We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful rural B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Buxton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stoop Farm Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 39 Buxton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 9, 2012

What a stunning location- we arrived at night so had a lovely surprise in the morning with the views from our room (hollins hill). It is rural but so worth it when you get there! If arriving later on might be worth taking a picnic- thats what we did for the first night!
Room was really tastefully done, comfy bed, lovely luxurious bath, with great selection of luxury toiletries.
Very yummy breakfasts both days- karens stewed fruit and homemade granola was well worth gettingout of bed for, also the cooked breakfast, eggs and smoked salmon and pancakes! We tried the lot! Proper thick-hand cut toast... yum!
We did the circular walk to longnor over chrome hill- not for the feint hearted despites us being relatively young and fit! Fortunately the pub in longnor was a good halfway house!
Karen really is lovely, very welcoming and helpful- can't fault her!
We ate at the packhorse inn in crewdicote on the saturday- we went a 6pm so was okay not to book but any later you definately would need to. Yummy food, and friendly staff, shame we were in a hurry!
If the weather is dry the hot tub is well worth a try- such a lovely experience+ I'v never seen so many stars!! even though it was chilly outside (october) we were nice and warm!
Overall- you MUST stay here! Just a shame we didnt have longer to explore the peaks- we will certainly be back!

PS- go to chatsworth- you need a whole day to explore fully! Is fab!

Room Tip: Hollins hill or the hayloft for the views
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ciara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (214)
There are newer reviews for Stoop Farm Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 215 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2012

Isolation. Dramatic views. Warm hospitality. Luxurious decor. Great food. Nice walks from the doorstep. Stoop Farm stole our heart when we first visited. We've returned 3 times now. If you need somewhere to stay in the north-west, especially for a romantic or quiet break, go there!

Room Tip: The Hayloft has fab wallpaper, snug rug and big old-fashioned bath. Lovely!
Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Just had a lovely weekend here for our anniversary - as the others have said it is a bit remote but well worth it when you get there. We stayed in Seven Room which was lovely - homemade cake on arrival - thank you. Great choices for breakfast; from full english to scrambled eggs and smoked salmon (even a box to ask for your own choice which Karen would try and accommodate!) We booked and ate at Royal Oak both nights - only about 15 mins away in car - great food (huge portions!). Would recommend Royal Oak or eating out before you go back to the farm. Would definitely go back. Thank you for a lovely weekend.

Room Tip: Seven Room didn't have a bath but a fantastic shower - think all rooms will be of same high qual...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElaineH76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

What a beautiful place. Room was lovely & the bathroom is as gorgeous as it looks. Breakfast just perfect.

Do plan your evening meals, so book if you can. If your already out eat before you return to the farm. The farm is away from town and nearby pubs do get busy.

My husband & I will definately be returning.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bri01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

My wife and i stayed for one night with Karen and Paul it was our first wedding anniversary and we couldnt have asked to have stayed at a more wonderful guest house.
Paul and Karen couldn have been kinder and more pleasant in a natural way , they both make you feel so at home and at ease , paul was amazing to talk to and even though extremely busy still gave us his time .
It is remote but that adds to the enjoyment no traffic noise just the sound of nature.The food in the morning was fantastic and was more than ample , also the room(we stayed in the hayloft) was really something else beautifuly clean bedding and the bed were the best my wife and i have ever slept in .
The farm is ideal if you want to walk and enjoy the beautiful scenery , these people work hard for the enjoyment of others , i WILL be going back and i hope in the very near future,,,,,, thankyou Karen and Paul you really made our night very special

Room Tip: the hayloft a fantastic room
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nellyg186378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Had twelve phenomenal hours at this gorgeous place, yes it's very remote but well worth it for the views, room, food and Karen's hospitality! Stayed in hollins hill room which was gorgeous, loved the Arran aromatic toiletries and slipper bath was a delight ! Bed was mega comfy, lovely to have homemade cake and Fresh Taylor's coffee in the room and breakfast was amazing, beautifully cooked! Thank you Karen , a perfect parental retreat!

Room Tip: Eat on the way, you won't want to leave when your there!
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aligater868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

lovely rooms - lovely bath tub for relaxing with a view! lovely breakfast with quality ingredients including their own eggs!

Cant fault the place - you must go (the only thing you need to be aware of is that it is quite remote - that was fine for us we didnt mind but didnt quite realise at the time and it might not be everyones cup of tea. OR you might want to get away from it all - in that case it is an excellent location) We went to a village pub a couple of miles away for our evening meal- i think it was called the pack horse - looks nothing from the outside but the food is devine and characterful inside. There are other options for pubs but I think we chose well.

loved it - would go back. thank you stoop farm.!

Room Tip: they all looked good and spacious
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank globetrottersuk100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
4.4 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
4.3 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,819 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Premier Inn Buxton Hotel
9.9 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
394 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Queen's Head Hotel
The Queen's Head Hotel
#8 of 39 in Buxton
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoop Farm Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoop Farm Bed & Breakfast

Address: Hollinsclough, Buxton SK17 0RH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Buxton
Price Range: $128 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury farmhouse B&B situated in a very private and peaceful location in the heart of the Peak District. 2 ensuite double rooms, 1 ensuite double/twin room, all beautifully decorated and furnished. Many walks straight from the farm. Large breakfast menu with locally sourced ingredients. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing