We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Sunday Roast Ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Castle View

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Castle View
Ranked #6 of 15 Chepstow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
117 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Best Sunday Roast Ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Haven't tried the hotel service but the restaurante has something special! They have absolutely the best sunday roast you can ever try, specially the beef one. Very tasty, very generous and for a fair price. I will never forget that meal. Make me want to come back to Chepstow just to eat there again. Kind of sunday roast that you have once in a life time or when mum cooks for you!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joasphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    104
    31
    17
    9
See reviews for
45
118
26
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is a small hotel with views over Chepstow Castle (and also a car park but no less a lovely view for that!) The room was small, but clean and comfortable and the hotel was old fashioned and cosy. The food was lovely, though maybe a bit too much of it for us. The location is great for pottering round Chepstow, and it was easy to park opposite.

So far so good - but it was the Fawlty Towers bits that made it for us - now how can both house red wines be off the menu? Isn't the house wine the one they recommend for their guest, at a reasonable price? So we were a bit disconcerted to find we had to pay £25 for a bottle of non-house wine, as they had run out of house. But the manager gave us a free bottle of wine the next day to make up for this so we were very happy with the service ultimately. But again shades of Fawlty Towers - we couldn't find anyone when we arrived and had to wander to the kitchens looking for staff - and we had to pay a return visit to the kitchens to check out ... and then were told we had paid our bill when we hadn't even seen it, never mind paid it. And 2 weeks later we still haven't seen it...But we would return again and recommend it and Chepstow to other weekenders.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed at the Caslte View Hotel when we visited Chepstow Castle and Tintern Abbey. Our room looked out on a beautiful courtyard full of spring flowers. The beds were comfortable. The bathrooms were clean. We had a wonderful full English breakfast. We wished they had free parking but there was a parking lot across the street at the foot of the castle.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

No hot water, none whatsoever despite mentioning it upon shower attempt at check-in. Ran stone cold in the morning. Loo seat also falling off. Beds adequate. Fresh coffee that had that stewed for 3 hours taste from the off. The cheapest sausages available that had been deep fried. Staff offered opportunity to discount room price and it seemed to not even compute. No discount offered. A grudging "sorry" was all that was proffered.

Room Tip: Sure - ask about hot running water first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dominic S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

We attended a funeral in Gloucestershire and needed somewhere to stay before the long drive back home, so it was pure chance that we found this ... What a GEM! The lady who checked us in could not have been more helpful, even suggesting alternative places to eat.

The building is OLD (300 years?), so there are a few changes in level and "staircases off" - it all adds to the charm! (Would you believe that guests have complained about creaking floorboards?) Everything is clean and well-kept.

Room 3 is not huge, but has all the right facilities - although the wardrobe can't be opened without moving a chair blocking the door! (Again, what do you expect from an historic building? Rooms were small - it's us who have changed!) Nice en-suite bath & shower. Tea/Coffee making equipment. Lovely view of the castle.

Parking was easy - a large open car park opposite. Yes, it's public. Yes, you have to pay - but not between 5pm & 9am. We arrived at 4.30pm - 80p for 2 hours, which covered us until 10.30 the next morning. Sorted! Very reasonable charges.

Breakfast was EXCELLENT. Fresh grapefruit, cereals, yoghurts ... followed by a delicious full English. The best breakfast we've ever had in an English hotel.

The castle looks worth a visit (closed by the time we got there), the town and river are easy walking. We shall definitely return and explore properly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank retirednottired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a much needed break in Chepstow, where we stayed with a friend. We decide we would eat out and our friend recommended this place.
The annoying thing is, we lived in Chepstow for a short while and never came here. The restaurant was quiet that night, but were happy to stay open for us, as we were a little late. The gentleman on duty was warm and welcoming.
The food was well presented and tasted beautiful. I had the steak, which was so succulent, and cooked to perfection. My husband although had sausage and mash, raved about his. And I must say, that was the best looking sausage and mash I had ever seen. Sadly, as we were quite late, we had no room for dessert, but we have vowed to return very soon.
We were really kicking our selves, for not having given this place a try. We would have gladly worked our way through the menu, as everything was so inviting.
The bar area where we dined is beautifully decorated, and warm and cosy. I had a peek around the restaurant, and that too was tastefully done.
If ever you're in Chepstow, the Castle view is well worth a visit. It is a little out the way, but that is what is so appealing about it. A hidden gem!! That's for sure. Thank you for a lovely evening with friends we hadn't seen for while.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sim1279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

We needed to split our journey through Wales and looking at the map Chepstow was about the right distance to travel from London on a Friday after work. Quite a few places but we needed a hotel that was happy to accommodate our dog. The Castle View is opposite the castle which dates back to 1087. Our room was out in the garden, perfect for the dog and was well decorated, roomy and clean. Lots of hot water and a fab breakfast. Evening meal from 6.30-9 so if like us you arrive a bit later be prepared to take a walk to find supper.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bev C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chepstow
2.6 mi away
St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club
0.2 mi away
Beaufort Hotel - Chepstow
0.1 mi away
The First Hurdle Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal George Hotel
0.7 mi away
Two Rivers
Two Rivers
#5 of 15 in Chepstow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.0 mi away
Three Tuns Chepstow
Three Tuns Chepstow
#4 of 15 in Chepstow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle View

Property: Castle View
Address: 16 Bridge Street, Chepstow NP16 5EZ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Monmouthshire > Chepstow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Chepstow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle View 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established 1648 This Ivy Clad Coaching Inn sits directly opposite Britains Oldest Stone-Built Castle. Chepstow, a small border town resting next to the River Wye is a Must Visit destination if History, Horse Racing, Cycling, Walking or Live Music are amongst your interests. The Town boasts a variety of Drinking & Eating Venues and if your Staying the Weekend Our Sunday Roasts are not to be missed! 14 En-Suite Bedrooms share features of the Original Building 'Woodfield House'. Inlcuding Wall Murals and Exposed Oak Beams, unrivalled Castle Views & A Hand-Turned Oak stairwell that spirals you crookedly to the second floor or walk through our Listed Stain Glass Door and discover our secluded garden ablaze with colour during the summer, our tranquil fountain and pond, and our marquee Perfect for Drinks on a Summers Evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Castle View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle View Chepstow, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing