We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pleasant Stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Great National Ballykisteen Golf Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Tipperary
Killarney Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant Stay.”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Spent two nights in Ballykisteen Hotel and Golf Resort and enjoyed it very much. The staff were lovely and it is great value for money. We played a round of golf and the parkland course with lovely mature trees was in very good condition and and while our scoring was not great we aim to improve on that next time we go there. Breakfast was good and the staff were very attentive and pleasant. Our room 116 which overlooked the golf course was well appointed and the bathroom was modern with loads of hot water available. All in all it was a most enjoyable break away and if we were to be back in that area we would definitely stay there.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irisheyesKillarney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    131
    81
    47
    25
See reviews for
193
182
8
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Drogheda
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

This hotel is a must to visit , golf course excellent plenty of parking , food is EXCELLENT AS IS THE STAFF we found the best staff from we arrived , Emma greeted us on arrival we also made a phone call as we got a wee bit lost aut not for long Emma got us straight to our destanition everything about this hotel is 100% we will be back

Room Tip: We were on west side and it was 100%
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 135jenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed May 16, 2014

We had our civil partnership here on Friday 9th may 2014 all we can say is the treated we got was second to none, we were treated like celebrities from the time we got out of the wedding car and on to the red carpet , the staff especially the wedding planners but all staff were amazing, Helen, Maura & Kirsty couldn't do enough for us and as for the venue the way it was decorated was so beautiful . The 5 course meal was flawless and we had a lot of "foodie - well traveled" guests who know what they are talking about and they said it was the most amazing day & night from food to treatment..we could not pick one fault with the place , staff , accommodation Ballykisteen made our big day absolute perfection , we didn't know what way we would be treated as it was a same sex reception, we did know they had won wedding venue for Munster and let me say they deserve every accolade they ever got as it is a flawless venue for any special occasion. Lorna Gallagher & Fiona Ryan Gallagher may 16th 2014

Room Tip: bridal suite and all guest rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Stayed here in January while visiting a friend nearby. The hotel was perfect for what I needed that weekend which was a quiet room and some comfort. Good facilities in the room. There was a desk which was great as I had some work to do. The bed was comfortable and there are tea/coffee making facilities. I had to order more peppermint tea as I was drinking it non stop! I didn't get to use the Spa. I did use the gym, it was basic but functional. There was only one other person there each occasion I used it so the small amount of equipment was fine. Breakfast was very good, a buffet and plenty of choices. The staff are very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niamh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
near Dublin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

We stayed here for a two night break in March. We had booked a junior suite but when we arrived we were given a free upgrade so didn't have to pay the extra for the room! We were also given chocolates and water on arrival, lovely touch.

The girl on reception was amazing! So bubbly and informative. The room was on the ground floor facing the front of the hotel. It was beautiful. It had a fridge and amazing tea & coffee selection. The bed was so comfy and the couch and arm chairs were lovely too, wanted to take them home! The only let down for the room was the adjoining door, we could hear the guests in the other room but everything else was amazing.

We had dinner on one night, we availed of the "tasty Thursday" deal, three course meal with a bottle of wine for €50 per couple! Amazing value!!

We had €20 golf voucher included in our stay (Pigsback deal) so that was a free round for my boyfriend since I don't play. The guys in the golf shop were lovely and the course was a nice walk. An enjoyable day out :)

The only let down during the stay was breakfast. We went for full Irish but the products were not of the best quality and we were disappointed on both mornings. It was such a pity because everything else during the stay was brilliant.

To sum up Ballykisteen is AMAZING!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ac2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Stayed on a two night B&B basis for May bank holiday weekend. First the positives,
Room - Very clean, decent size and good amenities, especially like the small fridge provided. Bathroom also good size and very clean. The golf experience was excellent with helpful staff and great facilities.
Now the negatives. The seating in the reception was grubby to say the least. A red carpet was laid down to the dining room for a wedding. I could not believe how stained it was. If it was my wedding I would have been disgusted.Breakfast was very poor. Food was cold, you had to order fried eggs and by the time they came the rest of the breakfast was eaten. Delph had a grimy feel to it. You had to make your own toast-no problem with that except that the toaster was incredibly slow. I pointed this out to a staff member and I was told "Yea its a disaster its so slow" and off she walked!!
We had a late check out arranged but still got a call at 12:10 wondering why we had not checked out. When we did check out we were not asked if we enjoyed out stay. When driving away from the hotel we both agreed that we will not return. The annoying thing is that with simple and basic changes I would have had a different review and a customer happy to return.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank conor59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We had our wedding at Ballykisteen at the start of April. The service & food on the day were excellent, the staff could not have been more helpful. We had approx 200 guests & their banquet room can certainly cater for this number, one real advantage with this venue is the space available to the wedding guests, the drinks reception can be held in a room upstairs, with another large seating area beside this room & there's also a large balcony which on a sunny day is lovely; the banquet room is downstairs. Our guests really enjoyed the day & were very complimentary regarding the staff, the service, the food & for those that stayed the accommodation. There are 40 hotel rooms and a number of lodges available, the lodges are a nice option for families or groups of friends. I would absolutely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jose28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tipperary
13.0 mi away
Kilcoran Lodge Hotel
13.3 mi away
Baileys Hotel Cashel
Baileys Hotel Cashel
#1 of 2 in Cashel
596 reviews
21.2 mi away
Anner Hotel
Anner Hotel
#1 of 3 in Thurles
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Cahir House Hotel
Cahir House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cahir
414 reviews
19.8 mi away
The Horse & Jockey Hotel
21.3 mi away
Great National South Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great National Ballykisteen Golf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great National Ballykisteen Golf Hotel

Property: Great National Ballykisteen Golf Hotel
Address: Limerick Junction | Ballykisteen, Tipperary, Ireland (Formerly Ramada)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Tipperary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Tipperary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Great National Ballykisteen Golf Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the shadow of the Galtee Mountains, this Resort in Tipperary is adjacent to the renowned Tipperary Racecourse, Limerick Junction railway station and the Glen of Aherlow making Ballykisteen Hotel & Golf Resort a perfect 4* Tipperary conference hotel and wedding venue. Situated in a picturesque location coupled with a contemporary finish a visit at 'Great National Ballykisteen Golf Hotel’, is a truly memorable experience and a popular choice of venue for any weddings in Tipperary. This hotel in Tipperary is just a half hour drive or short train journey from Limerick City, the ideal location for meetings and conferences with reputation as one of the finest Tipperary conference hotels, a great Tipperary golf resort with a modern spa Serenity Day Spa or a base for walking and other activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Great National Ballykisteen Golf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballykisteen Hotel And Golf Tipperary
Ballykisteen Hotel Tipperary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing