We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great save on a gloomy wet afternoon!”
Review of Seven Stars B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Seven Stars B&B
Ranked #5 of 29 Hay-on-Wye B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A great save on a gloomy wet afternoon!”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

My family of 4 which includes a 4 yr old and 10 mths old baby, drove to Hay on Wye on a wet 31st October afternoon. As it was getting very dark quickly, my husband saw Seven Stars and went to enquire its room availability. We were in luck, there was a room left with double bed, but they did not have any extra beds. We brought our own baby cot which fitted into the room ok.
The building dated from the 16th century was quaint with its exposed wooden beams. As one would expect from a half a millenium old building, some floor and stairs creaking noises would be characteristic of one. The owner, Di, was most accommodating especially after knowing we had 2 kids with us. She gave us extra beddings, duvets and even baby blankets!
The most surprising feature of the room is the ensuite bathroom that comes with a bath! My kids were absolutely delighted to be able to soak and play in the bath. Had we known that we were staying at the Seven Stars, we would've brought along our swimming gear. The hotel has a heated pool in a building right behind it.
In the morning, we had our breakfasts in the dining area. We were truly surprised by the extensive breakfast offerings on the menu! We had the full breakfast which came with fried bread and also a smoked kipper! The service was amazing as Di and her sole staff did all the cooking and serving, and they were also prompt when asked for more coffee, toasts etc. Needless to say, breakfast was amazing!

Room Tip: We stayed at the room facing the main road. The only downside to that is the town clock tower chimes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roberta_Sg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    75
    26
    11
    2
See reviews for
45
163
15
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Swindon
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

My husband, 13 year old daughter and me, (a worn out teacher), found the Seven Stars B&B in Hay on Wye on line and we were immediately drawn to it by its location, (plenty of eating/drinking places to walk to!), beautiful scenery, sauna and pool, but also having read the reviews felt we could not go wrong. We were right, the hospitality given to us by Di was fabulous. What a busy bee she is but never too busy to chat and share her wonderful knowledge of the area. Diane wrote out clear instructions on how to make the best of our three days there. Even though we had researched the area, her first hand friendly ideas were second to none. On Diane's recommendation we drove through the amazing Black Mountains, breathtaking views as well as stopping at some places of interest enroute. We ended up having a drink at the oldest pub in Wales, the Skirrid Inn, which has been featured on Britain's Most Haunted. Very atmospheric on Halloween! The only 'down' side was that the pubs/cafes recommended to us by Diane for lunch stops were never sampled, as we were just too full from the amazing breakfasts at the Seven Stars. Really hope to go back for another break next year.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovelylady09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Have stayed here for the last two years and there is a good reason we came back. Diane and her staff are friendly and the cooked breakfast really sets you up for the day. Our daughter loved having the use of the pool and sauna which was really welcome after a few days in the mountains. Rooms are clean and there's ample tea/coffee/biscuits. Hay is a lovely town and it's worth spending a bit of time browsing the bookshops. Surrounding countryside is gorgeous and definitely worth exploring whether on foot or on horseback!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CazYon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, England
1 review
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Friendly welcome from Diana. We stayed four days three nights in mid October 2012.
Lovely large vaulted beamed room, tea/coffee tray with biscuits. Very clean throughout.
Delicious breakfast, plenty of choice on the cooked menu, Diana always on hand to top up with fresh pot of tea, coffee or more hot toast she also had lots of info on goings on in the past plus what to see during our stay.
Free car park at the back next to the indoor swimming pool building. This B&B is within walking distance to the assortment of shops & pubs, countryside walks can also start from here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pompeysupporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
exeter
1 review
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We have stayed several times in this hotel and love it. It has comfortable rooms and a lovely heated pool to swim in and gorgeous sauna. You can just pop out to look at the bookshops or go walking on the hills or Offa's dyke.
For us the great thing is that they take dogs and Monty the dog was thoroughly spoilt . The breakfast was great he said and we agreed.!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benevento, Italia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We were here in august, we found it avery nice place to stay. It is very close to the town centre, and to all the bookshops and pubs.
We had a very nice welcome from Dianne, she is a very nice person and does her job very well.
The rooms were clean with kettle and teabags, and the bathroom very spacious.
There is also a free carpark, and thats not bad at all as soon as you are in town centre.
We also had a nice breakfast freshly cooked. Hope to come back soon.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marisa60_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Midlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 5, 2012

I have been staying at the Seven Stars for twelve years now.
A lovely, quirky old building with bags of character and a a welcoming atmosphere: this is not a hotel to stay in if you prefer generic, soul-less chain-hotel fayre. This is a hotel of charm, totally in keeping with the wonderful surroundings of Hay on Wye and all that the area has to offer, with better facilities than many large hotels.
Rooms are spotlessly clean, with top quality beds and linen.
Great choice of, and well-cooked breakfasts, served by friendly staff.
Thanks, Diana, can't wait to return again to my spiritual home!

Room Tip: Room 4 is a delight: watch the village life unfold from your window and listen to the delightful chi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelanorak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hay-on-Wye
0.2 mi away
The Swan at Hay
The Swan at Hay
#1 of 1 in Hay-on-Wye
443 reviews
3.4 mi away
Rhydspence Inn
Rhydspence Inn
#1 of 1 in Whitney-on-Wye
147 reviews
6.9 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
The Three Cocks Coaching Inn
The Three Cocks Coaching Inn
#1 of 1 in Three Cocks
178 reviews
0.2 mi away
Old Black Lion
Old Black Lion
#3 of 29 in Hay-on-Wye
265 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Baskerville Arms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seven Stars B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Stars B&B

Property: Seven Stars B&B
Address: 11 Broad Street, Hay-on-Wye OX1 3AP, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Hay-on-Wye
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Hay-on-Wye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Seven Stars B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seven Stars Bed And Breakfast
7 Stars b&b
Seven Stars Hotel Hay-On-Wye
Seven Stars B&B Hay-On-Wye, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing