We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“no storming this fort” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chepstow Castle

Chepstow Castle
Book In Advance
More Info
$376.45*
and up
Private South Wales Day Trip from Bath
Ranked #2 of 22 things to do in Chepstow
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Blackheath, Australia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“no storming this fort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

Unfortunately we got there at closing and we were not able to go inside, the clerk let us have a look at the yard (from the fence) before closing the main gates. We could still walk around the outside and that is enough to be in awe.
Thankfully the reason for wanting to go was closed, we wanted to see the area that still has paint from soon after it's completion, but that area is closed for restoration, phew for us.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank PIKMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    376
    264
    44
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Chepstow Castle”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

Reasonable rates to get in. Views from the castle were excellent. We speant an enjoyable couple of hours there

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank FlyingRoller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Off The Cuff Decision Fully Rewarded”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

A very enjoyable & relaxing afternoon at Chepstow Castle, which I decided to visit off the cuff. Not put off by the £4.50 entrance fee, I went about exploring the castle with my camera & couldn't believe how it continued to impress the further you explored. Fantastic views across the town & the river Wye, the length of the castle also allows you to take photos of itself from one section across to the next along the river (hope that makes sense!). I effectively toured the castle in a semi-circular direction, heading back to the entrance/gate tower to conclude the tour & I'm glad I did, whilst others left not even realizing the entrance to the best part, I was treated to further fantastic views from the gate house tower, which I climbed via the original circular staircases & restored rooms. A very enjoyable & formative visit to this castle.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Goonerbeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Well worth travelling to see”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

This is everything a castle should be. Enough of it intact to see what went on, with the bonus of the most amazing views of the river and the town.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

We explored the castle and walked the walls looking at the river and mountains. We would like to go back and see this castle again. We enjoyed seeing how it expanded over the years. It was interesting to see how they defended the castle and the different families that lived there.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maureen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chepstow Castle also viewed

Chepstow, Monmouthshire
Raglan, Monmouthshire
 
Chepstow, Monmouthshire
 

Been to Chepstow Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing