We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food at Flamenco”
Review of Flamenco Tapas Bar

Flamenco Tapas Bar
Ranked #49 of 112 Restaurants in Buxton
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
Haworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great food at Flamenco”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

A party of 15 of us went for a meal at Flamenco. Ages ranged from under 10 to over 70. We ordered a number of set meals and the food just kept on coming and it was all great. The food catered for all of us very well including someone with allergies and some vegetarians. The only slight issue was with how long the food took to start arriving. This may have in part been a bit of a mix up so it is only a slight issue. Recommended and we will go back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jackharrybill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    49
    20
    12
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hell, Norway
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Ideal Pre-Theatre Restaurant”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

This place opens early so is ideal if you want a quick meal before the theatre. It has a vast array of tapas to choose from and is suprisingly good for vegetarians (more choice than in Spain). The food was tasty and filling and as you would expect from the prices, not haute cuisine. Those reviewers expecting freshly prepared food should expect higher prices and a much longer wait. I would go again if in Buxton.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Summerhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great pre show dinner.”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We visited this restaurant a few weeks ago. Food was really good, staff attentive and friendly. Owner really made us feel at home and was very helpful with his recommendations. Freshest sangria you can get, made at the bar straight to our table. We had a mixture of tapas and they had no problem knocking us up the paella to share. Will definitely visit again next time we're in Buxton.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Addie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Disappointed”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Im not a fussy eater but the food was of a very poor standard. We arrived when the restaurant had just opened for evening service so i expected the food to be fresh but it tased re-heated. The rice from the Paella was stuck together, the garlic mushrooms smelt like discusting - so much so that it put me off my meal. I have to go as far as to say it was one of the worse meals i've ever had.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lotty1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Perfect place for pre-show dinner”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We visited Buxton to see a show at the Opera House. I had done some research beforehand on where to park and where to eat. I decided on Flamencos due to its good reviews and good location; a 5 minute walk to The Opera House. The tapas menu was large and varied; the food itself was really good; fresh and interesting. The service was very friendly and efficient. The place itself is very nicely decorated with some panache; great groovy music helps it all along. All in all I really enjoyed our meal there and would not hesitate to go back. I have no idea why people are giving this place bad reviews; maybe they prefer 2 for £10 carveries? I have eaten in many places in many countries around the world and you really cannot beat this for an uncomplicated, satisfying, fresh tasting dinner. We would quite easily go back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank philhealing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flamenco Tapas Bar also viewed

 
Buxton, Derbyshire
 

Been to Flamenco Tapas Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing