We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Turning 40 & a 1/2”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Buxton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stoop Farm Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 40 Buxton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Holmfirth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Turning 40 & a 1/2”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

My wife booked us an overnight stay at the farm for my 40 & a 1/2 birthday. We were warmly greeted, although we were late arriving from our stated time of arrival & our room was still being serviced. We decided to go for a walk in the stunning local country side. We returned a few hours later & ventured up to our lodgings, the room was beautifully presented & has been done to a very high standard & the bed was so so so very comfy. The owners had thought of everything the welcome pack was full of places to go to eat, mapped out walks, & things to do locally. Breakfast was a delightful Derbyshire full breakfast, using local produce, farm fresh eggs & oat cakes.
Although only here a day we felt very refreshed & were given an exceptional visit, we will definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reaps72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    11
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
138
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Stoop Farm B&B for one night during our trip to the UK in October. We would definitely return and would absolutely recommend this B&B to anyone else traveling in the area!

I stumbled upon Stoop Farm as a very last resort. I was desperately trying to find accommodations in Buxton with no success. Another hotel had recommended that I check out Stoop Farm, and we are so glad that we did!

I'll admit, we were initially a little skeptical of a place called "Stoop Farm". The price is a little higher than I would expect for a rural B&B, but once you get there it is definitely worth the money. It is in the middle of nowhere, but surrounded by gorgeous scenery. We arrived and received a very warm welcome by Karen, our host. She showed us to our room and then prepared tea and cakes for us in the living room.

We stayed in the Hollins Hill Room. It truly is luxury accommodations - the room is HUGE! Very spacious, clean, quiet, comfortable, with gorgeous French decor. The bathroom alone was the size of some of our other hotel rooms that we had stayed in throughout our trip.

Breakfast was absolutely delicious.

We loved the location of the B&B. It is definitely only accessible by car. We found it quite easily using our GPS along with the map from the website. It is in the middle of nowhere, so you do need to drive about 20 minutes to access a restaurant. We went to one of the pubs recommended by Karen and it was excellent - I can't remember the name but I would highly recommend checking it out.

There are a few walks that you can take around the Stoop Farm property. Their property is gorgeous and complete with cows and sheep. We walked down to the bridge - at times it was a little treacherous with rocky areas and mud, but it was worth the walk.

We will definitely return if we are ever back in the Buxton area!

Room Tip: We would highly recommend the Hollins Hill Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolynCyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Stoop farm really is located off the beaten track and if you are looking to get into the heart of the peak district life this is perfect. We actually stayed here for a wedding in nearby Ashford so it was a great base to get around and also to neighbouring Bakewell which is an absolute must. This is a working farm so it was great to be so close to nature, be careful of the sheep and a badger we came across on the track if travelling back late at night! There is a great view point with table and chairs to sit out and just gaze at the amazing scenery; beautiful on a summers evening. I think a lot of people use this as a base for walking and riding although due to the nature of our stay we did not have time. We stayed in the hayloft room which is huge, with an enormous double bed, beautiful furnishings and an equally delightful bathroom with separate roll top bath. The family were extremely welcoming and the cooked breakfast's were delicious which you order the night before at the time you want it. There is also a bar with spirits, mixers and wine which can be used and paid for at the end of your stay. Really one of the best quality accommodation on offer in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoisNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston burbs
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

It doesn't get any better than this! We stayed 3 nights and I felt I'd been away for a week! So relaxing. Breakfast generous as well as delicious. Owners friendly and helpful but not obtrusive. Lulled to sleep by sheep basing. Close enough to Buxton that easy to eat there but seems quite isolated - real "away from it all" feel. Gorgeous walks right from the door. No Wi-Fi or cell coverage but that was a plus for me!!! Large soaking tub was a delight. Would be fun to go during lambing season with young children

Room Tip: Hollis Hill has amazing view and room is decorated in French style. Very romantic
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeachComber2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

Stoop farm was a perfect venue for our Peaks District visit. As Canadians visiting the area for the first time Karen's knowledge of the area was very helpful. Lovely walks are possible right from the farm gate. Accomodations and food are excellent. We enjoyed several teas and our own snacks on the patio overlooking peaks and valleys dotted with sheep. Highly recommended.
Sandra L

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

My wife and I were very lucky to be able to book a room at Stoop Farm at very short notice for a 'spur of the moment' short break. Nestling in the Peak District this family-run farmhouse offers superb clean and comfortable accommodation, a very warm welcome and immediate access to some excellent walking. A 'concession path' runs right through the farmyard giving instant access to some of the most splendid views in the Peak District (Hollins Hill, Chrome Hill and Parkhouse Hill). All this and you are only 10-15 minutes car journey from Buxton if you need shops or restaurants and the village of Longnor is also just a stone's throw away with a great cafe, a couple of pubs and a general store. Karen and her husband Bez make you feel right at home from the moment you arrive and this is definitely a place to which we will want to return soon. Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: The Hollins Hill View room has an excellent view of the surrounding countryside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

We had an unforgettable wedding at Stoop Farm a couple of weeks ago. Karen was great throughout, answering my many emails promptly and helped everything to run very smoothly. My bridal party stayed in the lovely rooms the night before and enjoyed a delicious home cooked breakfast in the morning. The views are amazing and make for great photographs. Everyone had a great day and several guests said it was the best wedding they had ever been to. Highly recommended as a guest house and wedding venue! :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eleanor257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
3.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
3.5 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,500 reviews
9.5 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Old Hall
Old Hall
#3 of 9 in Buxton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,000 reviews
2.8 mi away
Premier Inn Buxton Hotel
11.9 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoop Farm Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoop Farm Bed & Breakfast

Property: Stoop Farm Bed & Breakfast
Address: Hollinsclough, Buxton SK17 0RH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Buxton
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury farmhouse B&B situated in a very private and peaceful location in the heart of the Peak District. 2 ensuite double rooms, 1 ensuite double/twin room, all beautifully decorated and furnished. Many walks straight from the farm. Large breakfast menu with locally sourced ingredients. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing