We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just as good as last year” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tomatitos Tapas Bar

Tomatitos Tapas Bar
Ranked #1 of 30 Restaurants in Hay-on-Wye
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Open from 11.00 am for illy coffee and home-made cakes, Monday - Saturday. Serving Spanish influenced small dishes of home-cooked food from 12 - 3 pm and 6 - 10 pm. Sundays, open at 4 pm, serving food from then until 9.00 pm.
Fleet, Hampshire
Level Contributor
174 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Just as good as last year”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

Four of us ate here on a Saturday night. We'd been a year before and loved it. There's not a huge choice but this is good as it means everything is fresh and it makes choosing slightly easier. We had a spread of delicious dishes, some quite subtle and some full-on - the chorizo in cider is one of these, just a few slices of high quality chorizo in some juices but an amazing hit of rich flavour. Also very good were the pork balls, a special, squid rings, meats and cheeses ... And the puddings were of the same ilk. My key lime pie in a glass was exquisite.
As has been said, you can't book, so go early to sit in the front part of the restaurant. The back is cold and lacks atmosphere.
Staff are lovely, loos are clean (careful though, the lights go off if you take too long). We went back for more the following night. Good wine list, too.
Special thank you to Tricia for taking special care of us.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RedQuince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    358
    108
    27
    20
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A little gem!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

We hppened upon this place and popped in for a bit to eat. Lovely atmosphere and excellent menu.
We order a portion of tortilla each but they were huge and one would easliy have served two people. Patatas bravas were excellent.
Really good value for money.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank carol1412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Best tapas ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

Last night of mine and my boyfriends stay in Hay and definitely our best meal! Had bread with oil, patatas bravas (huge portion, couldn't finish all of it), squid, meatballs, stuffed peppers and stew. We both felt their aioli was the best we had ever tasted. Owners were lovely and happy to chat. At £33 with all the food we had and a pint each this place is terrific value. Hope to return to Hay and visit again soon!

Helpful?
Thank pollyjean86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely meal for 4”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

Called at Tomatitos with friends for the first time. There is no booking, so you take a chance on a table, most tapas places operate like this, so grab a drink at the bar if it's busy.

Being 4 we had a vast selection of dishes, all very tasty. The squid was excellent as was the chorizo in cider. A lot of the ingredients were supplied locally which is nice.

All in all a great evening out

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank llo_ukWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staford
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A great evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed a lovely Saturday evening here with my husband. Relaxed atmosphere, friendly staff, lovely food, smashing carafe of wine, amazing coffee cheesecake and very reasonable bill. My only request is for them to expand the menu to include Paella and Sangria!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Samantha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tomatitos Tapas Bar also viewed

 

Been to Tomatitos Tapas Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing