We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“like the tardis but better!”
Review of Corbar Bank

Corbar Bank
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Buxton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Corbar Bank
Ranked #23 of 39 Buxton B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 3, 2011

we've stayed twice in this amazing b&b. the first time with our 8 year old daughter and the second time as a couple. Its in a perfect location a short walk to town but in a quiet pretty residential area. The accommodation is spacious, 3 rooms in one with a trendy ensuite. The kitchen has everything you might need and everything is decorated to perfection with an eye for detail and comfort. I would recommend a visit to the devonshire spa which is great value for money and has amazing treatments or for the more energetic there are lots of beautiful walks or you can go and climb in the trees at Go Ape. defiantly a place to be recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miss-njh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (49)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 49 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2011

What a wonderful place, the apartment is fantastic. The decor is of a very high standard and all your needs are catered for. The owners are very friendly, the home made biscuits are delicious. We enjoyed a show at the Opera House just down the road on Friday and a lovely meal at Nat's on the Saturday, as well as walks in the area during the day. Superb location close to shops, theatre, restaurants and pubs. Look forward to visiting again and can highly recommend Corbar as an excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TinaMcG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2011

Stayed just the one night for a gig at the Opera House. First class room and welcome, everything was perfect. Its normal to find something that is not quite right but not the case here! We really enjoyed our stay. Thanks so much.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tombanellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2011

Stayed here overnight with my young daughter who was performing at the Opera House. The stay went off to a very good start with the plate of home made cup cakes left out for us. (Had to stop daughter from scoffing the lot!)

Corbar Bank is very convenient for the Opera House, it is up a steep hill but is about a 10 min walk from the town centre.

The room is really more of a self contained apartment than a B & B. It was huge! There is a fully equipped kitchen area and the place is spotless with modern decor. My daughter thought it was the height of luxury, she felt really special.

As we were only staying for one night (and there had been a guest the previous night) we shared the double bed rather than having a temporary bed put up (nice for little girl to sleep with Mummy for once) but nothing was too much trouble.

We didn't have much leisure time but there was information and maps on things to do etc, we were even offered a lift down to the theatre.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ItsAMusical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2010

As a surprise for my fiances 30th birthday i booked a 3 night stay at Corbar Bank over the August bank holiday weekend. The whole stay was fantastic. Tess and Buster were amazing, 2 of the nicest people we have ever met. The accommodation was superb, we were taken aback when we walked in, it was incredible, and so much better than a hotel room. With own kitchen, living area, bedroom area, and bathroom, it was great, plenty of space, and the convenience of being able to cook or get a take away and have everything you need, just like home from home. It was great. We loved every minute of our stay, and are definatley thinking of returning either later this year if we can fit it in, or early next year if not. Tess and Buster, thank you so much for everything, you really were so kind to us, i have to say i have tried making the chocolate brownies from the recipe you gave me, and they were nice but didn't come close to yours.
10 out of 10 on everything for the accommodation.
Buxton also is a lovely place, we were so pleased that we stayed here, we were close to everything that we wanted to see and do, and it was great. I definately recommend Dovedale to anyone staying in the area, an amazing day out. We shall definately be back :-)

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ILOVETA71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2010

A friendly, clean , well equipped appartment with exceptional service from the owners. It is located on the edge of the town, minutes walk from the centre and near to Corbar woods/hill...we heard Tawny Owls. A thoroughly relaxing and pleasant stay...we look forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob190736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2010

Having got tickets for the Festival and then drawn several blanks looking for accommodation, including one place which told us rather rudely that we would certainly not find any, we fell on our feet with this b&b - or it can be just b, which was what we went for. The really thoughtful and friendly proprietors have set up a delightful studio flat which has everything you could want and is really comfortable - they also provide lots of goodies, cakes, fruit etc and even a loan of umbrellas which proved to be a godsend! What's more, without being asked they sent on afterwards a stray item left behind. I can't recommend this place too highly, and will certainly aim to stay there again on subsequent visits.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank general_ludd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buxton hotels
0.2 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
3,057 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
4 mi away
Hargate Hall
Hargate Hall
#1 of 1 in Wormhill
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Buxton Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,311 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Westminster Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corbar Bank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corbar Bank

Address: 20 Corbar Road, Buxton SK17 6RQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Buxton
Price Range: $63 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our idea for this type of accommodation came from staying in great B and Bs, but not always having wanted to go out for lunch or dinner or being tied into having breakfast every day. So, we provide our guests with a luxurious and spacious apartment with all the personal touches and attention to detail that you would expect in a luxury B and B with a choice to self cater if you chose. As our accommodation is on the first floor, access for disabled visitors may be difficult but please discuss your accessibility needs with us and we will do our very best to assist you. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing