We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the wait.”

Two Rivers Restaurant
Ranked #18 of 70 Restaurants in Chepstow
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed February 6, 2014

We were put off by the mixed reviews, but the meal was lovely. Someone we knew had the beef before and we were told it was chewy, so we went for the pork which was great also the veg and stuffing. Service was good. We arrived at one o clock and had to wait three quaters to an hour, we expected that as it was a Sunday and really packed. Worth the wait.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Stuart J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alun J, Public Relations Manager at Two Rivers Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2014

Thankyou for your patientce Sundays are our busiest day and can be hectic !
I am glad to hear you enjoyed your meal. Thankyou for the great feedback we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (560)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

476 - 480 of 560 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2014

We've only ever eaten there on a Sunday evening and on each occasion, the restaurant has been busy and we've had good meals.

A wide and fairly varied menu - rotisserie chicken, steaks, lasagne's, pasta, fish and chips, burgers, Sunday lunches - plus some nice decent specials and a lighter option menu of wraps, sandwiches and salads.

You're promptly seated, your order is taken quickly and the food comes to the table at speed - no fuss, nice staff and a good range of beers and wines.

It's not haute cuisine but neither does it appear have been thrown together by a disinterested chef with a microwave and a deep fryer.

We'll go back again because it's done well and it's very good value - three of us ate there, with wine - for £35 last night.

Sometimes you just want to rock up somewhere and eat without having to be concerned about sloppy service or luke-warm food are the trade-off for this kind of value. Recommended.

    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisGlynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Very reasonably priced. Good variety of food. Excellent service. Plenty of free parking. We would return next time.

1  Thank ClontarfPorky76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alun J, General Manager at Two Rivers Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2014

Thankyou for great feedback
This is exactly what we are trying to achieve and your feedback helps us to ensure we doing a good job !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Looking for somewhere to stop for Sunday lunch, we came across this restaurant. The car park was packed and we didn't think we'd get a table. However, they were so friendly when we went in to enquire whether there was a table and immediately found somewhere for us to sit. Service was good, food was excellent and plentiful and the staff very friendly. The bill was very modest and we would certainly come here again if we were passing. You can't ask for more!!

    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank CarolineMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Had a meal here last summer and ate outside, food was excellent and very good value for money. It's typical pub food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Mand33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alun J, Public Relations Manager at Two Rivers Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2014

Great to hear you had a good time , we hope to see you again soon !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Two Rivers Restaurant also viewed

Chepstow, Monmouthshire
Chepstow, Monmouthshire
 
Chepstow, Monmouthshire
Chepstow, Monmouthshire
 
Chepstow, Monmouthshire
Chepstow, Monmouthshire
 

Been to Two Rivers Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing