We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”
Review of Hawthorn Farm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hawthorn Farm
Ranked #3 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Buxton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 9, 2014

6 of us (3 couples) rented Lavender Cottage for a 3 night break over the New Year. The cottage is lovely - well equipped and very comfortable. The owners were lovely, friendly people. The little extra's were great - fresh home baked cakes on our arrival - everything for full English breakfast for our first morning plus home made fresh bread delivered to the doorstep on our first morning. It is well placed for a walk into Buxton. We didn't leave the cottage for the whole of New Years day as the weather was awful - but we didn't mind - we spent the day 'chilling' in the lovely cottage, watching DVD's and playing board games (all provided in the cottage). We couldn't fault it at all. Thank you for a fabulous stay and hope to go back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helenann56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 95 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

When we arrived we were a little worried to what we had booked. It place looked run down, however when I rang the door bell to check we had arrived to the right place I was greeted by a warm & friendly lady. We were shown to our room & very quickly offered fresh milk so we could make a well wanted cup of tea. We settled into our room & due to the fact we had an early start (Uni graduation) & had driven for hours we watched tv & slept very well as the beds were soo comfey.

Breakfast was filling & lots of it. We were offered as much as we wanted.

The owners were very friendly & accommodating. I'm just embarrassed that I initially thought OMG.

Thank you for a lovely stay.

Stayed: November 2013
1  Thank mardge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Stayed here for just under a week while my daughter was settling in at the nearby college. I stayed in the dog friendly room (with my dog) and was made to feel very welcome. Nothing was too much trouble and the breakfast was second to none. Some of the furnishings were maybe a tad dated but it did not matter in the least as the other things far out weighed this.Would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We needed to attend a Wedding at Hargate Hall and was very pleased with our choice of B&B. Clean, homely and very good value for money. Feel a little guilty that we couldn't eat all the wonderful full English the next morning, but this was due to our monumental hangovers, rather than the food !! Michael even gave us a lift up to Hargate Hall the next morning to collect the car. Highly recommend Hawthorn Farm.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed over the August Bank Holiday to attend a wedding 15 minutes drive away, with other guests and had a fantastic time.
The breakfasts were very good and Michael & Fiona were very accommodating to help make our stay very enjoyable. We will return as ordinary tourists in the near future, having found this little gem.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andrew d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

The owners was very friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble and the breakfast was excellent and satisfying. The rooms were clean and comfortable. We would definitely recommend Hawthorn Farm.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chellabell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We had a 3 night stay in this cozy, quiet property. Buxton is a great town to explore the Peak District, and Hawthorn Farm is the perfect place to stay. The attentive service that Michael and Fiona provided us was amazing. They had tea on the table for us minutes after we walked in on a blustery day. The breakfasts were wonderful, the beds comfortable and the location was an easy walk from the train station and town center. The guest rooms are the old farm stalls so internet service in the rooms is not available, but the breakfast room in the main house provided us with a good signal.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank iafamilytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buxton hotels
0.8 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
1 mi away
Premier Inn Buxton Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,232 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Westminster Hotel
1.5 mi away
Staden Grange
Staden Grange
#5 of 20 in Buxton
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Farm

Address: Hawthorn Farm Cottage Fairfield Road | Fairfield Road, Buxton SK17 7ED, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Buxton
Price Range: $99 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawthorn Farm 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Hawthorn Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing