We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Cottage”
other travelers have booked this property
Relax in the hot tub and enjoy the wonderful views of the Black Mountains.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Relax in the hot tub and enjoy the wonderful views of the Black Mountains.
A gorgeous barn positioned perfectly for a holiday in the country, lots of lovely walks near by. Lovely wooden terrace with a glass roof to sit under, property has its own garden area.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
55 reviews
Relax in the hot tub and enjoy the wonderful views of the Black Mountains.
A gorgeous barn positioned perfectly for a holiday in the country, lots of lovely walks near by.
Lovely wooden terrace with a glass roof to sit under, property has its own garden area.
2 acres of well tendered garden to enjoy.
Property is nice and safe for children and animals, it is positioned well off the main road.
Ample parking by the property.
Spacious dining room with seating area, leading to down stairs bathroom room.
Lovely Shabby Chic style double bedroom with en-suite, enjoys a lovely view of the mountains.
Ensuit bathroom complementary soap, hand wash and hand cream in both bathrooms.
Lovely Shabby Chic adjoining twin bedroom with lots of luxorious finishing touches.
Down stairs bathroom/shower,(ample towels provided).
Large lounge area with log burner, plasma TV, DVD & CD player, board games, books  & small t
Very well equiped kitchen with complementary tea, coffee, sugar and milk.
The Little Twmp Barn is on a small hill with beautiful panaramic views of the Black Mountains
Wooden and glass covered  terrace on both sides of the property, very colonial.
All year round alfresco dining under the terrace, very sheltered, (bbq provided).
Lots of seating areas under the terrace, to sit and relax so you can take in the breathtaking views
Hot tub is very well located on the terrace which looks onto guests own private garden.
Alfie our friendly dog, he is great with kids.
Very mature and well maintained gardens.
We're all in bloom, we have very pretty gardens for guests to enjoy
Come and see the neighburing horses.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Hay-on-Wye, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Bela K
2 reviews
“Great Cottage”
Reviewed October 18, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We spent a marvellous week in that cosy cottage, enjoyed the fireplace and the hot tub.
Colleen and her husband were very helpful and discreet.
Simply a joy staying there!!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goldingas...
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great location....but”
Reviewed October 11, 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

It was a nice barn, nice hot tub, great location and views, and dog friendly ....but be aware it’s not as described.

There is only one bathroom (shower) off a separate dining room ( no lock!)and an en suite toilet only in the main bedroom. There are no 2 bathrooms as described.

And to access the main bedroom you have to walk through the other ‘bedroom’ between 2 small narrow single beds- and what is more that is not a room, it is a space at the top of the stairs. So interesting privacy issues!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 12, 2017
Hi I am really sorry that you found the Little Twmp Barn not up to your expectations. On receiving a 3 star review from yourselves we are very concerned as we have had pretty much 5 star reviews for the property from other guests through out and a 5 star certificate of excellence from Trip Adviser. I hope this will not put other guests off and avoid coming to stay with us because we feel that this cottage has more to offer than most. As the building is of a Barn design we do have two linked bedrooms upstairs and is perfect for family groups or couples which is stated in the details I quote: (Families with 4-5 people will love our property as the adjoining bedroom's, double sofa bed, cot makes a perfect family space).
Due to the comments we have changed the original details from 2 bathrooms to 1 shower room and ensuite with toilet and sink as this has obviously been misleading. My husband has put locks on the shower room and ensuite toilet room today. Thank you for your comments we will always do what we can to improve our accommodation if requested.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Wayne D
1 review
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed September 24, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

My wife, 2 young children and I stayed here for a week and we loved it. We had our dog with us and he loved it too. Very warm, welcoming house with a great rustic feel. Perfect for families with loads and loads of space for little ones to run around, Everything was well equipped from the kitchen to games and DVD's for the kids in the lounge. The hot tub was lovely and we made good use of it as well as the BBQ. outside area is under cover, so BBQ's and hot tub is great in all weathers. The owners were on hand to answer any questions and were both really lovely people. I would not hesitate to recommend this house to others or to in fact stay again some time.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
S12AJY
Mid Wales
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent cottage”
Reviewed July 23, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Second time for us at this cottage, excellent facilities, friendly owners, hot tub a real treat, definitely be back soon

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
allingham
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely property”
Reviewed July 15, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

The property is exactly as described, the location and views are stunning and the hot tub is fantastic after a day's walking in the beautiful surrounding countryside.
It was all really relaxing and hard to leave!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing