We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“gorgeous place that just missed a 5 star rating”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Three Tuns Chepstow
Ranked #7 of 14 Chepstow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
mid wales
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“gorgeous place that just missed a 5 star rating”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

On arrival, the car park is directly on the side of the hotel and if your unaware of this you will turn into the pay and display by mistake, to get back and into the correct carpark you have go around the oneway system.
The owners are lovely and couldnt be more helpful. On a fri/sat night there is good live music, which is great but can be heard clearly in the room we had. This however wasnt a problem as it finished at 2300hrs.
We had the ensuite room, which is good, a little loud as it has a saniflo system. Im a disabled person and it was a very snug fit if on crutches. There were steps to the rooms too but the owner had already warned us of these and it was fine.
They do serve food, but due to the live band they were not serving when we were there. There are an array of fine eateries a few minutes from the hotel. We chose the pub directly across from the three tuns and it was very good.
The bed was extremely comfortable, we slept very well in it.
Breakfast is superb and well cooked, with juices, cereals toast and cooked breakfast also yogurts.
I do have to say again that the owners are lovely and couldnt do enough for you. I have marked it as only a 4 out of 5 and this is purely for the little disturbance we encountered from the live music, car park and steps, which in nothing in comparison to the lovely decor, welcoming owners and it is also a dog friendly pub.......

Room Tip: Not ensuite room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elig02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    47
    12
    4
    4
See reviews for
16
72
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 728 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Just up from Chepstow Castle, the Three Tuns has recently been given a much needed makeover - it still retains its charm unlike so many pubs, and the staff are great.

Oh, its also Dog friendly - always a good sign in my book.
Give it a go, you wont regret it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chepstow C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Cannot go wrong with this place, atmosphere was great, staff were amazing, the soup was perfect on a cold day.

Location works for all the major attractions.

Looking forward to coming back again and staying longer.

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank matthewdoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Very helpful and warm welcome on arrival. Very nice compact room, very tasteful fitted out, comfortable and was spotlessly clean. Deb, the owner is very friendly and helpful, with friendly locals in the lovely bar to chat to in the evening. Deb kindly cooked an outstanding breakfast earlier than what is advertised. It was great to walk out in the morning to be faced with the huge castle, which is just next door.

Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 9, 2013

This quiet little boutique b&b is practically in the grounds of Chepstow Castle, with incredible views of the ruins. Our bedroom was beautifully boho-chic, complete with sloping floor, French and Welsh antiques, and a gorgeously comfortable bed. The pub downstairs is quiet and friendly, with a great log fire, and Deb and her staff couldn't be lovelier. It was the perfect place for a romantic get away. We will definitely be coming back.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MAllingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chepstow hotels
0.2 mi away
Beaufort Hotel - Chepstow
0.1 mi away
The First Hurdle Guest House
2.6 mi away
St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Coach and Horses Inn
Coach and Horses Inn
#5 of 14 in Chepstow
40 reviews
0.0 mi away
Castle View
Castle View
#6 of 14 in Chepstow
294 reviews
0.6 mi away
Two Rivers
Two Rivers
#3 of 14 in Chepstow
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Three Tuns Chepstow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Tuns Chepstow

Property: Three Tuns Chepstow
Address: 32 Bridge Street, Chepstow NP16 5EY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Monmouthshire > Chepstow
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Chepstow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Three Tuns Chepstow 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
16th century inn located in the old part of Chepstow adjacent to the castle. We have three guest rooms with private bathrooms. All rooms have been recently renovated to a high standard. Three Star Rating with Visit Wales. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Three Tuns Chepstow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Three Tuns Chepstow Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing