We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stay for friends birthday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Netherdale Guest House
Ranked #11 of 39 Buxton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stayed on Friday night with a group of friends to celebrate a birthday. We arrived and was shown to our room which was described as a double but the bed was not a double. The room was very small and the shower was good but the cubicle was also small, also the shelf in the bathroom was above the toilet so nowhere to put your toothbrush etc. Two tea bags were provided along with earl Grey and coffee neither of which I drink, so after a cuppa on arrival I had nothing to drink until breakfast next morning. You have to fill in a form for breakfast and I put beans for my husband which meant he got only one rasher of bacon. The breakfast was nicely cooked but very minimalist for a full English, though cereal etc was on offer. Overall a reasonable stay although I felt a little claustrophobic in the room,and the breakfast could have been a bit larger, we paid £60 for the night which I thought was a little expensive for a b&b and a small room, won't be going back.

Room Tip: Don't have room 2 the others seemed much bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kazzykSouthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 100 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2012

We only had 1 night in Buxton and we were keen to have a comfortable B&B, we were not disappointed! Netherdale was comfortable, welcoming, clean and just what we hoped for. The room had everything we could have wished for, the bed was so comfortable, tea & coffee facilities were very welcome, clean, soft towels and flannels. We were on the third floor, very quiet, we slept very well. breakfast was lovely with so much choice. Great hosts who directed us to a good pub for our evening meal. Thank you very much

Room Tip: We had an ensuite room on the 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jhuman700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I have just stayed for 5 nights at Netherdale Guest House, and I would highly recommend it. It is well located for the town centre, on a leafy quiet road. The room was clean, warm, comfortable and well provisioned. The towels and bedding were spotless and the bed comfortable, with nice en-suite. It was one of the best breakfasts I've ever had, with good choice and it was cooked to order. Staff were friendly and exceptionally helpful. I highly recommend this as a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

After spending a night in pub accommodation, this was such a revelation. The two bedrooms we had were very quiet, spacious and bathrooms very roomy, and all bedding and bathrooms spotless, could find nothing wrong. A very welcoming host and breakfast was really good, very attentive staff and nothing too much trouble. The whole guest house showed such attention to detail. It was an absolute pleasure to stay there and would recommend it without question.
Pam, Dori and Chris

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

After staying two nights in an appalling 4 star hotel hotel in Wales it was a joy to find a comfortable and above all clean place to stay the night. We slept very well and the breakfast was good although the croissants were very solid and heavy going. The owner was a bit unsmiling when we arrived but very pleasant the next morning. The owners have made lots of improvements since they arrived I'm told, but the electric shower in my top floor room should be pensioned off - had to wait ages for it to adjust temperature and after that it was just a trickle. Despite this we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glycine101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Just got back from staying here for 2 nights in the twin bedded room with my daughter. Trevor and family were very welcoming. The room was spotlessly clean, beds extremely comfortable and the room had an excellent power shower! A lovely touch was the fresh milk on every landing in a jug in a mini fridge outside the door to make a nice proper tasting cup of tea just like at home. The breakfast was excellent, freshly cooked to order and beautifully presented. We felt really relaxed and comfortable throughout our stay, looking forward to staying again, highly recommended, would not stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

We stayed in the 'family room' - 2 singles and a double bed.
A lovely place with very comfy clean beds, the room was well laid out, clean and welcoming. The bathroom really clean, puts ours to shame :-(.
The breakfast was delicious, well cooked, as well as a choice of cold alternatives.
Overall had a very nice, comfortable stay, the owners were very welcoming and ensured our stay was untroubled , would definitely recommend !

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FireNWood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buxton hotels
0.6 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,937 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,203 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Buckingham Hotel
Buckingham Hotel
#7 of 9 in Buxton
580 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Queen's Head Hotel
The Queen's Head Hotel
#7 of 39 in Buxton
184 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Old Manse Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Netherdale Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Netherdale Guest House

Address: 16 Green Lane, Buxton SK17 9DP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Buxton
Price Range: $102 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Netherdale Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing