We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely immaculate”
other traveler has booked this property
The luxurious living area with large television and leather sofas.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The luxurious living area with large television and leather sofas.
Top floor bedroom with comfortable leather chairs for two. Top floor bedroom and en suite with double shower.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
The luxurious living area with large television and leather sofas.
Top floor bedroom with comfortable leather chairs for two.
Top floor bedroom and en suite with double shower.
View of Market Street apartments from below.
Well equiped modern kitchen with washer/dryer, dish washer and gas hobs.
King size bed with Egyptian white cotton linen.
Smooth granite dining table with ornamental bowl.
Modern, well equipped kitchen
Modern bathroom with bath tub and walk-in shower.
Open living style with high quality furnishings
External view - Butter Market on first floor, Rooftops on second floor.
Views across quaint Hay-on-Wye
Medieval butter market located below the apartments
Views across Hay to the countryside beyond
Fabulous bookshops for browsing and exploring
Hay-on-Wye streets with view to historic clocktower
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Hay-on-Wye, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JPD802
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely immaculate”
Reviewed July 26, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We stayed in the ButterMarket for four nights. The apartment was immaculately clean, well laid out and wonderfully comfortable. My only problem was the noisy delivery to the bakery opposite at 6am every morning. This was directly outside our bedroom window and became a real annoyance. It was a shame, as sitting in the window during the day watching Hay-on-Wye going about its business was a pleasure. Not sure if it was an acceptable downside to the wonderful location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Luxurious apartment
Liked least: Lots of noise at 6am every morning
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 14, 2013
We were very sorry our guests stay with us was diminished by this. And we also appreciate their five star rating in recognition of the quality of the apartment. We've given a lot of time to ensuring that Butter Market is a beautiful place to stay and makes the most of its location in Hay. The bakery opposite does start work early, but we had not realised that this was a problem for our guests as only one other person has mentioned it and that was during the very busy Hay Festival week. We have spoken with the bakery and they are making efforts to make less noise during the early morning deliveries. We have a second apartment above Butter Market, and this has double-glazed windows in the top bedroom and we feel this is probably the solution. Our builder has scheduled to do as soon as possible and hopefully our guests can enjoy the apartments without any early disturbance.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda H
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Loved it! Same time next year, please.”
Reviewed June 25, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Ideal location in the heart of the village. Beautifully decorated and perfectly appointed. Large, comfy leather sofas with large flat screen TV. Lovely views and daylight from all the windows. We could not have asked for a warmer welcome or more perfect hosts. We were so well looked after for our two-week stay. Excellent suggestions for excursions, activities and dining. What better recommendation can we give than to say we shall return again and again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The clean, classic decor; well appointed kitchen.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
escribano
oxford,england
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“wonderful location, great flat, lovely hosts”
Reviewed June 20, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

This is a lovely, newly refurbished and immaculate flat with quality fixtures and fittings. It is much larger than I expected from the photographs and is very well equipped. Just as important is the perfect location, being just behind the clock tower, next to the castle, in the centre of little winding streets and near a small grocery shop. I was in Hay for the Literary Festival and stayed ten days and loved every minute of this location. The owners are charming and helpful and the welcome box of local food was delicious. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: independent luxury
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam O
Brecon, United Kingdom
1 review
“A luxuriant stay in the heart of a stimulating town.”
Reviewed May 30, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

We stayed in rooftops at 12 Market Street and really enjoyed it. The accommodation has been refurbished recently and was in sparkling condition. We really appreciated the attention to detail from the fabulous walk in shower in the main en suite with LED lighting that also light up the bedroom though to the crisp cotton sheets on the beds. It was a great place to stay for both hiding away and for exploring the town which is full of good places to eat and drink!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quality of the accommodation and attention to detail
Liked least: nothing to really gripe about.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilippaB...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
“A perfect retreat in a wonderful location........”
Reviewed May 8, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

The apartment at Rooftops was such a perfect base for our horse riding, cycling and walking weekend.   We were really impressed with the beautiful apartment and its location and will certainly be booking again as soon as we can.  The apartment's decor was really beautiful and the views across the rooftops of Hay to the fields and hills was really special....a warm, sunny and welcoming apartment really thoughtfully designed...very convenient. On the doorstep of the spectacular Black Mountains we enjoyed great cycling over Gospel Pass, great pony trekking high into the hills, wonderful walks ......and at the end of each day we were spoilt for choice in Hay with great gift shops, pubs and book shops .....a perfect combination for a relaxing holiday. We couldn't fault it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful, comfortable and luxurious in a great location.
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedQuince
Fleet, Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Beautiful apartment in a beautiful location”
Reviewed May 4, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

We had the most wonderful weekend at the apartment in Market Street. We loved the fact that we were right in the middle of everything and could abandon our car and walk everywhere. The flat itself was more than we could have hoped for, and from the moment we stepped inside we felt at home. Everything we could possibly need was there. The flat has been converted beautifully and the furnishings give it a real feeling of luxury; we felt at home. We loved all the details – the cake, bread and so on – and a welcoming card was such a nice touch.
Of course, it was also good to be the first people there. We felt thoroughly spoiled. We will certainly go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort of the flat and its location.
Liked least: No biggie, but you have to park away from the property.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RyPrice
Taunton, UK
2 reviews
“Fantastic- Hope to return soon!”
Reviewed April 22, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

My partner and I have just returned from a wonderful weekend break at 12 Market Street, Hay Retreats. We stayed at ‘Rooftops’ apartment and found it to be beautifully decorated - a space to truly relax and unwind. The apartment is right in the heart of the town, with charming views across the rooftops and beyond to the Welsh landscape. Though centrally located, we very pleased to find the apartment to be well sound proofed (very important to us!), and could both enjoy a peaceful night sleep. I will be recommending Hay Retreats to friends and family and hope to return again soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing