We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic pub food and welcoming owners!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Jug and Glass Inn
Ranked #16 of 39 Buxton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Derbyshire
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic pub food and welcoming owners!”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We turned up on a Sunday lunchtime...no need to book. The landlord was extremely welcoming and accommodated our 1 year old son happily.

The food was well worth the wait...hearty, delicious and home cooked. The roast dinner was very reasonably priced and well recommended!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kepderbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    63
    16
    10
    3
See reviews for
33
87
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marple, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

We just called on spec hadn't booked, no problem. 1.30 pm Sunday 23rd Dec. Got a drink, proper real ale, got a table and ordered meals which arrived before we'd finished our drinks.

Great service, fantastic food, very hot & plenty of it. Recommended by a couple of cold and hungry bikers.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Odefrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Just stayed at this pub with 2 other couples. We all had dogs with us and pub was definitely dog friendly. Rooms were very comfortable and tastefully decorated. Food was great quality and plenty of it. We were on a walking weekend so enjoyed the lovely bath in the rooms after a long days walk. This is a great place to stay and although its not in a village it doesn't matter because all you need is in the pub! This is the first review I've ever written but felt it deserved it.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Jyacinth59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

The Jug & Glass is a well kept inn about 5minutes drive from Hartington (a lovely little village with a couple of nice pubs) and 15 minutes from Buxton. By foot the road to Hartington isn't so pleasant but still possible.
The inn itself is very clean & tidy. The room was nicely furnished with plenty of room in the wardrobe for clothes and the view was splendid. There was plenty of tea and coffee in the room, replenished daily.
The bar and restaurant were cosy. I can't comment on the dinner as we ate elsewhere but the menu looked alright. Breakfast was nice and filling, although the sausages weren't to my taste.
Overall a very pleasant stay, reasonable value for money and fitted our needs perfectly.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asterix1622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

we stopped here for 2 nights on 2nd and 3rd Nov. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the food is excellent with a varied menu. The bedrooms are comfortable and plenty of space. It is within easy disatance of Matlock, Buxton, Ashbourne, Bakewell and many small surrounding vilages

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 643JAYJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Stayed here for one night as we were touring the Peak district. We had a king room that was very clean and fresh with plenty of tea and coffee. The bathroom made some strange noises but the towels were the largest and fluffiest that I have seen in a long time.

We ate in the pub which was nice and welcoming and had an extensive menu with very reasonable prices. It was steak night when we were there and the meat which is sourced locally was excellent. The desserts were very good too
.
Wifi was availible in the public areas but 21st century technology doesn't always marry well with 17th century buildings.

Breakfast was plentiful and freshly cooked - I hate buffet breakfasts! If you want cereal you will need to ask for it or maybe the landlord was just not an experienced waiter. He was also a man of few words unlike his wife who was very chatty. Overall a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: The king room was very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PrincessRobbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doncaster
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed at the jug and glass inn recently. We turned up at about 1pm, admittedly an hour before official check in the place looked deserted. There was a note on the door to say B & B guests needed to call a number, otherwise the bar and restaurant didnt open until six. We rang, no answer. So wandered off for a while and came back, and there was someone in then. We were shown to our room. The room was lovely, clean, although the bathroom did smell a little of stale water (and bit of mould round the bath), overall the cleanliness was good. There is no wi fi, and very little phone signal in the inn itself. So we occupied ourselves until 6pm, until the restaurant opened, and had a very nice meal and a drink. Be aware that the bar is only open until the owner decides, so could be in issue if you want a late drink!! We went back to our room and only had the tv for entertainment, we lost the signal to the tele about 8.30pm and struggled to get it back. Breakfast was very good. I think this place is ideal for walkers, and or a very quiet break, if your looking for anything else, maybe stay in one of the villages, because this place is in the middle of nowhere.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arkhan42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
1.4 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,733 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
1.3 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
9.4 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
9.4 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jug and Glass Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jug and Glass Inn

Property: The Jug and Glass Inn
Address: Ashbourne Road | Hartington, Buxton SK17 0BA, England (Formerly The Jug and Glass Inn)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Buxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional service since the 17th century this small quintessential English Coaching Inn in the parish of Hartington atop the White Peak area of the National Park with views across the Derbyshire Dales. Stay in one of our nine modern comfortable centrally heated en suite rooms and dine in the old pub. Sleep, eat, drink and be merry with candlelight, wine and good food to refresh the mind and cheer your soul. Sit by a roasting fire on snowy winter days or walk in panoramic glory in every season. Perfectly central to the Park giving visitors a great overnight stay or a memorable holiday experience. Our partnership with local farmers, food producers and suppliers who share our values helps to sustain the social, environmental and economic fabric of the National Park for future generations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Jug and Glass Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jug And Glass Hotel Buxton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing