We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“There's Lovely !!!”
other travelers have booked this property
Front
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
Front
Garden
Garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Hay-on-Wye, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Julie R
1 review
“There's Lovely !!!”
Reviewed September 21, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

What a lovely little cottage.extremely clean and comfortable. Just returned after three lovely days in Hay on Wye..
Couldn't have picked a better place to stay. Adele had thought of everything even a vase of fresh flowers.
The cottage was within a few minutes from main street pub across the road for a nice meal .We won't have any hesitation in recommending this lovely cottage to all our family and friends and woul definitely stay again.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sian J
1 review
“What a delight!”
Reviewed September 21, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

A fabulous well-appointed little cottage. Cosy and comfortable. Every luxury considered and ideally placed within easy walking distance of Hay-on-Wye. We had a wonderful anniversary weekend. Bed very comfortable and we loved the log-burner. We will definitely return. Thank you Adele!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian...
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The only reason we can think of not to recommend Ty Bychan is to keep it for ourselves.”
Reviewed April 1, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

If you want to enjoy Hay-on-Wye it's hard to imagine a better place to stay than Ty Bychan. It is a cottage that had everything we needed plus a bit more, it's near all the many attractions of Hay-on-Wye, and we were able to relax and make the most of every minute of our stay.

The cottage was clean and well-maintained, well-furnished, and comfortable. We felt right at home as soon as we went in. The owners obviously put serious thought into how to make the best use of the space so it feels neither lacking in anything necessary nor cluttered.

It's located so close to the town that we could walk to the shops for groceries and any necessities. (Don't miss the locally sourced food!) That meant we also had plenty of time to visit the bookstores, shop, enjoy the cafés, go hiking, or just laze about as we wished. We could even take time to chat with some of the friendly shop keepers.

If you've ever stayed in similar properties that smelled damp or that needed a good scrub, or in properties that felt dark and moody, Ty Bychan is a pleasant surprise. It's a welcoming sort of place: clean, well cared for, bright, and cheerful.

A small point: I prefer showers, my wife prefers baths. The bathroom only has a (very good) shower. It really is a small niggle next to all the advantages of staying in Ty Bychan, but for anyone who really hates showers, well, now you know.

All in all, Ty Bychan is a GREAT place to stay to make the most of Hay-on-Wye and all its special features.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: NOT having to eat someone else's idea of breakfast, on their schedule
Liked least: Not having a bathtub as well as a shower
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sue l
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“cosiest cottage i have been in, so clean with everything you need for a great break.”
Reviewed November 23, 2015 for a stay in November 2015
2
people found this review helpful

I really loved this cottage with its log burner in the lounge, so warm and cosy. Bedroom was lovely and relaxing and the bathroom with shower was great. The kitchen had everything that was needed to make your break complete, brilliant cottage with equally brilliant owners, nothing was any trouble for adele and communications were first class. I could not find one single bad thing to say about Ty-Bychan because it was so perfect, bags of original features that made the cottage a pleasure to stay in, you just have to go and stay in this cottage. A visitors book is there with everything you need to know about using the appliances in the cottage and lots of leaflets on the table at top of stairs for places to go and see. Cottage is located in walking distance of local shops and of course the many book shops and pubs with food. Will be booking this cottage again, excellent all round. ***** 5 star in my opinion.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, cleanliness and the cottage was so cosy and warm.
Liked least: i could not find anything that i did not like
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J M
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage”
Reviewed November 16, 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned from a wonderful weekend in this lovely little cottage. Just down the hill from the book shops and pubs with free parking just a minute away. Everything we needed was in the cottage including a scuttle of coal and a basket of wood that we happily used as the weather was not nice outside. But who cared if it was raining and blowing a hooley outside it was lovely and cosy inside. The bed was huge and so very comfortable. If you want a romantic weekend away go for this place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Couldn't get sound on the DVD player but that could have just been us not working in properly
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillian M
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A lovely peaceful cottage in the heart of the village”
Reviewed November 10, 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely relaxing weekend in a cosy comfortable cottage. Just a two minute walk from the centre of Haye, It could not have been better. Highly recommended.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon J
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely little Cottage.”
Reviewed September 1, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Ideal location in the Town of Books and don't forget the Pub's and Restaurants. Lovely little Cottage. What we Liked best about the Cottage was So clean, tidy and well equipped.
We took our little dog up onto Hay Bluff, visited lots of Book shops and the odd Pub or two.
We would stay again.
Footnote: Stairs very steep.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing