We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful - lived up to every expectation”
other traveler has booked this property
The luxurious living area with large television and leather sofas.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The luxurious living area with large television and leather sofas.
Top floor bedroom with comfortable leather chairs for two. Top floor bedroom and en suite with double shower.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
The luxurious living area with large television and leather sofas.
Top floor bedroom with comfortable leather chairs for two.
Top floor bedroom and en suite with double shower.
View of Market Street apartments from below.
Well equiped modern kitchen with washer/dryer, dish washer and gas hobs.
King size bed with Egyptian white cotton linen.
Smooth granite dining table with ornamental bowl.
Modern, well equipped kitchen
Modern bathroom with bath tub and walk-in shower.
Open living style with high quality furnishings
External view - Butter Market on first floor, Rooftops on second floor.
Views across quaint Hay-on-Wye
Medieval butter market located below the apartments
Views across Hay to the countryside beyond
Fabulous bookshops for browsing and exploring
Hay-on-Wye streets with view to historic clocktower
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Hay-on-Wye, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Gemma B
1 review
“Wonderful - lived up to every expectation”
Reviewed October 16, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Fantastic residence. Everything was top quality. Lots of space for 2 couples. Central. Parking is a bit of a problem. Will definiately book again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olga K
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Drunken revellers at night and milk delivery at 5.30am every morning, right outside the window.”
Reviewed July 25, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Yes the apartment was very nice, although no groceries in fridge for me.. but I couldn't get to sleep till way after the pubs closed (men's club opposite) , for the shouting and singing and I was wakened at 5.30am by the delivery man to Londis with his rear lift going up and down with milk, bread etc, and carrying on a conversation with the shop owner for 20 minutes. No long lie, either - the meter in the car park (5 mins away ) must be fed by 8am. Pouring with rain - and that was my first night! Not the place for a restful break if you actually need a night's sleep.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything clean and modern
Liked least: Location very noisy
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 14, 2015
We’re very sorry to hear that this guest experienced some problems during their stay. Hay is a small market town, which does not have much of a night life beyond quiet evenings in the pub. We have never heard of any guest to have their sleep disturbed by ‘drunken revellers’, and have been informed that on this occasion there was a special party held by the British Legion for the Chelsea Pensioners which happens around once in ten years. This is the only time we have heard of our guests being disturbed in this way, particularly given the bedroom window is on the far side of the building some 50 meters away, and does not look out to the British Legion.

Regarding parking, prior to arrival, we send good maps to all guests showing the parking options in Hay, including three free-parking areas within a 2-3 minute walk of the apartment.

We have now spoken with the owners of Londis who were mortified to hear that our guest had been disturbed by the early delivery to their business. The owners have now contacted the delivery company to explicitly request that their drivers are considerate of noise levels when delivering early in the morning, and the owners have said their will also give attention to this when receiving any early deliveries.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara F
Cerritos, California
Level 6 Contributor
625 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Wonderful accommodations!”
Reviewed July 12, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We stayed in the 1-bedroom apartment at 12 Buttermarket for a week in June, while touring the area. It is truly the best self-catering apartment/cottage we have ever rented. It is right in the center of town so we could easily walk to stores, including a great butcher and deli, and further afield, along the river. The apartment itself was 1st rate. It had been remodeled with top of the line furnishings, appliances, etc. It was very spacious, a rare occurrence in England and Wales. Although it is in the center of town, it was very quiet for sleeping; I think the town closes up at 5. Parking was no problem and the town is small enough that navigating on car or foot was easy. Lorna was so easy to work with - everything was just as stated. The apartment was spotless. It was great to have a washer/dryer as well. We used the apartment as a base to visit manor houses in the area and it always felt lovely to "come home" in the evening. I highly recommend this!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Conveniences
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elfy57
Lexington, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent choice”
Reviewed May 10, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

This apartment is well located in the downtown area. It was so convienrnt for sightseeing in the area and a great place to come back to each day. We had a very minor incident when I accidentely shut off the hot water heater. It was fixed within 10 minutes of a call to the manager. Nicely decorated, really comfortable beds, very clean and very well maintained apartment. You can't go wrong here-- highly recommend.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise C
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Relaxing Retreat in the heart of Hay”
Reviewed April 12, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

This a really beautiful apartment in the centre of Hay on Wye. The location is perfect, close to all the amenities of Hay, and access is very easy. Parking is fine, definitely manageable (there is a 2 hour stay car park within 30 seconds of the apartment, and the large town car park only a couple of minutes walk away where you can park all day).
The atmosphere of the apartment was so welcoming and the "starter pack" of groceries was a lovely touch. The kitchen is beautifully appointed and well-equipped with fridge, freezer, dishwasher and washing machine. We only made tea and toast because there are so many great eating opportunities in the town, but you could do the whole Sunday roast performance if you felt so moved.
The whole place was spotlessly clean and the bathroom is definitely "posh hotel" grade with fluffy towels and lovely toiletries. The bed and sofas were so comfortable and made our stay very relaxing.
In summary, this is a luxurious, comfortable and relaxing apartment, ideal for exploring the delights of Hay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma T
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Can't recommend this highly enough”
Reviewed April 9, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

For our short break, there was absolutely nothing that we would have changed about the Market Street Accommodation. We stayed in the one bedroom apartment.

We stayed between a Sunday and a Wednesday in March for my partners 30th birthday.

The property was perfectly located in the centre of town, a minutes walk from the fantastic local deli and a stones throw from several lovely pubs and restaurants. You can very easily find somewhere to park so don't let the fact that there is no parking next to the flat put you off.

The place was spotlessly clean with everything that we needed and more. We like to cook and as we were able to pick up some fabulous ingredients locally, we utilised the lovely spacious kitchen and cooking utensils.

Lorna was very helpful and didn't seem to mind recommending restaurants at all prior to our trip over email.

The bed was extremely comfortable, the shower was hot and luxurious. The welcome pack was such a treat to help us to settle in.

As well as the actual accommodation being beautiful, Hay itself was friendly and quirky with lots of fantastic antique shops and a brilliant selection of charity shops. It's well worth a walk down the river and we would recommend you wander down to a gorgeous little area by the water called 'The Warren', a real highlight of our trip.

Richard Booths bookshop do lovely lunches - really worth a trip.

Enjoy. We have recommended Hay retreats to three couples already and we will definitely be returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The kitchen and the location
Liked least: Nothing negative at all
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maz b
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect position”
Reviewed March 6, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

This property is the perfect position for exploring all that is hay on Wye. Right in the middle of the town and within glancing distance of shops restaurants and pubs. The parking is easy and affordable, the apartment is like home from home with every attention to detail. The bed linen is Egyptian cotton, there are lamps and lights and a fully equipt kitchen, tasteful cushions, artwork and tdecor in keeping with the historic building. Wonderful touch with the welcome pack , fresh eggs, bread, butter marmalade etc , very thoughtful. I couldn't fault tit and would have no hesitation in returning again to enjoy the town, the hills, the river and the atmosphere that is Hay on Wye.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Locality and cleanliness
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing