We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“We Love Little Twmp Barn!”
other travelers have booked this property
Relax in the hot tub and enjoy the wonderful views of the Black Mountains.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Relax in the hot tub and enjoy the wonderful views of the Black Mountains.
A gorgeous barn positioned perfectly for a holiday in the country, lots of lovely walks near by. Lovely wooden terrace with a glass roof to sit under, property has its own garden area.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
55 reviews
Relax in the hot tub and enjoy the wonderful views of the Black Mountains.
A gorgeous barn positioned perfectly for a holiday in the country, lots of lovely walks near by.
Lovely wooden terrace with a glass roof to sit under, property has its own garden area.
2 acres of well tendered garden to enjoy.
Property is nice and safe for children and animals, it is positioned well off the main road.
Ample parking by the property.
Spacious dining room with seating area, leading to down stairs bathroom room.
Lovely Shabby Chic style double bedroom with en-suite, enjoys a lovely view of the mountains.
Ensuit bathroom complementary soap, hand wash and hand cream in both bathrooms.
Lovely Shabby Chic adjoining twin bedroom with lots of luxorious finishing touches.
Down stairs bathroom/shower,(ample towels provided).
Large lounge area with log burner, plasma TV, DVD & CD player, board games, books  & small t
Very well equiped kitchen with complementary tea, coffee, sugar and milk.
The Little Twmp Barn is on a small hill with beautiful panaramic views of the Black Mountains
Wooden and glass covered  terrace on both sides of the property, very colonial.
All year round alfresco dining under the terrace, very sheltered, (bbq provided).
Lots of seating areas under the terrace, to sit and relax so you can take in the breathtaking views
Hot tub is very well located on the terrace which looks onto guests own private garden.
Alfie our friendly dog, he is great with kids.
Very mature and well maintained gardens.
We're all in bloom, we have very pretty gardens for guests to enjoy
Come and see the neighburing horses.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Hay-on-Wye, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
marec0
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“We Love Little Twmp Barn!”
Reviewed September 5, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

It's actually quite hard to find enough words to adequately describe this gorgeous property. The location and views are absolutely stunning. We live in Devon near Dartmoor but it now seems pale by comparison! It was really great to be able to show off the best bits of Wales (where I lived during my teenage years) to my daughter and grandchildren. Brecon and the Beacons a short drive away and the Show caves, Cray Reservoir, Henrhyd Falls ... it was great to re-visit and then to come home to gorgeous Little Twmp to relax or have a dip in the hot tub. The littlies (and the biggies!) loved it. Elsie had her 10th birthday here - she loves drawing and we spent time outside drawing the views! Everything is perfect outside and inside, with fabulous thoughtful little extras - little touches like the fairy lights on the veranda outside ( the little girls loved that!), pretty ornaments, candles, pictures - all very tasteful and obviously chosen with love and care, visits from Alfie and other things like the reading material and toys for the kids. It was all really lovely. Thank you Colleen and Martin made us feel really welcome and were always on hand with useful information and advice. There is also a lovely atmosphere in this property - we really got the feeling that the owners enjoy making their guests' experience a thoroughly enjoyable one. Thank you so much. WE WILL BE BACK!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob L
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“excellent”
Reviewed August 23, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Had a great time. Accommodation was lovely and the views are amazing. Hot tub was excellent for the children. We have an 8 year old, 12 and 14 year old and they all agreed it was the best place we have stayed in. Plenty to do in the area for all the family. The owners are very friendly and helpful and we will definitely be returning for another stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the accommodation which is 5 star
Liked least: nothing!
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gazza037
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“First class accommodation,would highly recommend 😊”
Reviewed August 11, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

First class accommodation with attention to detail throughout the property .Fantastic views in a rural setting with a fabulous hot tub in a perfect setting. Martin and Coleen were top rate hosts ,would highly recommend this property, great location to explore or just relax in.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the hot tub was fantastic ,views fabulous
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewis P
Caerphilly County, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful location”
Reviewed June 29, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

The Little Twmp Barn is situated in beautifully maintained gardens with panoramic views of the Black Mountains. The barn itself felt like a home from home, it is clean and tidy as well as being decorated and furnished to a very high standard.

Colleen and Martin (and Alfie) were lovely hosts, although Alfie and our dog didn’t play together very much they got along just fine - Alfie is very laid back, I am sure he gets along with everyone!

We dined at the Honey Café, which we do not rate highly (we heard great things, but were disappointed with mediocre food and poor service) we also enjoyed the Hay on Wye food festival, the idyllic book town is situated about 15 minutes down the road.

We will certainly we returning to the picturesque Little Twmp Barn again and have already recommended it to friends and family!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful gardens and views
Liked least: Limited washing up liquid washing up sponge (clutching at straws here!)
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine...
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Fantastic”
Reviewed June 27, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We stayed at this property in May, we had no problems finding the property, Martyn (owner) was most helpful through out the whole stay. He gave us lots of advice where to go and tips on what to do which made our stay much more enjoyable...more time in the hot tub which is state of the art and very private. My dogs were made to feel very welcome and loved the fabulous walks around hay. The bed was very comfortable and and kitchen had all the mod cons...even a picnic hamper to take up the hay bluff!! Fabulous! Already planning another trip!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot tub, walks, five star facilities
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holder195...
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed May 31, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

This is a great place to stay and Martin and Colleen are very hospital. It's lovely accommodation and gardens, very comfortable and clean, with everything you could need. The hot tub is a great bonus too! It's near to Hay but also near to the national park with it's wonderful walking. We would definitely return

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jjnbc
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic cottage in beautiful location”
Reviewed April 21, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Little Twmp Barn exceeded all expectations and I would recommend to anyone looking to enjoy this fabulous part of Wales.

The cottage is huge and so well kitted out, everything you could wish for is provided, only omission is a dishwasher. Games, books, DVDs, new TVs, candles, full table settings, kitchen equipment galore and a beautiful picnic hamper to boot. The furnishing is of a high standard, the beds were comfy and the outdoor space and furniture is fantastic. Couldn't fault it. Thank you to the owners for a wonderful stay, we will be back!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing