We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A well appointed flat in a central location”
other travelers have booked this property
Living room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living room
Bedroom Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
25 reviews
Living room
Bedroom
Bedroom
Patio
Garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Hay-on-Wye, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Douglas H
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A well appointed flat in a central location”
Reviewed May 17, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

The Appartment is very appointed and located by the river and close to the town centre. It would provide an excellent base for a visit to Hay and surrounding country. The only possible downside is the parking which is a few hundred yards away in an unsecured though free location. In the event we experienced no problem.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 19, 2017
Thank you for your lovely review and we're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Best wishes - Johnny & Catherine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheryllou...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“It's one of the best places we've ever stayed!”
Reviewed April 30, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

The Riverside Basement Apartment was excellent! It's one of the best places we've ever stayed and ideal for a short break in Hay. The contemporary apartment is well designed with a lounge and kitchen area, bathroom and very spacious bedroom. The bed is huge and so comfy! The underfloor heating and additional heaters made it warm and snug and it was great to look out on the river garden. Johnny and Catherine were excellent hosts. We were left to enjoy our stay, whilst they offered help should we need it. I highly recommend this apartment.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 3, 2017
Wow, such as lovely review, thank so much. We're so pleased you enjoyed the apartment and Hay and hope you'll come back again soon, you'd be very welcome.
Best wishes, Johnny & Catherine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Apr 27, 2017
Many thanks for your kind comments and we're delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We hope you'll come back and visit us again.
Best wishes - Johnny & Catherine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
KevinLawr...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice cosy touches,busy main road”
Reviewed April 15, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Lovely hosts, very clean, cosy and well equipped basement flat. Great location in town centre and on riverbank.

Lack of parking and location on a busy main road lets this place down in my view, felt very exposed with people looking into windows and owners being directly above. Not the best for a romantic weekend for two but great as a base for exploring Hay-on-Wye.

Owners left tea, coffee and milk for us which was a nice touch.

Funky caravan type kitchen which was cute but frustrating when trying to prepare food in a cramped area which might not suit a longer stay over 3/4 days.

Would recommend it but wouldn't stay again ourselves as we thought we had better value from previous cottages at lower cost in more picturesque locations (i.e not on a main road).

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 17, 2017
Thank you for your kind comments but we're sorry that the apartment didn't meet your expectations.
Best wishes - Johnny & Catherine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margret C
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A little gem....”
Reviewed March 27, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We have just had a long weekend stay at this beautiful, quirky, basement apartment, firstly we we're warmly greeted by Johnny and given a tour of the apartment, it was spotlessly clean & warm, very light and airy feel and cleverly converted, the bed was super comfy.... with good quality bed linen, lots of storage,and the kitchenette was very functional for our short break,and we had everything we needed for light meals....you are just a couple of minutes walk into the centre of Hay, where you will find a good collection of individual...interesting, shops.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 29, 2017
Thank you so much for your lovely review. It's always great to hear when folks have enjoyed their stay and we hope we'll see you again in the future.
Best wishes - Johnny & Catherine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqui R
Carmarthenshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cosy,comfortable hideaway”
Reviewed February 14, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We had 2 nights in this lovely little apartment very near the town, 5 minutes walk and near the river. This cosy apartment has everything you need for a few days stay, a lovely big comfortable bed, good size lounge/kitchen/diner, and a garden to sit out on in nice weather. It was lovely in Feb so probably even lovelier in the warmer weather. We will return and take advantage of the walks in the summer. Lovely to be so close to the town which has wonderful quirky shops and gorgeous places to eat. Booths bookshop is an absolute must, you could spend the day in there? Also their lovely 48 seat cinema with great films to see is a must.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 16, 2017
Thank you for your lovely review. We're so pleased you enjoyed both the apartment and Hay and look forward to seeing you again in the sun!
Best wishes - Johnny & Catherine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
locostmik...
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lovely, well placed base to explore Hay”
Reviewed November 15, 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We let Johnny know we'd arrive late and he greeted us with a smile and helpful advice. Well appointed, clean accommodation that was well positioned for exploring Hay. We look forward to visiting again soon

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Host/room
Liked least: Chilly bathroom floor, I forgot my slippers!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 17, 2016
Hi Mike
Many thanks for your review. It's always appreciated when guests take the time to let us and others know that they enjoyed their stay. We hope to see you again soon.
Best wishes - Johnny & Catherine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing