We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Rathellen House is Absolutely Lovely!”
other traveler has booked this property
Rathellen House, Tipperary, IRELAND
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rathellen House, Tipperary, IRELAND
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
65 reviews
Rathellen House, Tipperary, IRELAND
Rathellen House Front Hall.JPG
Rathellen House Front hall and dining room.JPG
Entrance Hall
Entrance Hall
Rathellan House drawing room (Small)
Drawing room
Drawing Room
Drawing Room
A Civil Wedding Ceremony at Rathellen House - the final preparations!
Rathellen House: Drawing room with fire place
Library
Library
Dining Room
Rathellen House Dining Room.JPG
Rathellen House Dining Room.JPG
Rathellen House Dining Room.JPG
Dining Room
Dining room
Master Bedroom with 6 foot Four Poster Bed
Master Bedroom with 6 foot Four Poster Bed
Rathellen House Bedroom 2 JPG
Bedroom 2.
The Entrance Hall mantle piece decorated for Halloween
Bedroom 2. 6 foot double bed or twin option.
Rathellen House Bedroom 3.JPG
Bedroom 5. Double Bedroom with Large Shower Ensuite
Bedroom 4. Double Bedroom with Antique French Bed and Large Shower ensuite
Rathellen House Kitchen JPG
Rathellen House Kitchen.JPG
Kitchen shelves
Kitchen pots
Kitchen pots and pans
Front door in the snow .JPG
Getting married at Rathellen House - the bride and groom in the Entrance Hall
Rathellen House
Rathellen House in the snowJPG
Front Door
Herb Garden at Rathellen House
Front Door
Ready for a walk?
Rathellen House Trifle!
Rathellen House Buffet
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
6 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Tipperary, County Tipperary

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 65 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Carolyn13
Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Rathellen House is Absolutely Lovely!”
Reviewed May 6, 2008 for a stay in April 2008
1
person found this review helpful

Several weeks ago we stayed at a fairly new and truly lovely upscale B&B in Bansha, Ireland, that we’d like to bring to your readers' attention. Rathellen House (http://www.rathellenhouse.com) is a beautiful country house with very comfortable and attractively furnished rooms. The room we stayed in was huge (four poster bed, many antique furnishings), as was the bathroom that even featured heated floors and towel racks.
There are many cozy places in the house where you can visit, read, or just relax—the living room, library, various nooks and crannies, etc.,
A fire was going the whole time we were there. The entire place was spotless and had all the conveniences you could think of.
Delicious meals, both breakfasts and dinners, were prepared by Eamonn and Stella Long and were hearty and beautifully served. Eamonn trained at a prestigious Irish cooking school and his culinary skills and choice of menus are just excellent.
The Longs were so hospitable and friendly, we felt like a part of the family. They are very knowledgeable about the area and pointed us on several day trips and local hikes and had plenty of maps, guidebooks, and tourist information available.
Rathellen House is located a bit off the beaten track (keeping it quiet and peaceful and boasting great views)—but it’s only a short hop to Limerick, Kilkenny, Tipperary, etc.
It was a wonderful and relaxing stay and we highly recommend it to other travelers.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Liked best: Beautiful country house, comfortable accommodations, excellent food, great hospitality, tranquil setting.
Liked least: nothing
Visit was for: Other
Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EddieDDub...
Dublin Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Treasure”
Reviewed December 11, 2007 for a stay in December 2007
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for three nights in this wonderful house.We were attending a wedding locally and only came across Rathellen by chance. How lucky we were,as we were the first people to book for that weekend we were reserved into bedroom number 1. It was number one in every way , fine big room beautifully and tastefully appointed, four poster bed and said bed is the most comfortable we've experienced anywhere, and this last point was made by all the guests about their respective accommodation. The first night we had dinner here, prepared by ou host Eamonn and served by our hostess Stella , it was absolutely first class. Throughout our stay nothing appeared to be too much trouble, should people be anywhere even remotely in the vicinity of Bansha,make haste to Rathellen House, you will not be disappointed.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Liked best: Absolute comfort allied to magnificent hospitality
Liked least: Faultless
Visit was for: Personal event (wedding, ...)
Traveling group: Family (extended)
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ronnie57
liverpool
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“great all round”
Reviewed November 20, 2007 for a stay in August 2007

took a 2 day stay here purly by chance but were delighted with choice.quiet ,peaceful ,great food .would return any time.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shan10
philadelphia,PA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“wonderful time!!”
Reviewed August 11, 2007 for a stay in July 2007
1
person found this review helpful

We decided that having a "home base" would be easier on our three kids than a hotel but were afraid a typical B&B might be too genteel for our active boys. We found the perfect solution in renting "Cooper's Cottage", a lovely self-catering cottage owned by Stella and Eamonn Long of Rathellen House B&B. The cottage is directly across the street from the B&B. The cottage was beautifully decorated and very comfortable. The 2 full bathrooms were modern and the kitchen was well equipped. Stella made us feel very welcome with a basket of tea,coffee and homemade cookies. She even lent us a book with great suggestions on things to do with kids.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Liked best: everything
Visit was for: Quality time with family
Traveling group: Family with teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geepo
CT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rave Review for Rathellen House”
Reviewed July 25, 2007 for a stay in May 2007
1
person found this review helpful

We were thoroughly delighted with our stay for 4 days at Rathellen House. What a wonderfully appointed and authentic Georgian Home in the beautiful Irish countryside. It has all the amentities: fine china, silver, furniture, luxurious fabrics and the most comfortable suite and mattress imaginable. We further commend Stella and Eammon Long's delicious breakfasts and warm Irish hospitality.

We ordinarily stay away from bed and breakfast accommodations because they typically provide tight quarters and little privacy. Rathellen is distinctly an exception in these regards.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Liked best: The Long's warmth and helpfulness
Visit was for: Personal event (wedding, ...)
Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucitt
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The perfect stay”
Reviewed July 16, 2007 for a stay in June 2007
1
person found this review helpful

We 've stayed at a lot of very beautiful B&Bs in the UK and in Ireland and Rathellen House is at the top of the list. The house is a very handsome recently built Georgian mansion. It is impeccably decorated and is both stately and homely, full of beautiful furniture and objects. It is the essence of comfort and style. The red entrance hall takes your breath away and the lounge and breakfast room are fit for a king! My parents enjoyed a room with a jacuzzi. We couldn't have asked for more from Stella and her husband who looked after us perfectly. A delicious breakfast on beautiful mahogany tables in the morning was a real treat. The house is located on its own land and so is very peaceful. Bansha village is within a mile away and it has at least one good local pub and newspaper shop. The house is within easy reach by car of Tipperary town. If you feel like treating yourself or anyone else for that matter, Rathellen House is for you!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Liked best: A magnificnet house and great owners
Liked least: Nothing springs to mind
Visit was for: Other
Traveling group: Family (extended)
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MimiPease...
Pease Pottage
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Georgian Excellence”
Reviewed June 9, 2007 for a stay in June 2007
2
people found this review helpful

Rathellen House, a Georgian style country hotel was one of the best experiences of a great 5 day stay in Ireland. Eamonn and Stella Long have put their hearts into this business and it shows. Near to Bansha in Co Tippeary, the house is beautifully decorated, stylish and simply elegant, yet there is a touch of luxury everywhere; in the furnishings, the bathrooms and a fruit salad at breakfast that boasted fresh pineapple, melon, strawberries and raspberries. Proper bacon and white pudding too, not the cheap ingredients I've come across before at other breakfast tables. The area is extremely beautiful with views of the Galtee mountains, plenty of walks, fishing, horse riding. The welcome is sincere and, if you're interested, Eamonn and Stella will speak enthusiastically about the up and coming organic garden and orchard, their environmentally friendly heating system as well as politics, food and wine. I will definitely go back to experience that sense of peace and welcome I had before, luxury without breaking the bank! Best of luck to them!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Liked best: Room and standard of food
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Family (extended)
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing