We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing”
other traveler has booked this property
Rathellen House, Tipperary, IRELAND
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rathellen House, Tipperary, IRELAND
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
65 reviews
Rathellen House, Tipperary, IRELAND
Rathellen House Front Hall.JPG
Rathellen House Front hall and dining room.JPG
Entrance Hall
Entrance Hall
Rathellan House drawing room (Small)
Drawing room
Drawing Room
Drawing Room
A Civil Wedding Ceremony at Rathellen House - the final preparations!
Rathellen House: Drawing room with fire place
Library
Library
Dining Room
Rathellen House Dining Room.JPG
Rathellen House Dining Room.JPG
Rathellen House Dining Room.JPG
Dining Room
Dining room
Master Bedroom with 6 foot Four Poster Bed
Master Bedroom with 6 foot Four Poster Bed
Rathellen House Bedroom 2 JPG
Bedroom 2.
The Entrance Hall mantle piece decorated for Halloween
Bedroom 2. 6 foot double bed or twin option.
Rathellen House Bedroom 3.JPG
Bedroom 5. Double Bedroom with Large Shower Ensuite
Bedroom 4. Double Bedroom with Antique French Bed and Large Shower ensuite
Rathellen House Kitchen JPG
Rathellen House Kitchen.JPG
Kitchen shelves
Kitchen pots
Kitchen pots and pans
Front door in the snow .JPG
Getting married at Rathellen House - the bride and groom in the Entrance Hall
Rathellen House
Rathellen House in the snowJPG
Front Door
Herb Garden at Rathellen House
Front Door
Ready for a walk?
Rathellen House Trifle!
Rathellen House Buffet
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
6 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Tipperary, County Tipperary

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 65 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Erin M
1 review
“Amazing”
Reviewed July 14, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

This house along with Coopers cottage which they own and operate too is fantastic, a group of 15 of us stayed at both and by far this was the best place. The Irish breakfast is something you must try and the views are spectacular. Overall a must visit

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petermct6...
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Beautiful Lodge”
Reviewed November 23, 2015 for a stay in April 2014

This place nestled in the countryside not far from Tipperary in a small town called Bansha is simply delightful. By memory 6 large spacious rooms all with ensuite. Beautifully appointed. The hosts Eammon and Stella are simply amazing. We had a meal for guests one day and there Eammon was with his apron on supervising the kitchen. We were here for a wedding and this was one of the highlights of the trip. Best you look it up to see what it offers but its a magnificence place. The only negative was occasionally the wireless would cut out but i am pin pricking. Thank you Eammon and Stella for a wonderful stay. Regards Peter McTaggart

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The lounges
Liked least: Wi fi cutting out
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S
Bansha, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The PERFECT family vacation ”
Reviewed September 6, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Our family (seven of us) stayed in this wonderfully centrally located luxurious vacation home. It would not even be appropriate to call this home a rental, it was our home for two weeks as we traveled to many locations throughout Ireland. Stella and Eammon, the owners, we're so gracious and helpful in assisting us in our first (and certainly not last) trip to Ireland.

The home was spacious yet warm and inviting and really allowed a reconnection among our family. The kitchen was fantastic with every amenable we needed and the dining room perfect for a place to gather in the morning and evening. The bedrooms were so comfortable and spacious allowing for everyone in our group to have their own. Every aspect of the home is well cared for, working and absolutely spotless. A credit to the owners as to the care they have for their home.

I would also add the cost of the home,for two weeks, was extremely attractive and affordable when balancing what the cost of an equivalent four star hotel would have cost!

We would recommend this home for any get away to the beautiful countryside of Ireland. Our future plans will certainly include a return trip.

To Stella and Eammon thank you again for making this trip our family's "Trip of a Lifetime", our teenage children still are raving about our stay!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea G
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A perfect house for a great family vacation!!!”
Reviewed July 21, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Me and 11 members of my family spent 10 days at the Rathellen house in July of this year and we had a great time!!! We could not have picked at a better place to stay!!! The house is as described - a luxurious rental property in the Tipperary countryside!! The pictures on the website do not fully capture the beauty of this well designed property, that is the perfect option for a relaxing vacation in a secluded area in the country side of beautiful Ireland, with yet access to many different outdoor/indoor activities, sightseeing, shopping and good restaurants.

The Rathellen house was the perfect choice for my family as it had 6 rooms (all with en-suite bathrooms), a large living room and dining area and a a large , well equipped, commercial-like kitchen. The home had spaces for everyone to be together and also enough space to give everyone privacy and time to relax on their own. The overall condition of the property is excellent (very clean, all areas of the house are nicely decorated and the bathrooms are super clean and in excellent conditions).

The property is as advertised, It exceeded our expectations, and the overall customer service was great!!.Stella, the owner of the property, is a lovely lady that was available whenever we needed her, she was very helpful and responsive. She gave us great recommendations and all the information we required to have a perfect stay (good directions to the property, what to do during our stay, activities, etc). She made a huge difference in the process of coordinating our vacation as most of the members of my family where coming from different parts of the world.

We will recommend this property to all our friends and family!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Once in a lifetime fabulous family experience”
Reviewed July 2, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

This house is more beautiful and impressive than pictures can capture. The 11, of us ranging in age from 14 to 72, had plenty of room to be together or be alone as we chose. Eammon made us a gourmet dinner one night, which was followed by entertainment in the living room by a talented Irish music group that Stella arranged for us. All of the accouterments deserve better than 5 stars, ie. beds, furniture, equiptment, decor, linens, dishes, etc. The rooms are large and wonderfully decorated. The kitchen is professional and equipped for a caterer. Stella and Eammon are wonderful! It is better than my review!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrietta...
Saint Helena, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Wonderful Week at Rathellen House”
Reviewed June 9, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Rathellen House has all the charm and elegance of an old Georgian country house, but with new modern conveniences. We stayed at Rathellen House for a week and our stay was fantastic. We enjoyed every minute. The décor of the house with antique furniture is beautiful and the house was very clean. The house faces the beautiful Galtee Mountains, so the bedrooms have a view of the mountains. The commercial kitchen is well equipped with anything you may want, if your are planning on cooking any meals at home.
The bedrooms are very large and the ensuite bathroom in our room had a Jacuzzi tub, which was great upon arriving after the trip from Napa Valley, California. The big four poster bed was so comfortable.

The location is great! Centrally located in County Tipperary, we were able to do day trips to Waterford, Kilkenny, Cashel, Cahir and Limerick plus take scenic drives in the area of the Galtee Mountains. After exploring for the day, it was so wonderful to come back to the comfort of this elegant home.

The owners, Stella and Eamonn, live in a separate wing of the house, but were available for anything that we needed. They both were a pleasure to meet. They were very helpful in planning the rest of our trip around Ireland.

We hope to return to Ireland and to be able to stay at Rathellen House again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful home owned by lovely people”
Reviewed March 26, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We had an absolutely amazing weekend staying at Rathellen. We were there for a wedding at Kilshane house. The venue was only down the road so very convenient.
Stella and Eamonn are absolutely lovely. Nothing was too much trouble and they made us feel very welcome. The beds were really comfy and the rooms lovely and clean. We would recommend to anyone to stay here.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing