wife mislaid a bracelet which she thought she had left in the hotel. They said they would ring back and only then would explain fees, postage costs, process etc. They never did call.

Room Tip: Rooms on floor three and a half stuck down the annex corridor are small
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank quandoquidem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2012

went for the weekend to catch up with old friends - lovely location and not too far to walk into town . hottel staff very welcoming especailly on reception and the bedrooms were airy and large - very warm and the bed very comfortable.
very pleasant buffet style breakfast - only downside was waiting staff very busy so had to wait for refills of tea and cofee and tables not cleared very quickly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincolnshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in October. Absolutely no way is this hotel 4 star standard! I dare say it once was, but it is now very tatty and dirty.
Dinner was very average, wine (red) freezing cold! Breakfast was good but also cold..on both mornings.
Some staff lovely, one in particular in the restaurant, very rude and so in the wrong job!!
Our room was small, which was fine but it was also very dirty and the bathroom was terrible, dirty and mouldy. It is a very big hotel and the rooms were very cold and drafty. I'm sure this hotel was lovely in its day as it is a beautiful building, it's such a shame it has been allowed to get into this state.
We paid with our tescos vouchers, £350 for dinner bed and breakfast for 2 nights, we have done this many times (obviously spend too much at tescos!) but never have we stayed in such a poor hotel for that price!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulesyLincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Buxton hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Theydon Bois, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Just had a 3 night break here with friends, Included in the price was breakfast and evening meal on 2 of the 3 nights.The meals on both evenings were very good, with a varied choice and very good presentation. Wine prices were very reasonable and coffee excellent. Our rooms although not huge were clean and tidy with good size T.V's.The leisure facilities are extensive and inclusive. The location of this hotel is very good, plenty of places to visit within a short distance and Buxton is an interesting, busy and varied town for shopping and dining. We visited Chatsworth house and bought the tickets at reception which offered a discount. Overall a very good stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

This is one of our favorite hotels and is in a great location for visiting the Peak District. It is a very 'grand' hotel but the staff are extremely friendly and the service is great. Try the restaurant if you have a chance and take advantage of the spa if staying for a few days.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jspencer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
0.2 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,041 reviews
17.8 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
378 reviews
15.2 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
8.0 mi away
Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace Hotel

Property: The Palace Hotel
Address: Palace Road, Buxton SK17 6AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Buxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victorian Palace Hotel sits in 5 acres of landscaped gardens in the spa town of Buxton. Ideally located for visiting Buxton Opera House and exploring the Peak District National Park, Britain's first National Park and one of the country's most popular walking destinations, this hotel has an imposing facade and opulent interior to provide an unforgettable backdrop for any occasion. With 122 bedrooms, including 12 premium rooms, a Health & Leisure club with swimming pool, gym and beauty rooms, and a restaurant using local ingredients to prepare British and Continental cuisine, it's the perfect spot for a country town retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel Buxton
Palace Buxton
Buxton Hotel Palace
Barcelo Buxton
Hotel Palace Buxton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing