We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Start
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
The Swan at Hay(Hay-on-Wye)
$151
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Llangoed Hall(Llyswen)
$261
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Tower Hotel(Talgarth)
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$132
$114
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cedars Guest House(Builth Wells)(Great Value!)
$62
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$184
$177
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Manor Hotel(Crickhowell)
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (190)
Filter reviews
190 results
Traveler rating
170
19
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
170
19
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsacross the riverhomemade jamsb bfresh eggsplace to stayfew minutes walkresident chickensfree range hensbiscottilovely laid backstart pointriverside locationquinoafull welsh breakfastcycling holidaywarm welcomeapple juice
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
173 - 178 of 190 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2009

Dawn and Steve gave us a very warm welcome for a 2 night stay for my birthday weekend. Located right on the River Wye, this B&B is beautifully presented with cosy and tastefully furnished rooms. The location is very close to town (5 minute walk) and right by the river. We had a fabulous view from our rooms. Both Dawn and Steve were extremely friendly and very helpful in sorting out restaurant bookings and the breakfasts were scrummy. As we left on Sunday morning we heard the valley fill with distant voices of a choir singing 'How Great Thou Art' in harmony. Quite appropriate we thought :) We will be back some time soon.

In the meantime, say 'hi' on our behalf.

Tina & Paul

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fretz139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2009

We returned to The Start in August 2009 after an interval of several years. The welcome was just as friendly as before, and the rooms were every bit as comfortable. Dawn goes out of her way to make your stay in this beautiful B&B enjoyable. The breakfasts were first class, and the packed lunch lasted two days. Can't wait to stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dai16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2009

Wonderful host, charming location just on the edge of Hay (this isn't a bad thing, it's only a few min walk to anything). Breakfast was very good and room itself very nice. Funny old TV but in a town like this who could care less ? The shower was exceptional.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thirdglance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2009

Just adding our bit to the rave reviews about this wonderful b and b. It was recommended to us by friends and we can't thank them enough. What friendly hosts (and the chooks and geese and birds) and what a beautiful setting by the river. We loved being able to walk into the town for our dinner. We look forward to returning on our next visit to the UK.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SAGreat09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2009

We found "The Start" via TripAdvisor and stayed 4 nights from June 29th. The Start is in a perfect setting just the other side of Hay bridge from the town and next to the river -- Dawn's chickens, geese, ducks, and kitchen garden make it a peaceful rural location and only 5 minutes stroll from the bookshops, pubs, and restaurants. There is plenty of parking space.
Dawn and Steve are most welcoming, friendly and helpful. They were full of super recommendations for places to visit and dine. Dawn was very responsive to sort out one or two very minor snags.
The twin room was a good size and comfortable. Minor updates are needed to the furniture and the TV could be better sited but Dawn explained it discouraged leaving the set on if guests fell asleep with it playing -- fair enough! Wi-fi is provided. The bathroom was recently renovated and beautifully presented with a large bath/shower. The shower worked very well. The room was serviced daily and cleanliness is excellent. Bed and bath linen is good quality.
Dawn's breakfast can't be faulted. There is a good selection of cereals, fruit, and juice and choice of hot breakfast including the 'full Welsh' with no holds barred! Service is most friendly and prompt. First class. There is also a comfortable guest lounge with a selection of maps and guide books.
We look forward to staying there again and we would certainly recommend The Start most highly.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mikedee25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews