We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tipperary
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ballyglass Country House
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Tipperary
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed at Ballyglass House last weekend for the walking festival and what a welcome we received from Ruth and her family! Nothing was too much trouble, she even dried out our soaking gear after a long days walking in the mountains! The rooms were clean and comfortable and the food was to die for. The house itself is wonderful and we were made to feel more like valued family members than guests. We had some great meals in the newly decorated dining room and bar food was also available in the pub beside the house. We just could not recommend it highly enough - this really was "Ireland of the Welcomes" in action!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuthOConnor, General Manager at Ballyglass Country House, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Ann

Many thanks for your kind review of our Country House. We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay here with us for the Annual Winter Walking Festival.

If you are ever in the area again- pop in for a coffee or a Sing Song!

Ruth O Connor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    12
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
22
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We recently stayed at Ballyglass Country House whilst attending a wedding at Kilshane house located nearby. From our initial booking to check out we were really impressed. Ballyglass isn't the most modern hotel that Ive stayed in but the hospitality certainly stood out. The morning after we enquired with Ruth about booking a taxi and she actually dropped us back there herself to collect our car. We were well impressed with the breakfast, the "Full Irish" kept us going until late evening and all of the products used were of great quality. I would have no hesitation in recommending Ballyglass to anyone seeking accomodation in the area.....

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WillieCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuthOConnor, General Manager at Ballyglass Country House, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear WillieCork

Many Thanks for your recent review of Ballyglass. We endeavour to ensure that all our guests have a great stay here with us at Ballyglass whether they are attending a wedding locally or just looking for a bit of downtime!

If you ever need a bed for the night the next time you're in town - get in touch!

Ruth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

you have to watch for the sign but once you drive up you know you are welcome. A cheery smile and a warm hello greeted us and we where invited in to wonderful accommodations. Warm and comfortable rooms of a country house put us at ease. Dinner at the pub next door was an excellent home cooked meal that hit the spot. Our hostess was on top of our wishes with service and easy talk of our experiences of the day, even the locals became friends before the night was done. Over all this was a really great place to stop over for a night or two.

Room Tip: all the rooms where excellent with great views of the countryside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pat t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuthOConnor, General Manager at Ballyglass Country House, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Pat T

Thank you for taking the time to review our Country House. It was most pleasing to hear that you enjoyed your stay here just as much as we enjoyed having you!

Best Wishes and Kind Regards

Ruth O Connor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 19, 2012

We stayed for four nights at this family run hotel. We were immediately made very welcome, everyone was so friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and comfortable and we slept really well. There is absolutely no noise or light pollution. Breakfasts are fantastic. We spent the evenings in the bar, again very friendly even to the extent of making a fire up for us as the weather was sadly very poor.
The area generally is really beautiful - well worth a visit.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuthOConnor, General Manager at Ballyglass Country House, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Nicola

Many Thanks for your review of Ballyglass Country House. We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay here with our family, sadly we have no control over the local weather but we were glad to see that you enjoyed your time spent in our Forge Bar next to the Fire!

Best Wishes

Ruth O Connor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Had a lovely two night stay here - staff are friendly and helpful. Comfortable rooms with a nice powerful shower. Nice meals in the pub attached to the hotel. Tasty breakfasts. Perfect base for exploring the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank umv81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuthOConnor, General Manager at Ballyglass Country House, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear UMV81

Many thanks for taking time to review our Country House. We're glad that you enjoyed a comfortable stay here with us

Kind Regards

Ruth O Connor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We only stayed here one night, but wished we had stayed longer. The area is beautiful and the house was so tranquil, stayed with my husband, dad and two daughters. As soon as we arrived we were shown our rooms, very comfortable and clean. We ate in the little pub attached to the large house, the food was excellent. We met lots of locals who were very friendly. The homemade breakfast the next day was lovely. I would recommend this hotel. I will certainly be going back to stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelenB319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuthOConnor, Manager at Ballyglass Country House, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Dear Helen

Many thanks for your recent review of Ballyglass House. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay here as much as we enjoyed having you.

We hope that you went on to have a lovely time during the rest of your holiday and that the sun stayed shining!


Ruth O' Connor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
100 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2012

I visited Ballyglas with some friends and it's a really lovely area with an old style pub and house it's a real little treasure just outside Tipperary Town with lovely food served can't beat the Steak.
Pool table was an added extra...

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Strawberybabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuthOConnor, General Manager at Ballyglass Country House, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Strawberybabe

Thank you for reviewing Ballyglass- we are glad that you enjoyed the time that you spent with us.

Bets Wishes

Ruth O Connor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tipperary
4.2 mi away
Ballykisteen Hotel and Golf Resort
12.6 mi away
Baileys Hotel Cashel
Baileys Hotel Cashel
#1 of 2 in Cashel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
22.5 mi away
Anner Hotel
Anner Hotel
#1 of 3 in Thurles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Cahir House Hotel
Cahir House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cahir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
8.9 mi away
Kilcoran Lodge Hotel
1.9 mi away
Riverside House B&B
Riverside House B&B
#2 of 14 in Tipperary
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballyglass Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballyglass Country House

Property: Ballyglass Country House
Address: Glen of Aherlow Road, Tipperary, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Tipperary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Tipperary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ballyglass Country House is a family run country house nestled in a quiet spot halfway between Tipperary Town and the Glen of Aherlow. Whether you are looking for an activity weekend or just want to get away from it all we have it all here within easy reach. Boasting home cooking our dine restaurant has been newly refurbished and offers great value each evening. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing