We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous place for a wedding reception”
other traveler has booked this property
Rathellen House, Tipperary, IRELAND
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rathellen House, Tipperary, IRELAND
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
65 reviews
Rathellen House, Tipperary, IRELAND
Rathellen House Front Hall.JPG
Rathellen House Front hall and dining room.JPG
Entrance Hall
Entrance Hall
Rathellan House drawing room (Small)
Drawing room
Drawing Room
Drawing Room
A Civil Wedding Ceremony at Rathellen House - the final preparations!
Rathellen House: Drawing room with fire place
Library
Library
Dining Room
Rathellen House Dining Room.JPG
Rathellen House Dining Room.JPG
Rathellen House Dining Room.JPG
Dining Room
Dining room
Master Bedroom with 6 foot Four Poster Bed
Master Bedroom with 6 foot Four Poster Bed
Rathellen House Bedroom 2 JPG
Bedroom 2.
The Entrance Hall mantle piece decorated for Halloween
Bedroom 2. 6 foot double bed or twin option.
Rathellen House Bedroom 3.JPG
Bedroom 5. Double Bedroom with Large Shower Ensuite
Bedroom 4. Double Bedroom with Antique French Bed and Large Shower ensuite
Rathellen House Kitchen JPG
Rathellen House Kitchen.JPG
Kitchen shelves
Kitchen pots
Kitchen pots and pans
Front door in the snow .JPG
Getting married at Rathellen House - the bride and groom in the Entrance Hall
Rathellen House
Rathellen House in the snowJPG
Front Door
Herb Garden at Rathellen House
Front Door
Ready for a walk?
Rathellen House Trifle!
Rathellen House Buffet
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
6 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Tipperary, County Tipperary

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 65 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Annabelmc
Tipperary, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Fabulous place for a wedding reception”
Reviewed August 29, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

We recently had our wedding reception in Rathellen house and it was fantastic. Eamonn and Stella were brilliant hosts who totally made us feel at home. The food was gorgeous both the wedding dinner and breakfast next morning and we were able to relax and dance the night away in the drawing room after dinner. We had a brilliant time and would not hesitate to recommend Rathellen House both as a B&B and a venue for a party. Thanks a million for great memories Anne & John

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the_wande...
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Probably the finest accomodation in Bansha and surrounds”
Reviewed August 7, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

We stayed at Rathellen House for 2 nights in July during a wedding at Kilshane House. Others stayed at the wedding venue but i believe that we made the best decision with Rathellen House.

Rooms are large and exceedingly comfortable. We stayed in the largest room with a jacuzzi bath but i'm sure that the rest of the rooms are to the same standard.

The hosts were great and took good care of us even though they had their own event on that weekend.

The house is (very) slightly off the beaten track but well situated to Kilshane House for weddings and close to Cahir - which i've now discovered is a rather picturesque little town - with it's castle and close proximity to the Swiss Cottage which is a gem in Heritage Ireland's crown and well worth a visit.

For others, this would be a great stop on the Dublin-Cork route if only to experience a bit of Georgian country house living and a fantastic breakfast the next day.

I have stayed in 4 and 5 star hotels which have not come close to the levels of cleanliness and comfort of this establishment.

There are two pubs in the little village of Bansha but it would be nice if the hosts were licensed to serve a glass of wine or port in the well appointed guests lounge(which i'm sure doesn't get enough use) or even out in the garden on a nice day.

Thanks to Eamonn for the great breakfasts, letting me clean the bugs off my car in his drive, and for dropping us off to collect our vehicle the next morning. And thanks to Stella for the warm goodbye when we had to return.

All said and done we will definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonnie J
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A fabulous stay-great value!”
Reviewed June 18, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

Stella and Eamonn Long are fabulous hosts for this equally fabulous house. As a group of 14 family and friends of three generations, we rented the entire house for a week. The accommodations exceeded all of our needs and expectations. The beds are comfortable, the bathrooms are large, and the showers good and strong. The heated mirrors that don’t fog were a nice added touch. The common areas were well appointed and comfortable and we felt right at home. The professional kitchen was a delight to work in. After extensive internet research on houses for rent in Ireland, we chose Rathellen House because of the facilities offered and the very reasonable price. The location of the house is convenient for southern Ireland. Members of our group went to Kinsale, Cashel, Adare, Bunratty, Lismore, Waterford, and the Berea peninsula while staying at Rathellen House. Stella and Eamonn helped us plan a day trip to the Dingle peninsula for the whole group which included hiring a bus, planning the tour and even arranging for restaurants for all 14 of us. The help we had from Stella and Eamonn before and during our trip made this a memorable holiday for all of us. We hope to return. We give Rathellen House our hightest recommendation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hospitality of Stella and Eamonn
Liked least: Having to leave!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jtwchu
Brooklyn
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful retreat”
Reviewed June 7, 2012 for a stay in May 2012

We stayed at Rathellen House for two nights during our tour of Ireland, but Eamonn and Stella's hospitality began even before our arrival, with long emails of advice about restaurants and what to see in the area. Once we arrived, Eamonn took such good care of us, cooking wonderful breakfasts and taking time to chat. The rooms were spotless, the beds amazingly comfortable. All in all, a wonderful retreat in a beautiful, historic part of Ireland.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barnesbik...
Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Absolutely fabulous!”
Reviewed October 27, 2011 for a stay in October 2011

Our group of three couples rented the entire house as a self-catering home. It was spectacular! It was elegant, yet very comfortable. The beds were divine, the bathrooms well appointed, and the kitchen was a chef’s dream! Eamonn is a Ballymaloe trained chef. We asked him prepare a meal for us the last night we were there and it was fabulous! I would encourage anyone staying at Rathellen House to avail themselves of this option…well worth it!

We also found the location to be ideal for our exploration of that area of Ireland. Being a short drive off the expressway it was easy to get to Cork, the Blarney Castle, Cobh, Waterford, Cashel, Cahir, Limerick, Shannon, and all parts in between! It couldn’t have been more convenient for the sight seeing we did during the five days we were there.

Eamonn and Stella are truly gracious and wonderful hosts with a first class operation. I give Rathellen house five stars and would recommend it to anyone traveling to Ireland.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mick M
Al Ain, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spectacular!!”
Reviewed September 7, 2011 for a stay in August 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Our party of 14 felt instantly at home - the house is decorated / furnished in an elegant yet laid-back style that is immediately welcoming!! The bedrooms are luxurious (I couldnt drag my family out of the beds!!)
We decided on the self-catering option which gave us the freedom to choose our own meal times etc - but our hosts Stella and Eamonn were immediately on hand to help if we needed anything.
We had family members travel in from Belfast, Dubai and Tehran - all agreed it was well worth the trip. We searched extensively online to find a rental home in Ireland - Im sure you can find similiar spectacular homes but you will not find a similiar price. Any quotes we received for comparable homes were substantially more expensive.
If you want to visit the south of Ireland, have a fantastic 'base' that gives you the freedom to travel to scenic and historical Irish towns / villages then Rathellan House is the place for you!!
I would recommend it to anyone! Highly recommended is 'Nellies Pub' down down in the village - great people, great Guinness!!
For smaller parties the small cottage on the property would be ideal!!
Mick McDermott (UAE)

Value Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jen1962
armagh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Whaoo! I'll be back.”
Reviewed August 22, 2011 for a stay in August 2011
1
person found this review helpful

What a warm welcome we received when arriving at Rathellen House, the rooms were first class and spotlessly clean, the food was just fab, not good for those on diets because you just want to eat eat and eat. Everything was home made and to a very high standard. I would recommend this House if you like the good things is life......

Value Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing