We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Hay-on-Wye

“Great pub lunch with friends”
Review of Blue Boar Pub

Blue Boar Pub
Ranked #10 of 34 Restaurants in Hay-on-Wye
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Very busy pub on a gorgeous Saturday
Friendly staff
Good homely food with generous portions offered - no room for desserts which looked very tempting
Caters for all sorts - walkers, shoppers, families
Breakfasts offered too plus cakes and coffee
Will return

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank julie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (794)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 794 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2020

Visited this pub today with my grandson i was served by Lucy who was obviously having an off day because i was socked at how rude she was. Also we were overcharged. However that was sorted out by a polite boy.

Pity really because lovely pub

Mrs Herbert
Redbrook

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Herbosam1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2020 via mobile

Relaxed ,warm cosy and friendly pub with fire.Didn't eat here but lots of others did., Enjoyed the Timothy Taylor's beer. Also stock Doom Bar. Recomended to us by a local. Glad we visited .

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank Freebird1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2020

We came across the Blue Boar on our first night of a trip for hiking in the black mountains. Service is excellent, the owners are kind and welcoming. Roaring fires and mulled wine was enjoyed as well as several nights of food from their menu. A top recommendation and the best in Hay from our experience for price, atmosphere and quality of food/drink.

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank HollyStephens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2020 via mobile

Had a lovely wander around Hay on Wye, and just fancies a light late lunch.
I had been in the Blue Boar before 15 years and decided to try the place again..
What a great pub!
Roaring open fires perfect on a drafty day, dog friendly not that we have one! A great welcome by a member of staff.
We both ordered Jacket Potato with the chill con carni which comes a salad. Which was extremely tasty.
Well done! We will return again very soon.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Bonsor911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Boar Pub also viewed

 
Hay-on-Wye, Powys
Hay-on-Wye, Powys
 

Been to Blue Boar Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing