We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect cottage, facilities and location”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
9 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Buxton, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
kronenber...
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice location - shame about the noise”
Reviewed February 19, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage was OK. Everything worked. Apart from the bed, which was uncomfortable, couldn't really complain about the actual cottage. Little things were missing, which looking at previous reviews, had been provided in the past.
The BIG problem was the sound proofing between ourselves and upstairs. They were loud (music and dog's barking). We booked the cottage for a peaceful weekend away, which we did not get. If you can tolerate what sounds like a herd of elephants moving around above, then this cottage will suit you.

Date of stay: February 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skintmuso
Stowmarket
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect cottage, facilities and location”
Reviewed June 24, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

The Nest is situated with a couple of other holiday cottages in a converted barn in a friendly farm in a small hamlet very near to Buxton.

The location is perfect - although you will need a car! The surroundings are very calm and tranquil and it is a lovely place to be.

The Cottage itself is a one room studio, but the way it is laid out doesn't make it feel like that at all. There is plenty of space, and it has been utilised very well. The fixtures were clean, and there were some extras provided upon my arrival (milk, biscuits and a bottle of wine) which were much appreciated after a long drive. The cooking facilites are very good and there are plenty of utensils, plates, pans etc. The bathroom is a good size and, again, nice and clean.

The managers are friendly and there are even a few animals on hand who are keen to greet - in particular a lovely collie who ran over to greet me as I got out of my car one day.

There is easy access by road to the Peaks, and the many various touristy places - Chatsworth, Peak Rail, and so many more - plus major cities like Derby, Manchester and Sheffield not too far away either.

I will definitely make a return visit to The Nest, or one of the other Cottages at Cowdale Hall. Thank you so much for a very pleasant stay.

Date of stay: June 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The little extras on arrival were so appreciated.
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northamptonshire
Reviewed November 3, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

Date of stay: August 2012
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Seaton Carew, Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 19, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

Date of stay: September 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cottage was lovely and cosy
Liked least: nothing not to like
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Oswestry
Reviewed September 16, 2011 for a stay in July 2011

Date of stay: July 2011
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Newcastle
Reviewed December 18, 2009 for a stay in April 2009

Date of stay: April 2009
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Liked best: All of it
Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing