We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the best B&B in the UK”
Review of Corbar Bank

Corbar Bank
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Buxton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Corbar Bank
Ranked #25 of 39 Buxton B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 10, 2010

Superb experience which more than met any expectation we had. Large airy accomodation which had everything you could possibly need. Your own privacy with a kitchen to boot, if you want to cook. I would reccomend this to any one going to Buxton or the surrounding area and will be using this place again, if we can get in.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank derekgourlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (49)
There are newer reviews for Corbar Bank
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 49 of 49 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2010

Tess and Buster have created a wonderful hideaway here in Buxton. The room is enormous (it seems to be one side of the house!) and is equipped with anything and everything you could ever need (without being cluttered!). There are lovely little touches- such as fresh brownies left out for us! Breakfast was amazing and my only regret was that we didn't stay longer. Avoid the hotel chains and treat yourself to some hidden luxury!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christianandjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2009

My husband and I stayed at Corbar Bank over the Easter weekend. We think it is one of the best places we have stayed in the UK. It has the best of both worlds - the privacy of your own place (with added benefit of a fully equipped kitchen) with its own entrance, but with all the amenities of a B&B (cooked breakfast if you want, guidebooks & maps to borrow). But it was the small touches that made it extra special. A home made cake, fruit & bottle of wine when we arrived; picnic hamper to use, and Teresa & Buster's friendliness and knowledge and recommendations of the town and surrounding area. If we go back to Buxton this is where we'll be staying.
The only (very very minor) downside would be if you don't like walking up hills as Buxton is quite hilly. So if you walk down to the town centre from Corbar bank, you have to walk back up!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJoshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2008

This was definately the nicest place we've ever stayed in- the room had everything we needed- more than our house has! Everything was spotless and decorated beautifully. Teresa and Buster were lovely and welcoming- cracking cups of coffee! would definately love to stay again and would recommend to anyone wanting a bit of luxury in beautiful surroundings.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bethandant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2008

one of the best B&Bs we have stayed in, more of an aprtment with breakfast.

But the best thing was the care and attention of the owners. From the most spectacular breakfast, to photcopying walking maps for us and generally just being warm and welcoming.

Tess and her family deserve high priase and every sucess for the oasis they have created in Buxton

This TripAdvisor Member:
Liked — Everything
Disliked — Nothing!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sammyfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2008

In some ways I dont want to write this review for fear that others will find Corbar Bank and it will then become booked forever, as believe me, once you have stayed here nothing else will compare.

The room is simply stunning, so well done, the website simply doesnt do it justice. There are numerous "goodies" to make your feel welcome in the room from home baked cakes, fresh coffee and even a bottle of wine in the fridge!

Its not really a B&B as you get a lounge and kitchen which is equipted with everything you need.

But the best thing was the care and attention of the owners. From the most spectacular breakfast, to photcopying walking maps for us and generally just being warm and welcoming.

We have stayed in a lot of nice places, including top hotels, but this is now our favourite place.

Our only regret was that we couldnt stay longer, and we are now busy organising our next visit.

Tess and her family deserve high priase and every sucess for the oasis they have created in Buxton

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank D'Ringo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buxton hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,803 reviews
0.8 mi away
Compton Guest House
Compton Guest House
#12 of 39 in Buxton
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Queen's Head Hotel
The Queen's Head Hotel
#5 of 39 in Buxton
179 reviews
0.7 mi away
Griff House Bed & Breakfast
0.8 mi away
Netherdale Guest House
Netherdale Guest House
#11 of 39 in Buxton
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corbar Bank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corbar Bank

Address: 20 Corbar Road, Buxton SK17 6RQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Buxton
Price Range: $61 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our idea for this type of accommodation came from staying in great B and Bs, but not always having wanted to go out for lunch or dinner or being tied into having breakfast every day. So, we provide our guests with a luxurious and spacious apartment with all the personal touches and attention to detail that you would expect in a luxury B and B with a choice to self cater if you chose. As our accommodation is on the first floor, access for disabled visitors may be difficult but please discuss your accessibility needs with us and we will do our very best to assist you. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing