We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit”
Review of Chepstow Castle

Chepstow Castle
Book In Advance
More Info
$391.28*
and up
Private South Wales Day Trip from Bath
Ranked #2 of 25 things to do in Chepstow
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Bristol, UK
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

This was our second visit to Chepstow Castle and we enjoyed it as much as out first visit. Lots of ruined areas to climb and walk around. Fantastic views.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Catbus70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    412
    294
    49
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
38 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Thank Goodness This was There”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

By mistake, I ended up spending five hours in Chepstow. Long story short, wanted to get to Tintern Abbey by bus, but misread the schedule. So, ended up having to spend time in Chepstow til my train to London.

In the disappointment of not getting to Tintern, I did come find this castle a good alternative. Reasonable price to get in. It was much larger than I expected. Managed to while away some time there and have a good ramble through. Beautiful views from the clifftop. Some interpretive signage that told the backstory of the castle.

Although, I wouldn't suggest this as a destination place, if you ever find yourself in Chepstow, I highly recommend the castle as a great place to visit.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Raven_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Brooding old ruin”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

I live very local to this old castle and though I see it everyday it still has the power to fascinate me. It's well worth a visit,although you should be aware that apart from a few areas it is open to the elements and therefore a better place to visit on a good day. The views are outstanding overlooking the river Wye and the surrounding countryside. There is a nice little souvenir shop and the T I C is in the carpark and its only a 5 minute walk to the banks of the Wye and a selection of pubs and restaurants.The town of Chepstow is 10 minutes walk in the opposite direction with a good selection of shops(especially in St Mary St,the pedestrianised street) and more pubs,coffee shops and restaurants. The Forest of Dean is a 20 minute drive away so its easy to have a day out for not too much money which is important to a lot of us these days!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynmar31849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Left in peace to explore”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

A great many heritage sites should take heed of the approach taken by Chepstow Castle in allowing visitors a large degree of free-reign in their exploration and providing a sufficient (but not overly-informed) amount of information regarding the purpose of each room or location.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Drew85UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Castle”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Great drum towers flank the entrance to Chepstow Castle. Each one is a massive defensive edifice echoing the castle itself. As the towers guard the gate so does Chepstow safeguard one side of the most important western waterway into the English midlands, the Servern. This is a great “first” castle. Aside from the regular castle beauty, distinct phases of development demonstrate castle evolution.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank UKTraveler_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chepstow Castle also viewed

Chepstow, Monmouthshire
Raglan, Monmouthshire
 
Chepstow, Monmouthshire
 

Been to Chepstow Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing