We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Buxton Opera House-Great Theatre”
Review of Buxton Opera House

Buxton Opera House
Ranked #3 of 33 things to do in Buxton
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Bristol
Level Contributor
82 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Buxton Opera House-Great Theatre”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We were visiting the area for a few nights and Buxton was on our list to visit,having found a parking place, there are very many at decent prices, we took a walk around, having found the Opera House we decided to purchase tickets to see Jasper Carrot.
The interior is wonderful and with the Theatre being smaller than we have been used to we really did enjoy the surroundings.
A building that Buxton are rightly proud of and if you have a chance to take a view inside, do so, you will be so pleased

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank bispu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

823 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    571
    213
    21
    11
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Lovely Theatre”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Beautiful old theatre where we watched the wonderful Birmingham Royal Ballet. Friendly staff. Small seats so don't go if you are a big person!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank alisonholder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope Valley
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic little theatre!”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

A place to visit. Great location, amazing interior. Old world service, and I mean that as a compliment.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank ChrisG G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Behind the scenes”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Wow what a wonderful building, we were privaleged to have a tour behind the scenes, under the stage. It was interesting to see the dumb waiters in the ladies toilets, as years ago ladies were not allowed in the bars so their drinks were put in the dumb waiters.

Book in to see whatever is playing well worth a visit, the decor is superb.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank morsequay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
middlesbrough
Level Contributor
469 reviews
193 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
“Worth a look in the interior”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We were due to visit this place twice in our stay but on the first night the preformance was cancelled (at short notice). The manager apologised as we got there and a refund was given.
The next night for some reason we were left queueing a corridor before we entered the auditorium which alot of us found frustrating. It was only a few minutes before the preformance when we were allowed to enter. In addition the stall bar is not clearly labelled so I feel they may be missing out on business. Ice creams for the interval as in all theatres was expensive. Beautiful decor in the main area and gives a feeling of real opulance

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank helstravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buxton Opera House also viewed

 
Buxton, Derbyshire
 

Been to Buxton Opera House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing