We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Davlyn
Nearby Hotels
The Swan at Hay(Hay-on-Wye)
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rhydspence Inn(Whitney-on-Wye)
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Tower Hotel(Talgarth)
$134
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cedars Guest House(Builth Wells)(Great Value!)
$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Llangoed Hall(Llyswen)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (14)
Filter reviews
14 results
Traveler rating
12
1
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
12
1
1
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 14 reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed here for two nights at the end of August and it is probably the best B & B we have ever stayed in, outstanding value at £60 per night for both of us!

Lyn and Dave were lovely hosts and most welcoming. We had our 3 month old baby with us as they couldn't have been more accommodating, nothing was too much trouble.

The room was spotless and plenty big enough with a lovely comfy bed and spacious en-suite shower room. The power shower was lovely and complimentary toiletries/tea/coffee/milk/water etc were provided along with a fridge, hairdryer and lovely fluffy towels.

Breakfast was perfectly cooked with an excellent selection of cooked or continental options and we were able to come and go as we pleased which was great as we were attending an event at the nearby Baskerviell Hall.

Davlyn is easy to find and ideally loacated a few minutes walk from the centre of Hay. We will definitely be returning next year.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abby1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed for 2 nights at the Davlyn in November 2011 and were extremely pleased with our stay. We received a warm welcome from Dave, Lyn and their lovely Bichon Frise Bobby and the room was warm, comfortable, clean and tidy with en-suite facilities (the shower being a major positive.) The hosts were both friendly and engaging, with Lyn kindly informing us that the Christmas lights were being switched on in the centre of Hay-On-Wye at 5 p.m which we attended and enjoyed. As guests we both felt that the hosts would warmly cater to any request that we should have and as a couple who enjoy being left to our own devices, we also were pleased that Dave and Lyn afforded us this, thus having a sense of being able to come and go as we pleased without feeling that we were stepping on anyone's toes. Breakfast was delicious, cooked well and filling with a great freedom of choice, eaten whilst enjoying the panoramic rural view from the large conservatory. The B&B, considering how close it is to the town centre, was situated in a lovely and quiet area, with ample parking at the front. Hay on Wye itself was a pleasant, idyllic little place with admittedly just about enough going on to occupy you for a weekend and is ideal for the walkers and bibliophiles amoungst us, with book-shop upon book-shop. I would highly recommend you consider staying at the Davlyn for a stress-free and enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GrifterSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

We stayed at Davlyn for 1 night and found it quite an acceptable stay. Owner was friendly, if not overly welcoming. Room was very clean, comfortable but somewhat dated in decor (eg fluffy loo seat cover) . It had lovely hot shower en suite, good TV, fridge and all usual furnishings but nothing outstanding. Some good local books and maps available to borrow plus it's in walking distance of town (2 mins) but still v quiet location with plenty of parking. Owner also happy to let us use the garage to store our bikes. Downsides really just little things like one bedside lamp not working, door to room didn't actually shut properly or seem to lock, winter duvet on bed and cooked breakfast just ok (all cooked to order but just ok produce). Would possibly stay again but would try other places first.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2011

A friend and I stayed here with Dave, Lyn and their little dog for two great nights in lovely Hay-on Wye. It was a modern home on a lovely quiet 'estate' just a couple of minutes walk from the town centre. It was spotlessly clean, comfortable and Dave and Lyn were fab hosts. The rooms were warm enough, clean, tidy and with the added bonus of a fridge with bottled water in. The bathroom was a great size, really lovely shower and had a real luxurious 'hotel' feel.
We were lent a pack of walking maps to use for the day and our hosts could not do enough for us.
Breakfast was great in their huge garden room with superb views, and as it was such a hot weekend, we were invited to spend a lazy afternoon lying out on the lawn in their beautiful garden. A great weekend and a perfect B&B.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ms22fw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2010

We spent three comfortable nights staying with Lyn and Dave at their lovely home in Hay on Wye. Their house is located in a quiet cul de sac, a short walk from the town centre and within easy reach of the famous book and antique shops, as well as a good number of restaurants and pubs. Our room was beautifully furnished and was well equipped with tea/coffee making facilities, together with the unusual bonus of a bar fridge. Our bathroom was spacious and the bathroom fittings were in pristine condition. The house backed on to an outstanding vista of fields and hills and as we were lucky enough to experience Hay on Wye in glorious weather, this enhanced our visit. It is evident that Lyn and Dave have been looking after guests for a good many years as they have fine tuned their experience into a work of art in hospitality. We consider ourselves fortunate that we were able to stay at their home.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paula67Adelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews