We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and comfortable room”
Review of The Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Palace Hotel
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Buxton
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We booked into the Palace Hotel for a weekend whilst we were attendin a wedding in the area. On arrival we were upgraded to a suite and that was very much appreciated. The Hotel is very grand and the decor and furnishings fit into the period and style of the building.
The staff were always pleasant and helpful and the service in the restaurant was very good. The menu selection would suit all tastes and the food was well cooked and presented. We liked the layout of the restaurant as we didn't feel that people were in too close proximity and it was a comfortable place to dine.
The grounds around the hotel are splendid and a pleasure to walk around and take photos. The setting within the town and the views from the rooms were lovely and restful. We fully intend to return there and will be happy to stay in other Puma hotels in the future.

Room Tip: We booked a double room but were fortunate to be upgraded to a suite on arrival.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,057)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,766 - 2,772 of 3,057 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

The whole experiance at "The Palace" was v good, the staff superb breakfast excellent and my evening meal was excellent to. Beds were great ( im a bed retailer ) the brand use are a top bed company. Only thing that I would say needed a little more attention was the spa area. The resturant manageresse on duty 21/23 september was a joy great effciency and good humor just what is needed to make staying in hotels worth staying in.

Room Tip: go there and enjoy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Took my Mum as a treat and had Dinner Bed and Breakfast with Chatsworth tickets thrown in for £140.00. Was a bit worried after reading poor reviews but wanted to be near the theatre so took the risk. So glad we did.Loads of character and a really friendly welcome. Room was a good size and clean and our towels were made in to elephants!
Dinner was good and served promptly after we mentioned we had to be at the theatre for 7.30pm.Fire alarm went off at 4.30 in the morning so we had to evacuate for a while but everyone took it in good humour and it made for a very chatty breakfast in the morning.
The hotel is in a great location and yes if you look closely it is faded in parts but beats bland corporate hotels by miles.
Didnt use the leisure facilities so cant pass comment on them.And the best thing for me was that Mum loved it and it put a smile on her face after the recent death of my father. Grand hotel,pleasant staff,great location and good food. Very relaxing comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cathy636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

The palace is a grand hotel of the old style and keeping the building up to scratch must be a pig of a job, but they manage, apart from the lift which doesn't come when you want it and then goes to whichever other floor someone has called it from. Intensely annoying and it really needs a more modern control mechanism. But that's a detail, and they also have stairs..!

It's a big place with huge rooms and high ceilings and real character, so not the hotel for those who like homogenous, sanitised, box bedrooms. But for comfort, charm, space and a bit of old-fashioned style, the Palace is really good. Immensely friendly staff in all parts of the hotel really made our stay. Everyone from Reception to dining-room staff to chambermaids took a genuine interest in guests and their comfort. Brilliant. Bedrooms were comfortable, clean and well serviced. Table d'hote dinner very good, with very attentive service. Excellent breakfast buffet, kept topped up right to the very end of service. Leisure club a bonus - good sized pool, sauna etc.

Room Tip: Watch out for the church bell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prisoner-of-war
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

The Palace sits on an imposing hill in Buxton town centre.
Good bits-
Brilliant position and the hotel looks great from the outside.
Very nice elegant reception area with beautiful original Victorian decor and a gorgeous sweeping stair case.
Bad bits-
The bed rooms and the bathrooms urgently need redecorating.
I couldn't have the window open due to the noise from the extractor ( which never stopped even at night)
The hotel looks grubby generally - it needs a really good clean to bring it up to hotel standard
OK bit-
Breakfast was reasonable - good choice of food but rather lack lustre preparation and presentation.
Staff were ok - a bit grumpy and rather slow
Overall - go to the Palace if you see a cheap offer, and want to use Buxton as your base to explore the gorgeous countryside. Just don't expect 4* luxury - more like 3*

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SirPrunealot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

The hotel has a great location and looks quite imposing. It is very interesting inside with some lovely features. The guest rooms and corrodors are somewhat tired and the elevator is really geriatric. The beds were really comfortable. The staff are courteous and helpful and overall I thought our stay was enjoyable. Do not stay here if you are really picky but I quite enjoy the faded elegance of the place.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KenCountyDown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Really good hotel. We had BB&D all the food was very good. Service a bit slow on the sunday night for dinner, and monday morning breakfast which seemed to be caused by a shortage of staff. Thought the parking charge per night of £4.50 was excessive, but having said that the hotel staff & service was excellent. Would recommend it as the location is brilliant being right in the town. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeny h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
0.2 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,311 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Buxton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
The Westminster Hotel
17.8 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 2 in Matlock Bath
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace Hotel

Address: Palace Road, Buxton SK17 6AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Buxton
Price Range: $60 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victorian Palace Hotel sits in 5 acres of landscaped gardens in the spa town of Buxton. Ideally located for visiting Buxton Opera House and exploring the Peak District National Park, Britain's first National Park and one of the country's most popular walking destinations, this hotel has an imposing facade and opulent interior to provide an unforgettable backdrop for any occasion. With 122 bedrooms, including 12 premium rooms, a Health & Leisure club with swimming pool, gym and beauty rooms, and a restaurant using local ingredients to prepare British and Continental cuisine, it's the perfect spot for a country town retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel Buxton
Palace Buxton
Buxton Hotel Palace
Barcelo Buxton
Hotel Palace Buxton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing