We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very welcoming, clean and comfortable”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hay-on-Wye
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Fosse Guest House
Ranked #11 of 29 Hay-on-Wye B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
St. Asaph, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very welcoming, clean and comfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Room and shower etc. great - all very clean.

Annabel kindly gave me a lift to an out of town shop that sold bicycle brake blocks.

In the morning, we found we had a puncture and spent quite a lot of time fixing it - our room has been cleaned but we were allowed back in the wash our hands after the repair.

All in all, a very pleasant and stress free stay - would definitely recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cannonballdaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    16
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
40
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austinmer, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

We came to Hay because of the books! We had not pre arranged accommodation and saw this little place which was well situated and tried our luck. Met by Bob who was delightful -found us a room at the top of the old house. Small spiral steep stairs took us up to an 'attic' room with low uneven pitched roof with the most comfortable beds. This is a very old house, lovingly maintained with as much character and warmth that you could ever wish for. If you want squares and rectangles and flat floors -go to a hotel -it doesn't get better than this if you want to feel cosy and relaxed. We met Annabel a little later on -just like Bob -delightful -what a lovely warm and sincere couple - The breakfast was delicious and plentiful -set us up for the day. Shower was hot. Hay itself is a lovely little village and well worth a visit if you are driving through to Wales. I am sure there are other nice places to stay in Hay but if we are fortunate to come back we will look no further than this absolute gem.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leigh F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

Very relaxed B&B - they didn't even take a deposit which was a first for me. Lovely comfortable room. Excellent breakfasts. Really well located in Hay - both for walking and for exploring the town and the bookshops.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anon646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ceredigion
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

My husband and I were visiting Hay on Wye for their bike festival. On finding out we could check-in early afternoon, we arrived to a warm and friendly welcome from Bob and this set the tone for our stay. We were able to store our bikes safely inside overnight and received useful advice on where to walk our dog. Our en-suite warm and cosy double room was immaculately clean and had everything we needed and the bed was very comfortable. The next day Annabel produced some scrumptious and very filling full meaty and meat-free cooked breakfasts whilst Bob produced some excellent tea and toast (his speciality!) We were so full we just about had room for a small bowl of soup for lunch before our next bike ride. A fantastic central location for Hay, a good price and super hosts. Thank you Bob and Annabel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
96 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

We had a very friendly welcome from Annabel. Our rooms were very comfortable and clean with a nice en suite shower room.
As we had an early start Annabel cooked breakfast for 7:30am which filled us for the 3 andhalf hour journey on twisty roads to Holyhead.
The location is quiet but only minutes from the bookshops - we will be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJBDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

My daughter and I have just spent a lovely week end in Hay, using La Fosse as our base. Annabel and Bob were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was delicious and the room was clean and comfy.( Much more comfortable and relaxing than a "Best western"!!) Thank you both.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veronica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

lovely room with on-suite and very cosy feather duvet. Plenty of tea and coffee in our room. Breakfast was very generous and kept us going all day on a 26mile walk up on the hills. The owners were really great, friendly and very helpfull. We had a really nice stay and would recomend la Fosse and the lovely little town of Hay-on-wye.

Room Tip: we stayed in number 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hay-on-Wye
0.2 mi away
The Swan at Hay
The Swan at Hay
#1 of 1 in Hay-on-Wye
3.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Three Cocks Coaching Inn
The Three Cocks Coaching Inn
#1 of 1 in Three Cocks
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
7.0 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Old Black Lion
Old Black Lion
#3 of 29 in Hay-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seven Stars B&B
Seven Stars B&B
#4 of 29 in Hay-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Baskerville Arms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Fosse Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fosse Guest House

Property: La Fosse Guest House
Address: La Fosse Oxford Road, Hay-on-Wye HR3 5AJ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Hay-on-Wye
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Hay-on-Wye
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
La Fosse Guest House Hay-On-Wye, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing