We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Jug and Glass Inn
Ranked #16 of 39 Buxton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great weekend”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Couldn't fault the Jug and Glass Inn, a friendly welcome and clean, comfy rooms were just what was needed. Add the great food and ideal location made our stay perfect after a tough few weeks where all we needed was a relaxing break! Spot on!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mattjax126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    63
    15
    10
    3
See reviews for
32
85
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

stayed for one night last week and had a very comfortable stay.walked into hartington which takes about twenty minutes,the tissington trail is even nearer.the room was bright and clean and looked out over fields.had an evening meal at the pub where the portions were very generous and it was lovely homemade food.the pub is cosy and traditional.breakfast was great the next day and the owners wereso friendly and welcoming.spent the next day on a long walk around Ilam and Dovedale.perfect!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaynesslater45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Had a two-night stay here and the owners are welcoming, the food is excellent (several home-made vegetarian choices, unbelievable!), great ale, and rooms comfortable and clean. We hope to go back with our dogs one day. It's a great base, Chatsworth House and the village of Hartington definitely worth visiting.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buteo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowm
1 review
Reviewed April 1, 2013

What a surprise! Fabulous setting, cosy welcoming pub with lovely hosts and staff. The food was exceptional and brilliant value for money. The room was comfortable and very clean. We had a lovely weekend and would certainly chose this pub again when we return to Derbyshire. One of the best places we have ever stayed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glynis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norton Disney, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We had a one night stay with our two dogs. Our room was lovely, very clean & right next to the back door which was so convenient as my dog Pippa always needs to go to the toilet in the night.
We ate in the pub in the evening in the bar area where dogs were welcome. Very comfy with sofas. I'm vegetarian & I was so impressed with the vast menu I could choose from. Excellent food.
Would recommend highly

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vinetreelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

we stayed after christmas 1212 on a trip to see family wonderful food and atmosphere.friendly helpful staff, lovely family atmosphere. children catered for and warmly welcomed. all in all a very good experience

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gillo147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Popped in for a spot of lunch with my friend on a day out in Derbyshire.

I noticed instantly how clean the inn is, the bar, floor and table tops were all very clean <-- this is a big plus for me!!!!

the food we ordered (hunters chicken) was fabulous! tasty and the chips which i am guessing cut on site were so tasty!

The views are excellent and parking ample.

This place is a real gem!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rowan_de
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
1.6 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Buxton Hotel
1.4 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,054 reviews
8.0 mi away
Charles Cotton Hotel
Charles Cotton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hartington
878 reviews
13.8 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jug and Glass Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jug and Glass Inn

Property: The Jug and Glass Inn
Address: Ashbourne Road | Hartington, Buxton SK17 0BA, England (Formerly The Jug and Glass Inn)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Buxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Jug and Glass Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional service since the 17th century this small quintessential English Coaching Inn in the parish of Hartington atop the White Peak area of the National Park with views across the Derbyshire Dales. Stay in one of our nine modern comfortable centrally heated en suite rooms and dine in the old pub. Sleep, eat, drink and be merry with candlelight, wine and good food to refresh the mind and cheer your soul. Sit by a roasting fire on snowy winter days or walk in panoramic glory in every season. Perfectly central to the Park giving visitors a great overnight stay or a memorable holiday experience. Our partnership with local farmers, food producers and suppliers who share our values helps to sustain the social, environmental and economic fabric of the National Park for future generations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Jug and Glass Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jug And Glass Hotel Buxton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing